We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for visiting the canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ticino Guest House
Ranked #5 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice place for visiting the canyon”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed there for three nights, and we really can reccomend the guest house.
1. the rooms are very big and nice
2. the owners felix and ute are so friendly and helpful, they can give a lot of tips where to go and take car of all your belowings.
3. the guest house is really nice situated. so you have to oppurtunity to rather visit the canyon or the kurger park.
4. they got a self catering fridge and if you on a tour you will get a cooling box from the hotel.
5. the breakfast, which is made by Felix himself is fantastic.
We really can recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a trip to Kruger and the Panorama Route. Felix and Ute made us feel very welcome, we had a lovely large room, and the breakfasts were great. As everyone else has mentioned, Felix is a fountain of knowledge about the area, and we were given routes for what we wanted to do, including go here, stop for breakfast here, drive here, stop for lunch here. As Ute said when I mentioned it to her he does this for non English speaking guests to make things easier for them, we just though it was an example of his Swiss timekeeping and thought it very endearing. As we had to leave very early to drive back to Johannesburg, he even made us a breakfast pack to take with us. Good location in the centre of Sabie, with 4 restaurants within a couple of hundred metres. We'll certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had the room downstairs, which was a good size with a great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonannitsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

On our trip to Kruger Park we stayed for 2 nights at the wonderful guesthouse of Ute and Felix. It was absolutely amazing. Clean rooms, superb breakfast - who says men can't cook ;-)) - and also the knowledge of Felix about the Panorama Route was great.
We can absolutely recommend this place for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TirolerWeltenbummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Felix and Ute run an extremely pleasurable guest house with a great deal of character. Felix is a fountain of knowledge about the Panorama Route, even down to the times when best to visit the various points. Even with his advice we found it very difficult to fit everyhting in so would suggest doing it over two days, but an extra night here would certainly not be a problem. Only thing we did find a problem was the number of logginh lorries travelling past the house during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW15EXILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Felix and his wife are lovely people always ready to help (places to visit, lending of icehouse ...)
The room was very clean, there is a very nice terrace and the bathroom is new and beautiful.
The breakfast is plentiful and very good.
If we should go back to Sabie, we will return to this cozy place.
Be careful, this bed and breakfast often seems full. Book in advance!

Félix et sa femme sont des gens adorables toujours prêts à aider (les lieux à visiter, prêt de glacières...)
La chambre était très propre, il ya une terrasse très agréable et la salle de bains est neuve et belle.
Le petit déjeuner est copieux et très bon.
Si nous devions, un jour revenir, à Sabie, nous reviendrons dans ce B&B chaleureux.
Attention, ce bed and breakfast semble souvent complet. Réservez à l'avance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the villa for one night (five people) and got two big, spacious rooms. We spent the evening sittng at the living room near the fire. There was also a bar where one could take a drink and write it down. Breakfast was very good. The owner was very hospitable and provided us with a lot of information, maps, a cooler a binocular etc. The location is gerat for Kruger park, and there was a great restaurant nearby, where we had dinner (The Wild Fig Tree). There were others around, as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Villa Ticino for two nights and had a fantastic time. The location was ideal, a 4 hour comfortable drive from Jo'Burg, with the villa situated close to local restaurants and shops, but also enjoying wonderful views. Felix and Ute were fantastic and very helpful when it came to planning the best way around the stunning Panorama Route, even providing a cool box and map for the journey. We didn't get to enjoy the swimming pool due to the weather, but there is a lovely terrace and the facilities were good although our personal preference would be for simpler more modern style of rooms (we didn't see the other rooms though!).

All in all, we had a wonderful time at Villa Ticino and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabie hotels
0.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
0.9 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
0.9 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dublin Guest Lodge Sabie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ticino Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ticino Guest House

Property: Villa Ticino Guest House
Address: Louis Trichardt Street | No: 2 Second street, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ticino Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated, in the centre of the picturesque, malaria-free mountain village of Sabie close to restaurants and shops, Villa Ticino is the ideal base for a minimum stay of 2 nights or longer from which to explore the numerous attractions in the region and for visiting the Kruger National Park. Your Swiss/German owners and hosts personally welcome guests and assist with comprehensive insider information for daily outings with a free map of the area. The European style guest house has six well-appointed en-suite bedrooms, 5 with twin beds, all opening up onto a covered private patio or balcony. Villa Ticino offers guests an attractive guest lounge, a breakfast room, a generous covered terrace with garden & mountain views, a swimming pool, free secure parking, an information corner with WiFi access and a small resident’s bar where guests may enjoy a sundowner before strolling to one of the nearby restaurants to end the evening with a good meal and fine wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ticino Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing