We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Campground, below par Chowder Hut”

Meat Cove Campground & Oceanside Chowder Hut
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Meat Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Campground, below par Chowder Hut”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easily the best campground I have stayed at! Unrivalled views, lots of space, hot showers run forever.

Bring your own food though. 4 of us ate at the chowder hut - crab was overcooked, mussels were overcooked, scallops were overcooked, seafood chowder had one small piece of fish in it and otherwise was just made up of veggies. To top it off, the price of the meals would match a restaurant in downtown Halifax.

Campground staff are lovely!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We came in to meat cove after a long day of traveling, flat tires, tired kids, around 11:00 pm and Justin (the go to guy) was friendly and helpful. It is such a beautiful place.. Definitely somewhere you want to stop on your way through the Cabot trail! Feels like your on another planet its so gorgeous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cliffside Camping! WOW”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very small campground that is the most unique I have ever stayed at. The young couple running the place are very efficient and wonderfully helpful. If you are going to stay the night in a tent make sure you bring a low-profile tent. The wind up there colapsed our tall 6-person tent more than once and made for a short night's sleep. The smaller 2-person tents around us seemed to fair out better. The facilities need improvement. There are only 2 flush toilets and 2 showers for the entire campground (25 sites). You certainly don't stay here because it is comfortable but once you see that view you can't help but pitch your tent. We ate supper at the chowder hut. The food was very good. Hubby had crab legs and I had the scallops both of which were cooked well and definetly fresh. This overnight camping experience will remain as one of the most unique we've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go for the food, stay for the view”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Would have loved to try the seafood chowder, but it was sold out by the time we ordered at 7pm. The mussels were fresh however, so it was a decent enough meal nonetheless. The best thing about this little restaurant is the soaring view you have of the surrounding ocean. Quite serene.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing view, hospitality and food to boot.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We camped here for 1 night on the cliff. The hospitality was phenomenal from when we arrived to when we departed. Get there early afternoon to have your pick of a campsite. Several hiking trails around and a gravel beach to keep you busy. Chowder hut offers hot meals from 11AM~9PM to keep you warm and fed. Campsites are ridiculously affordable and food was priced reasonably and delicious - good size meals too. Facilities on site were clean and well-kept. Water service was also available.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank visitsoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Cove Campground & Oceanside Chowder Hut also viewed

Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Meat Cove Campground & Oceanside Chowder Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing