We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of heaven”
Review of Pinard on Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinard on Sea
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bloubergstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If we could we will give this little piece of heaven a 10 star rating for location and service! Thank you for a fantastic and comfortable stay! We will definitely be returning in future! Chris and Cindy Combrink

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
32
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

After saving up for my husbands birthday i finally decided on Pinnard as we often lunch @ on the rocks and the rooms look awesome. After paying alot of money for one night i was a bit shocked at the state of the room.The paint was peeling off,there were holes in the ceiling and this was not at all what expected at these rates.THE best experience was the actual views - absolutely stunning,but you cannot just rely on the views - you have to have a clean well looked after room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfinley51, General Manager at Pinard on Sea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Susan J.

It seems we did not please you and we do apologize. The three front bedrooms are up for repainting this winter season. The extreme weather conditions we face, being located right on surf line of the beach at the highest high tide, do make maintenance more of a challenge than other properties that do not share our unique location. I think you noted we are the only ones right on the beach.

The ceiling holes must be referring to the decoratively capped light openings on the ceilings as we cannot find anything else that you might have been referring to in your critique. We did take out numerous lights as the front bedrooms were over-lit. Rather than re-plaster we left the openings as there are still electrical connections in the ceilings that can be used at a future date.

We do understand that some of our guests do not understand the uniquely, extreme and harsh weather conditions in this spectacular location. Everything comes at a price. We maintain that our cleanliness standards are second to none as we work non-stop to continuously try to undo the work of the wind, sun and sea here on the beach. Your rating on our cleanliness was bit low.

Thank you for your observations. We will continue working to maintain and improve here at Pinard on Sea

Stan Finley
Operations Manager
0767745945
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Room high tide: Probably the room with the best view to Cape Town and Table Mountain you can find as a tourist; the room should have their own safe deposit; the bath facilities should be better - but the view wins the competition!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NSP569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfinley51, General Manager at Pinard on Sea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate positive comments and positive criticism when warranted. We would love to hear your views on improving the bath facilities? You offered no suggestions.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Stan Finley
Operations Manager
0767745945
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a great time. No wifi in our room. That was the only negative.
Kennedy was very helpful all the time. Stan was great and helpful in all ways. We thoroughly we joyed our stay, would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfinley51, General Manager at Pinard on Sea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Terry,

Thank you for your review. We are still working on getting wifi to all the rooms. The layout of the property combined with the massive amount of rebar in the floor/ceiling slabs has negated our attempts, so far, to get the 3 front beach suites reliably connected. We do have two extenders on the property to date. Maybe one more might do the trick.

Thank you again.

Cheers,
Stan Finley
Pinard on Sea
07697745945
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Room need upgrade and no chair and table outside, ask for and get plastic chairs and small table, and on day 2 the table was removed again.
Bed to small for this value.
Menu of "On the Rocks" old and there service is bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfinley51, Manager at Pinard on Sea, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review,

The room is up for repainting this year. We have in the past kept two extra upholstered chairs in HI Tide for guests to use on the balcony. After finding in the early mornings, numerous times, that the guests would take them out at night and leave them in the rain, (yes this happened four times with four different guests) we took the extra two upholstered chairs out. We cannot constantly buy new furniture. The plastic chairs are weather proof and will withstand abuse. The table was simply put in the cupboard in your bedroom for you to use later.

We do appreciate that you did not smoke in the bedroom. That consideration from you goes a long way as there are still many inconsiderate people in the world who believe it is their right to make other people breath their cigarette smoke and ruin others property with the smoke residue. Thank you for that consideration on your part. We do appreciate it very much.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our visit to the Pinard was amazing. I will always go back when I visit cape town. The hiTide room is the best! The restaurant next door.... On the Rocks ...... is the best! The food were fantastic. The best getaway for couples!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hettie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Imagine waking up in the morning and as you open your eyes you are looking straight at Table Mountain, with waves crashing onto the rocks on the beach immediately below you and seagulls gliding overhead. That’s why you need to stay at Pinard on Sea for a night when you visit Cape Town.

The best rooms are Mid-Tide and Hi-Tide, which have double-beds positioned to face the mountain and large plate glass sliding doors that offer panoramic views, from Bloubergstrand village on your left to Robben Island on your right. If the guests sitting outdoors at On The Rocks restaurant next door bother you, just draw your curtains halfway and you will have 100% privacy, without losing that spectacular view of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean.

There are 4 additional rooms, including Lo-Tide on the ground floor (to be avoided as it opens onto the back garden) and the Seaview and Penthouse self-catering apartments adjacent to Mid-Tide and Hi-Tide respectively, which are much larger and have everything you need for a longer stay – microwave, stove, fridge-freezer, novels to read and eclectic artwork. But the bed in the Penthouse faces a wide-screen TV on the back wall and the Seaview has two bedrooms behind the lounge/dining area - so you can still sit on your balcony admiring the sunset, but you won’t get to see the lights of Cape Town as you fall asleep, or the sunrise from your bed in the morning.

Pinard on Sea is spotlessly clean and impeccably maintained. The rooms look like they have been recently upgraded, the showers and bathrooms are ultra-modern and the furnishings are tasteful (with the possible exception of the animal skins and the elephant’s foot pedestal in the Penthouse - an incongruous lapse in taste).

Don’t expect room service or breakfast – go to On The Rocks for your omelettes and coffee. You are paying for one of the world’s greatest views from a hotel bedroom, and that’s exactly what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for Mid-Tide or Hi-Tide if you want to wake up staring at Table Mountain across Table Bay.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dromedaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloubergstrand
1.9 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
#6 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
52 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
115 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sir David Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinard on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinard on Sea

Property: Pinard on Sea
Address: 47 Stadler Road | Blouberg Beach, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bloubergstrand
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bloubergstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pinard on Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pinard on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing