We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - well worth the effort to get here!”
Review of Timamoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Timamoon
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - well worth the effort to get here!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We hadn't done an awful lot of research before we came here - the photos on the website looked good and it was near Blyde River Canyon so we thought it would fit the bill.
To say we were blown away with what we found would be an understatement!
The journey was arduous as we arrived just after the bad rains and the normal track was washed away (although was about to be brought back into use as we left). This meant we had a tricky journey in our hire car (1.3 Toyota Corolla) along a forest track - advice would be to hire 4 x 4 if possible but we made it with care.
Great credit has to go to Katie and Jacques who made us feel exceptionally welcome and were very knowledgable about the local area.
We stayed in New Moon - a lovely lodge with a great plunge pool and a lovely view of the Sabie River. It was about a 7/8 minute walk uphill to the dining area or alternatively you could drive up - we enjoyed the walk!
What we hadn't expected was the standard of the food - the passion of the chefs (we had two during our stay) shone through from the presentation of the menu, to the food itself, and the review after the meal. Absolutely fabulous and just the right quantities. You could dine in the dining room (with an open side) or outside overlooking a wonderful goldfish pond - we enjoyed both but outside was our favourite. There are only three tables there so if the lodge is busy the staff ensures everyone gets a turn! Breakfasts are superb too.
The design of the whole place is so unusual with an eclectic mix of decor which comes together so well that it is a destination in itself.
The atmosphere was great and thanks again to Jacques and Katie who hosted us brilliantly!

Room Tip: If you want a little closer to the dining area ask for Amber Moon or similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDunsBuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    28
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
216
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband decided to spoil me with a long weekend to Timamoon for my birthday last month. Who would have thought that such a place existed in the heart of Mpumalanga on the banks of the Sabie River. Getting there can be a little daunting due to it's remoteness, especially if you're not used to driving on narrow dirt roads, but thankfully our rental car had sufficient road clearance so it wasn't too harrowing for us and simply added to the adventure.

On the first night we stayed in New Moon and then moved to Moon River for the remainder of our stay once it became available. The photos on the website are not an exaggeration at all. The views and surroundings are simply out of this world and the decor of each lodge interesting and memorable with artifacts collected from around the world by the owners. The food was thoughtfully prepared and wonderfully presented by our very attentive and enthusiastic chef. In fact we hope to connect up with her during her visit to Cape Town planned soon.

Whilst the overall service was very good, the reason the lodge doesn't score an "excellent" in my view, is that we discovered :
1. our welcome was somewhat skimmed over, with not much enthusiasm, a forced smile and with scant detail provided
2. the indoor shower in Moon River was blocked and we had to draw it to their attention
3. there was a swarm of bees nesting or settling underneath the pool deck that were very active in the early morning and early evening, which although didn't bother us too much, we had to bring that to their attention, as it had gone unnoticed by management
4. the very loud alarm when we accidentally set it off, after the cleaning staff had for some reason switched on in our absence, meaning we had to drive back to reception to find out how to switch it off as no one had told us about it, let alone how or where to switch the darn thing off

Perhaps the fact that the owners were away in Cape Town for the duration of our stay, had some bearing on these glitches and oversights? Despite this however, we are definitely planning to return at some stage to Timamoon, simply because of the exquisite surroundings and beauty of the place. Perhaps then we'll be able to give it an 'excellent' rating! For a romantic get away, it's perfect :-)

Room Tip: Whilst all of the lodges are outstanding, Moon River is the best and also used as the 'honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrippinCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review and I am delighted to read that you plan to return. I am glad that you made the point about the pictures truly representing the rooms because so many people are so sceptical as to whether they will really get what is shown on the website.
I am sorry about the few glitches during your stay which is not what we want our guests to experience but we do appreciate all your comments and have made a note of them.
Again, thanks for taking the time to write to us on trip advisor, it is always most appreciated
Regards
Gaylyn
(owner who was in Cape Town)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is heaven on earth. From shaded outdoor day beds with views over a spectacular valley, to your personal swimming pool, this place is just special. Furnished with an eclectic mix of Balinese and african artworks and furniture, your will find a seductive and succulent indoor environment. The food was different and special, staff were discrete and efficient. You will never forget this experience.

Getting to the place is a bit of a challenge but way worth the windy sand road.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally private and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinCame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for your most generous comments. It is always very special and rewarding when we read a review like yours. You seemed to have experienced Timamoon just the way we intended you too, lots of romance in an atmosphere that is a little different from the ordinary.
Thanks for making the time to post a comment
Regards
Gaylyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The view from our villa was breathtaking. The villa is exceptional and very spacious. Dinner was beautifully presented and the bar is really special. Breakfast the following morning was outstanding. We really enjoyed hiking to the river and taking a swim. All the villas are very private and super romantic.

Room Tip: All the villas are private and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an amazing place, a fantastic getaway in the heart of an area that must be explored. It is super private and the cuisine and hospitality is fantastic. A weekend is just too short to get the best of it. The restaurant is always a big thing at these places and the chef at Timamoon went the extra mile to round off a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefthandseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for wonderful review and I agree with you, the area around Timamoon just has to be explored! The views are spectacular and The Blyde River Canyon has to be one of the most beautiful scenic drive in South Africa! Mpumalanga is one of the best kept secrets in South Africa as there is so much to see and experience.
Glad to read that you enjoyed your meals so much, I will pass this onto the chefs
Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive response, it is most appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Wow what an amazing place. So unique and beautiful. The lodges have everything you could need making our stay super relaxing and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff and fabulous food. Well done Timamoon - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for your brief to the point positive review which was very inspiring! Everyone at Timamoon got to read it. Glad you enjoyed the food so much our chefs to strive to make sure that the food is is part of the Timamoon experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The pictures of endless views and breathtaking scenery do not fully do justice to Timamoon. It is in a truly stunning location, almost within reach of heaven, and Moon River has the most dramatic vistas across the tree clad hills down to the gurgling Sabie River. The rim flow pool and day bed and private tropical terraced gardens that surround this suite only add to the romantic ambiance and one could almost ignore the heavy dark paint that might add atmosphere to the private lounge with fireplace all laid and waiting, the large bathroom and the bed raised above the sitting area that maximizes the fabulous outlook.

Satin sheets and stunning artefacts, collected by the owners on their global travels add decadent weight to the blurb "sexiest lodge on the planet". But this wrap of romance was let down somewhat by the navigation required to reach the bathroom....none other than a beautiful and obviously specially sourced door that had a "kickplate" that necessitated a step over, otherwise you would fall face first and a pointed wooden detail that would gouge a slice out of your head if you didn't duck.

And oh for some controlled dimmer lighting that could make it possible for the guys to shave or the girls to put on their makeup. One sacrificied practicality for atmosphere and there was no body lotion and the hairdryer was on its last legs. Little irritations but Timamoon is ranked five star. Also no communication between suite and lodge...a serious oversight when you consider Moon River is a drive away (not a stroll) from the restaurant and reception and viewing lounge. Also the two steps from the raised sleeping area merge into the overall floor screeding, so watch your step at night. This must be the only lodge, five star or otherwise that doesn't supply body lotion, so take your own and if you want to have a glass of water or clean your teeth you have to pay for the water! Not acceptable when the manager told us that "you can drink the water but it will give you an upset stomach!".

But the food. Wow! Absolutely amazing. Chef Kobus Stander delighted us with exceptional cuisine and the Parmesan Veloute with prawns and gnocchi must go down as world class not to mention the Assiette of lamb, a trio of Karoo cutlets, neck and shepherd's pie that will forever be remembered. I would go back just for the food and happily still dream of Peanut Butter Parfait and the tangy pineapple and chilli soup. Stunning and innovative. Add to that a beautifully laid table, fantastic waitresses and a really great wine list and you have a recipe for success. Beware though, the Champagnes offered (with the exception of two) are sparkling wines! And the Champagne served at breakfast is a very sweet South African sparkling wine. That kinda lowers the tone a tad...Champagne producers would not be amused.

One other bugbear. We were invited to cocktails and the cocktail bar is a concrete structure with fixed barstools. You navigate a few stepping stones and then there is Patrick creating his masterpieces. However no-one mentioned that this island is surrounded by a narrow channel of water, sans any illumination, and very dangerous. And yes, I slipped straight into the water. I couldn't even see it. Fortunately I slipped in straight but anyone who had twisted their leg as they fell could have removed all the skin from their shin or broken a leg. I understand that management will now address this and illuminate it but some sort of communication from either management or owners after I fell would have been nice.

Timamoon has been built with great foresight and love, the suites, rooms and outside areas reflect the owners passion for all things beautiful and every spot maximises the abundance of this incredible setting. The gardens, treasures and design are lovely and a bonus is that Timamoon is situated within easy access of some of the treasures of the Lowveld, Kruger National, Sabie, Pilgrims Rest and God's Window. Need a romantic few days...this could be what just you are looking for..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylyn, Owner at Timamoon, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review it was an absolute delight to read. You certainly captured the essence of Timamoon with the detailed description of the setting. We are often asked the question, yes, but is Timamoon really as nice as the pictures on the website? I think you answered that for us!
The door with the "kickplate" is indeed a very special old Indonesian door and we didn't have the heart to meddle with it too much.
Glad to see that the food was enjoyed. We have made it our aim to to provide the best dinning experience ever and have a brilliant team of young chefs who focus on fine dinning with a modern twist.

The bar with its stepping stones over the pond, and the channel of water that surrounds the bar, can be a little challenging and I am sorry to hear that there was a small mishap. However, it is a rather unique setting so we will have to look at what can be done. We will be putting underwater lights in the channel as a result of your comment.
The point regarding no body lotion in the rooms is noted and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will most certainly change this as soon as we find some pretty containers.
Overall, Timamoon has been our creation and we do share our treasures we have collected over the years with our guest. it is lovely to read that these artifacts were enjoyed.
Once again, thank you for your beautiful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
8.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
11.9 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
10.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#5 of 40 in Hazyview
175 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
11.7 mi away
Sabie River Camp
Sabie River Camp
#2 of 16 in Sabie
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timamoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timamoon

Property: Timamoon
Address: Sabie-Hazyview Road | R536, Sabie 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timamoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each individually styled villa offers private pools, luxurious four-poster Indian beds and candle-lit bubble baths large enough to share. Diner at night is an intimate affair with candle lit meals. Spa treatments are done in the privacy of your villa. There is horse riding, hot air ballooning, river rafting, aerial cabling and a 40-minute drive to the Kruger National Park or Blyde River Canyon.Timamoon is fast becoming popular with couples from all over the world who are looking for a private and exotic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, South African Hotels, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Timamoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timamoon Hotel Sabie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing