We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best Greek Restaurant in town”

The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lydenburg
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Greek Restaurant in town”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Basically consider it as my local away from home. Good food, drink and friendly hosts. The Restaurant has a real homely feeling with a Bar, in door restaurant and deck area for smokers to dine and meet. Many passers by pop in for breakfast and lunch and is a favourite haunt for bikers doing the runs between Sabie and Hazeyview

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    62
    42
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Doubt if we will be back”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The service was slow but friendly. The food we ordered was a seafood combo which was supposed to be sole, prawns and calamari , we enquired how the prawns and calamari was prepared and we ended up getting just the prawns and calamari, with very spicy vegetables (carrot, onion, broccoli, colly flower, bringial) and it all tasted the same. The calamari was not completely grilled and tasted as if it was just taken out of the sea. The other dish was a rump steak and chips, got the same spicy vegetables that we did not eat, steak was very well done instead of medium to well done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“avoid this place unless you like emergency rooms”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we ate at this place late in the evening and the morning after I felt so sick in the stomach that I had to go to the hospital; there they tested me and found out that I had a bacteria in the stomach.
As this was the first place where we ate coming into S-A, I am pretty sure it's because of this place, although obviously it's hard to prove. When walking in, I already doubted the hygiene in this place and should have left then. But, we were hungry, so... go there for drinks but don't eat there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed Pub Faire”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely pub for a pub grub and a few cold ones. Don't expect gourmet meals, but rather traditional pub menu.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We got to this restaurant after being rejected at the smokey train restaurant. We received excellent service and the food was great. The waiter was friendly and the barman also made me a special cocktail even though they don't generally do cocktails. Be very hungry when you visit...Huge portions of food. Thank You!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmosFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing