We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the sea side”
Review of Ons Huisie

Ons Huisie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Temporarily Closed Ons Huisie is currently closed for renovations. We will re-open on 1 July 2017.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By the sea side”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very tasty reasonably priced food. Large variety, specialsing in fish and traditionally South African food. Restaurant has wonderful views and practically on the beach. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    246
    123
    77
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a winnner”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and great ambiance
Nice food and great variety menu
I had a pizza , nearly as good as my aunt in Italy
Friends had snoek that was amazing
Good price

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Docgerhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst ox tail”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Why boast that this is a special dish when it cannot be eaten? Stick to what you know best and don't hold out that the 'specials' are special. Probably our fault for choosing something not traditionally associated with Ons Huisie. Unfortunately, not what it used to be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fastidi0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springs Gauteng
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Takes you back in time to early days in the cape”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely setting, with view of the ocean. Nice breakfast and friendly good service.
Will definitely go back there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsmuir, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A little less that we expected.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We visited Ons Huisie on a beautiful fall day in May while on a costal drive. The restaurant has a beautiful setting, right across from the beach. While the view and the building are very nice the service and the food was not up to par. We had their fish and chips and the fish was cooked very unevenly, some was overdone and some was under cooked. The service was quite slow and lacking in providing the condiments associated with the meals we had. Trying to track down the waitress proved difficult. The restaurant was not crowded so it wasn't that they were too busy. All in all a very so so meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing