We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food we had in South Africa”
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timamoon
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The room was out of this world , literally ... The view was absolutely amazing . It is a long trip up a bumpy road , to get there , but it is worth it . We were also lucky , to see Red Duiker at the premises .

The food was well presented , and tasted wonderful . It deserves a michelin star . Of course the service was excellent too . It is the best food we had on our two week stay in lovely South Africa .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi there
Thanks for such a positive review. I will report back to the chef with your comments! Delighted to hear it was the best food of your entire trip that says something.
It is special to see our little red Duicker as they are a rare species. If you ever make it back to SA come visit again
Regards from all of us at Timamoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 265 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Timamoon really is out of this world. Set in a gorgeous valley overlooking the Sabie River, it comprises six rooms, each of which are completely privately situated. Our room, Moon River, had a private infinity pool and a daybed from which to enjoy the majestic views. The family-run lodge is small enough to allow for friendly, personalised service, yet is run professionally and slickly, and everything you may need is available. I had a massage next to our private infinity pool, which was beyond amazing. The food is fabulous, and there are loads of activities in the area - it really is a beautiful part of South Africa. We got engaged here and I have to say I couldn't have hoped for a more romantic proposal. Thanks to the Timamoon team for making it perfect!

Room Tip: Moon River is supposed to be the most luxurious, but with only six rooms, I think they must all be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtravels312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hullo from Timamoon
So you really think we are the most romantic spot in South Africa? What a great compliment as that has always been our goal and we so thrilled that it felt like that for you.
Our daughter, Jessie has come back to Timamoon and is our general manager, so you right about Timamoon been a family run business. Glad to hear that you liked the service and the way she is running Timamoon! I will pass on your comments to all the staff
Loved to see you again some day
All the best Gaylyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I recently went to Timamoon and it was out of this world. We were staying in New Moon and it was private and beautifully decorated! This is definitely a place to relax and spend some quality time with your other half. We loved it and will definitely be back.

One thing I would suggest is take an off road vehicle and read the directions carefully. Oh yeah, make sure to follow the arrows. We ended up on a dirt track that took us back to the highway.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iainn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi to you both
Thanks for a great review and spending quality time with your other half is REALLY what Timamoon is all about.
Delighted to read that you will be back!
All the best with the wedding plans
From the Timamoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Timamoon is out of this world! Could not have chosen a better honeymoon destination! We stayed in Moon River...Epic beyond comprehension!! Thank you to everyone there for making our stay so unforgettably wonderful!!

Lots of love
Allan & Trinette

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinetteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi
Cant forget you two lovebirds!
Thanks for your positive comments. Honeymoons are something you do remember for the rest of your life and we delighted that was such a great "fairytale" stay.
Hope to see for one of your wedding anniversaries!!
Love from the Timamoon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here during September 2012. Timamoon is really out of this world - we loved every single minute of our stay. The views are beautiful and the villas are really unique. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 2 nights. We would definitely go back. I would recommend this for anyone who would like to escape reality and just relax - but still want something unique! Awesome experience - magical!

Room Tip: The road is really not that bad - a car will get you there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hullo to you both in Cape Town
Yipeeee someone at last puts the facts straight about our little road. It really is not bad and is in fact very beautiful. It is an incredible drive through a indiginous forest and there is a canopy of trees over the road so that often you cannot see the sky.
Thank for your great review and yes please recommend us as we rely mainly on word-of-mouth.
Glad to hear that you promising to be back and for longer
All the best
Gaylyn and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of visiting Timamoon on 7th December for one night only (wish it could of been more) It was my partners 40th birthday so we decided to push the boat out and stretch the budget for the occasion and im so glad we did. The drive in from the main road is mysterious if not a little rough . On arrival we were immediately given the option to upgrade as the lodge was not at full occupancy, anyway we did and were more than happy of our surroundings and accomadation. We were relaxed from the beginning and time went too fast. The staff were helpful and the food was amazing (with the chef taking the time to come and explain the menu personally) Cant praise the place and staff enough, we were well looked after and was sad to say goodbye the following morning. Mark & Monica

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Mark & Monica
Glad to hear that the 40th Birthday was a special occasion. Will pass your comments to our chef, Lilly, as she really does try very hard to make every meal a wonderful occasion.
Please come visit again BEFORE the 50th birthday. Remember we also have wonderful midweek specials so no need to stretch the budget next time!!!!
Regards
Gaylyn and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well worth it. The views are fantastic and the amenities so in touch. The warm bushveld and the romantic room with the food being taken to your room. The outside shower and the outside tub, couch looking out over the sabie valley, breathtaking.

Room Tip: Rather spend a little more and go for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkFairhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
19.3 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
21.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
21.1 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#8 of 42 in Hazyview
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#2 of 16 in Sabie
116 reviews
9.4 mi away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#6 of 16 in Sabie
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range: $279 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timamoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing