We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it another star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Chateau de Beaulieu
Ranked #1 of 1 Busnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Give it another star!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for just one night and found a haven of perfection. The staff are helpful, friendly, professional and personal. The chateau has been refurbished to a very high standard of finish and design. The wooden floors are glorious and looking down into the cellar through the glass floor is an unusual touch. It is beautiful to look at and easy to be in, with corners to sit in and views of the wonderful grounds. It is comfortable and relaxing.

The gardens are meticulously kept and a walk through their various areas [on well-kept paths] is peaceful and interesting. The trees will delight the enthusiast - including a very old Wellingtonia.

The Chateau de Beaulieu is famous for its 'bistronomic' cuisine - and justifiably so. We ate in the bistro, having the menu that included selected wines. This is the perfect experience. The nibbles with champagne cocktails, the soup and terrines, the breads, the salted butter, the main courses and desserts were perfect and accompanied by well-selected wines.

One of the tests of such a restaurant is its approach to a vegetarian. And it was spectacularly good! The selection of a different wine for the vegetarian dishes showed the seriousness of the enterprise. Each dish for both the carnivore and the vegetarian, was prepared and presented with attention to detail - they food looked and tasted as though skilled and proud love had gone into every stage.

The front-of-house is so important to a dining room - and the team of waiting staff, under the watchful eye of the maitre d', were always unobtrusively aware of exactly what was happening. Quiet, effective and friendly professionalism also characterised them. We were impressed and not surprised that on a Wednesday the bistro was almost full.

Despite the wifi not quite reaching our room [11] - although the wonderful seating outside did just as well - this hotel must be given the highest rating. From tea and marshmallows on the terrace, to the jet-enhanced shower, this is a place to remember and to visit again - as we shall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
26
142
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
459 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent hotel.
We had a corner room (8) and it was comfortable, elegant and yet funky at the same time.
Good bathroom and great shower ( a bit complicated at first ).
Comfortable bed and nice linens.
As we had dogs we ate in the bistro rather than the 2* Michelin.
However, it was excellent (so the 2* must be awesome) ... The smoked eel entree in particular was spectacular. The serving staff were excellent.
Good breakfast. Wifi a bit unstable but we were way down the far side of the hotel, so may be better closer in.
Easy parking and a large park-like setting..
Very dog friendly and only 1 hour to Calais for the car ferry or the Chunnel train.
Looking forward to another night there on way home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Checked in for one night in a party of 4 couples,check in was fast. Had the tasting menu complete with wines for each course, all very beautiful AND delicious. Room was good with separate bathroom and toilet, bed comfortable, however it lacked the charm expected of a chateau, why laminate floors ???perhaps the blue, modern decor didn't feel right,also had to ask for bathrobes, water and milk. Please make sure you take toiletries as only soap, bath gel and a strange smelling shampoo is provided, no lotion or conditioner.
Cost: Our bill as a couple: 2 glasses sauvignon blanc wine on arrival, 2 pre dinner glasses of champagne, tasting meal comes a glass of wine at each course, 2 bottles water, 2 after dinner drinks, breakfast came to 900 euros
Costly but overall enjoyed my visit and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed just one night at Le Chateau de Beaulieu, and because of the time of season and day of week we believe we were the only overnight guests! With the premier dining room closed that night, we still enjoyed a wonderful meal in the 'bistro' restaurant, and a lovely breakfast the next morning (included in room price). Grounds were lovely, but not extensive. Good location for our exploration of WW1 battlefield monuments, cemeteries and museums in NE France and on into Belgium.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent two nights here on the final leg of our
France trip. The chateau is lovely and the gardens particularly lovely. We ate in both the bistro and the michelin starred restaurant and enjoyed both. The food and service in both was excellent, bit of a price difference though.! Was surprised to find a dog in the restaurant, however he was well behaved. The room was comfortable, had to ask for another pillow and could not get an iron. Would have been nice to be able to iron a shirt before dinner. The room had airconditioning and was reasonably roomy. Found the staff attentive and helpful at all times. Breakfast was interesting with creamed rice, panacotta and caramel, dishes that I normally expect at dinner, however the scrambled egg was excellent. There were not really any activities available apart from a golf putting green so not suited to long stays. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is just 40 miles south of Calais and we stayed twice last year. This year we decided to add a little for a Superior Room which was good. Our only disappointment was that the starred restaurant, Marc Meurin, was closed for dinner as we arrived on Sunday (it is also closed on Mondays); we had enjoyed two very good dinners last year. We ate in the Jardin d'Alice which was probably better value but not up to the quality; nevertheless the fois-gras with cherries was good, the tournedos of beef OK and my wife's less memorable. Pretty good meal overall and a good stay.

Room Tip: No. 3 is a very nice Superier Room @280 Euro when we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here one night before returning to the UK and it was a good last night. The hotel rooms were clean and pleasant. We ate in the Jardin d'Alice bistro which was excellent, both in terms of value and quality. We went into Lille as we had arrived quite early and there is not much to do in the local villages. This was a good choice as we had plenty of time to wander around the old town and do some last minute shopping. (It's about a 25 minute drive providing you get in and out of Lille without any mistakes!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busnes
6.4 mi away
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
23.8 mi away
Novotel Lens Noyelles
Novotel Lens Noyelles
#1 of 9 in Noyelles-Godault
457 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel La Maison Rouge
Hotel La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Noeux-les-Mines
301 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western La Metairie
7.1 mi away
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
Chateau de Moulin le Comte
#1 of 2 in Aire-sur-la-Lys
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Beaulieu

Property: Le Chateau de Beaulieu
Address: 1098 rue de Lillers, 62350 Busnes, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Busnes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Busnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Beaulieu 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the village of Busnes, in North of France, Le Château de Beaulieu offers refinement and comfort. Its architecture belongs to both modern art and classical style. A feeling of serenity accompanies our guests throughout their stay. Our guests are given the unique impression of being out of time and out of space. A very short distance from the Flandres, in a countryside rich of History and rich of heritage from the past, Marc and Claudine Meurin are inviting you to a journey in our beautiful region. Our village stands between the Opal coast and Belgium, amid numerous interesting spots. 4-star Boutique hotel - 16 rooms and 4 suites. Our bedrooms and suites are equipped with air- conditioning, safe and minibar as well as tea and coffee facilities. One room is dedicated to disabled persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and HRS so you can book your Le Chateau de Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Beaulieu Hotel Busnes
Le Chateau De Beaulieu Busnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing