We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Carvery Meal”

The Plough at Leigh
Price range: $8 - $42
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a warm friendly Real Ale 16C Pub with atmosphere and a 17C Barn for your idyllic private party or Wedding. We offer a seasonal menu cooked from fresh produce. It's the small personal touches that makes us different. The homemade baking, preserve and chutney making, cooking & garnishing with foraged fruits from our own land and local surroundings. The use of vegetables and imagination in the preparation of our vegetarian dishes. There is something for everyone: Snacks, Open Sandwiches, Soups, Manly meat dishes and Ladies lunches, Veggie & Salads, Fish from the Kent Coast & Children's Menu serving real food.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We chose the Plough for our family get-together on Sunday, and booked for their carvery. The food was delicious, with a choice of 3 different meats and many different vegetables all cooked to perfection and presented nicely. My only suggestion would be to provide more for vegetarians - two of our party prefer to eat vegetarian and had the fritata, however I think maybe a nutroast, or something that would go better with the vegetables would be good so that the Veggies can join in with the carvery experience a bit more.
I must also mention the Pavlova - wow, delicious! so many different fruits including redcurrants, strawberries and grapes to name just a few, and such a big slice. The highlight of a delicious meal!

1  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely response.
So glad that you enjoyed your family occassion. I'll definately take on board what you've suggested with the veggis options, our Pub menu is generous in them and I'll think up a few more for The Sunday Feast. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

I haven't been to the Plough for over 10 years, at which time it had gone downhill. Was persuaded by recent reviews on Tripadvisor to try it again today, Tuesday lunchtime. Oh dear!
We ordered fairly basic items of the menu - steak sandwiches etc - not cheap but sounded promising and that's what the Plough once specialised in. Although the place wasn't very busy, our food took 45 minutes to appear and arrived without any apology or excuse for the delay.
Food itself was a disappointment - mine for £10 consisted of a tough piece of steak - and not cooked m/rare as I'd requested; the supposed "doorstep" artisan bread was as thin as you can cut it.
What a pity - such a lovely rural location and potential spoilt by poor service and poor ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Well what to say apart from my heart felt apologies for your experience.
This review provoked huge disappointment on my behalf as we believed we had reinstated the famous Steak sandwich which I too remember from my teenage years.
Our bread is indeed award winning Artisan bread and our Beef 21 day matured.
Our aim is to sell simple, seasonal dishes and offer real value for money in a warm and friendly environment with super customer service.
I apologise for the service time being so long and hope you at least enjoyed sitting in our beautiful sunny garden whilst waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Attended wedding at weekend, could not fault the service, ambience or food. Great atmosphere, dining décor superb, cheerful welcoming staff. Good size portions on every serving. Nice grounds with large car park .Definitely.one of the nicest venues I have seen for wedding or other celebration. Nice lounge bar for a quiet break from the festivities where the meals also looked scrumptious. Only criticism drinks pricey, but quality remembered after the price is forgotten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DivesMablethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your encouraging review. It was indeed a lovely occasion and as it was the first wedding we have hosted since taking over The Plough and Great Barn at Leigh wonderful for us to know that we met with your expectations.
The prices mentioned at the Barn bar are presently being reviewed and we hope that future guests will enjoy the same exceptional quality at what maybe considered to be a fair price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Check whether there is a function on when you book. We booked the 'snug' for a Saturday lunch reunion with friends and their family who were visiting the area. No mention there was a wedding when we booked. When we arrived there was simply a sign up saying that they were closing at 2.30. When pushed they agreed to let us stay until 3pm as our friends were stuck in traffic saying we certainly wouldn't be thrown out if we hadn't finished our meal. Then we discovered that they had given our table away to another party as they "had the right number of people". No atmosphere in the place as it was virtually closed, the portions were very small for the price, no vegetables, unavailable mash replaced with a few chips, and certainly not value for money or great quality in my opinion. Lots of audible comments from staff from 2.30 onwards about needing to 'chuck us out'. We were begrudgingly allowed ice cream only for dessert, and staff were gathered around us ushering us out at 2.45. I was so disappointed and embarrassed as our guests had come out of their way and I'd wanted to have a good meal in a lovely setting. We were put in an impossible situation, too many people and not enough time to go elsewhere. Totally unacceptable. Either you're open for lunch or you're not. If they had just warned us we could have come earlier or booked elsewhere. We will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dinekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel-and-Mick, Owner at The Plough at Leigh, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We are so sorry to hear of your experience.
Mick and Hazel have recently become the new Landlord and Landlady of The Plough and Barn at Leigh and we would just like to inform you that we are listening to past criticism such as this review and hope to put immediate measures in place so events, in our magnificent barn and daily trade in the beautiful 16th Century Pub can run in harmony alongside each other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Atmospheric old world pub with a good selection of beers. The food is good as well and the pub is well worth finding out. Open fires in the winter make this a cosy retreat to enjoy a few ales and some good pub grub.

Thank SteveBishop.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough at Leigh also viewed

 

Been to The Plough at Leigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing