We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Greek meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant

The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pretoria
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Greek meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Because we are staying a couple of nights in Sabie, we decided to check out different restaurants. The Woodsman is nice. We had a good Greek meal with very good Tzaziki and calamari Greek style with lots of garlic herbs and tomato rice. Service was very friendly and professional with personal touch. Relaxed atmosphere trough the combination of Pub and restaurant. That makes it a bit noisy and you should not go there for a romantic dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VeraLaura1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    54
    40
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bad experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food was very average and there were a lot of bikers they take over the place and are also very noisy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, generous portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good restaurant with a lot of Greek offerings, centrally in Sabie. Good value for money. Pleasant service. Nice outdoor place to sit with plenty to watch from it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We love the spacious, clean and comfortable rooms with the claw foot baths. The lack of pretentiousness of the establishment is also refreshing. This is a stopping point for many bikers enjoying the twisties that the Sabie Hazyview area has to offer. The food is fantastic. We've stayed and eaten at the Woodsman on many occasions and can highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon22Sandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slightly confused identity but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Woodsman looks like an all-biker joint from the outside and even as we walked into the entrance I wasn't quite sure that this was the place for us to have a family meal with our 2 year old. However, once we had passed through the pub section, the decor and atmosphere inside the restaurant is clean, attractive and certainly more family restaurant than pub.

The Woodsman is advertised as a pub and restaurant and it certainly seems to fit both descriptions depending on which side of the threshold you are standing on.

The food was good and the service was fine. A perfectly adequate place to have a meal while in Sabie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emminicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing