We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop!”

The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely stop!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been stopping over at Woodman for the last 22 years. Although the service was slow, the food is still good value for money & the views of the mountains beautiful. Best Rock Shandy in SA!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    62
    42
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“give the rack of ribs a try”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I wasn't expecting to see greek food in a small South African town, but there it was, and my wife ate greek. I had the spare ribs which were excellent and you have to give them a go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank simonannitsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Greek cuisine we have had in a long time”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The owners are hands on typicaL of a decent well run establishment. The food was superb. The rooms were adequate for our stay as we were under pressure for a room last minute and we were accommodated very well. I would recommend the woodsman to anybody visiting sabie

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pano W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Greek Cuisine”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff. Good selection of classic Greek dishes. Only negative was no air-con and as it was raining we were unable to sit outdoors and it became slightly stuffy mid way through our meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cait2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service please!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were greeted at the door and told to choose a table. No problem there but we just waited for someone to serve us and gave up. We then walked out and across to the Wild Fig where we got the same great service we had from them previous night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Woodsman Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing