We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome!!!”
Review of Petena's Pancakes

Petena's Pancakes
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awesome!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything we had was absolutely awesome. We had a lamb curry pancake, ice cream & choc sauce pancake, and scones. Very filling and fresh. We'd recommended Petena Pancakes to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent family cake, coffee and pancake spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The foggy rain has everyone scurrying for cake and pancakes today. Fortunately, we stumbled upon this family run business in the heart of Sarbie town - brothers, sisters, aunty and uncles all doing their bit to handle the Saturday midday tourist rush, and the experience felt relaxed and genuinely welcoming. After a short wait, our coffees and hot chocolates arrived followed by cheesecake, carrot cake, apple tart and two double scoop, chocolate pancakes. Wow! The fluffy, light pancakes were far and away the best we have experienced in a while. The decor is simple and unpretentious. The place is exactly what you expect, a decent cake and coffee spot for the family friendly experience. We noticed that everything is baked on the premesis and this is a more appealing proposition than some of the alternative tourist-geared, generic propositions in the Sabie and Graskop towns. We will be returning to Petinas Pancake House for a second tea time treat soon. Thanks guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a pancake and it was a hundred times better than Harry's pancakes in graskop”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a pancake and it was a hundred times better than Harry's pancakes in graskop , the service was good and food was to die for and the milk shakes are brilliant I love them. A big pancake that's worth every penny and taste too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliottmyhill1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beyond bad”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had to wait a very long time for our food. The manageress, an old lady sat directly opposite us at a table reading . watching us like a hawk, when you look up she sits staring at you. The scones were very old and crunmbly, the waffle had to be re done as they burnt it. My husband had his scones which he left most of whilst I had to wait for my waffle which was not good when it eventually arrived, shop bought heated in a toaster. I did not eat this. Despite seeing this by the lady watching us, she did not once aske if there was a problem or if anything was ok! Never again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pancakes”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Best pancakes around Iv had Harrys pancakes but petenas is far better since the new owners have taken over.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliottmyhill1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petena's Pancakes also viewed

 

Been to Petena's Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing