We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise....”
Review of Cormoran Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kibuye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cormoran Lodge
Nairobi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little paradise....”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I didn't had the chance to sleep there has all the rooms were booked already but visited the place and spent the day there.
View and rooms are beautifull and the food was very good.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGSHTairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    46
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
32
46
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This small lodge is really worth going! the tranquil setting on the Kivu lake is small but lovely! The rooms are like chalets and with a stair one is connected with another (also on the outside). As we are travelling with a wheelchair this resort is really not adapted to wheelchairs, it is steep and many steps. but the managment was very friendly, sent some pictures via e mail of how the paths were goiing. on arriving carriers were waiting and only some steps had to be taken to arrive in our lovely (very accessible room) The food is really very good! in fact the best we had on our trip through Rwanda! One can have a swim in the lovely lake, cormorans are flying and birds are singing, really had a good time here!

Room Tip: There a lot of steps and it is very steep, so if you have fitness problems: ask managment to sleep c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ily-wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The setting and rooms in this resort are lovely. Food is iffy, and service from one waiter was atrocious. Like some others, we also seemed to take an inordinately long time to check in. This was especially unforgivable since the room had been booked by a tour company in Kigali. Disorganization seemed rife. Another African resort that is still learning how to serve guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

As many will agree, Cormoran offers a lovely location on Lake Kivu with a unique log-cabin-on-stilts accomodation which sets it apart. Unfortunately, we had a very bad experience making reservations over the phone.

Cormoran offers special rates to residents and I was quoted a price; however, when we went to check out the price was completely different. Despite calmly explaining the situation, the man at the desk refused any willingness to negotiate insisting it was our fault. I then spoke with the (assumed) owner who was extremely rude. Not only did she refuse to speak to me in English (fortunately I speak French), but there was a total refusal to take any responsibility whatsoever on behalf of her staff who had mis-quoted the price. Additionally when I said that I probably would not stay at the hotel again she said, "This is not my problem" and walked away.

Additionally the medoicre (yet pricey) food mixed with their extremely poor customer service don't make it worth the pricetag. If you're paying top dollar, there should be some extra effort made. I will not go back here and instead recommend Bethanie which is a quarter of the price and still an extremely pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed one night at Cormoran Lodge on July 7th. Arrived at 18:00 and had to wait 20 minutes untile someone showed up at check in. All rooms overlook Lake Kivu and everything is entirely out of wood, very scenic. Unfortunately there are a couple of things to say: Dinner service was shocking, didn't received what I've ordered and took 1h to receive our only course. Breakfast was slightly better but nothing too exciting. No hairdryer in the whole hotel and other small things. With a better management this place would be a dream.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier2Pier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend about six months ago. It was a very relaxing weekend. The views are sublime, the food is good, and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good value in expensive Rwanda. The drive to Kibuye from Kigali is one of my favorites- through very hilly, green, terraced farmland. Great for photo buffs. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Cormoran Lodge seemed like a charming place to spend a weekend, but you will need to book with caution as management are not capable of providing good customer service and you will pay for their unwillingness address issues satisfactorily. We learned that the lodge had lost our reservation at 9:00 PM, costing our friends a room. We offered to let our friends stay in our room if a spare bed could be added. The hotel staff graciously added the bed and a mosquito net. Upon check-out, we were informed that the extra bed cost $120 USD. The room itself was only $110. There was no reasoning with the manager on the ridiculousness of this charge. In fact, the manager went as far as to suggest that some fee would come out of the reception desk clerk's salary. Rather than punish the clerk (or any of the staff, they were excellent outside of management) - this amount would likely be two week's pay - we paid the outrageous fee, but we want everyone to know that customer service and customer retention are not valued. At no point was their any admission that their mistake had cost us a room and the convenience of staying in separate rooms, just an oversized charge for a mattress on the floor. There are other, more affordable and friendlier options in Kibuye - try Moriah Hill or Bethanie. Both are lovely options that won't disappoint.

Room Tip: When booking for an extra bed, beware of the enormous charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rwamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kibuye
22.5 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 5 in Gisenyi
311 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gisenyi
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 5 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Home Saint Jean
Home Saint Jean
#1 of 7 in Kibuye
85 reviews
24.9 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
22.9 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cormoran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormoran Lodge

Property: Cormoran Lodge
Address: BP 08 Kibuye, Kibuye BP 08, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Kibuye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kibuye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cormoran Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and peace with quality service at our charming wooden lodge on the shores of beautiful lake kivu in rwanda. all our rooms or cottage offers a beautiful view of the lake kivu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing