We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in relaxing surroundings”
Review of The Wild Fig Tree

The Wild Fig Tree
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An excellent restaurant, with very pleasing decor. There is a permanent Menu, and a Blackboard Menu which is changed every 2 weeks.Gavin and Karin are there to welcome you, and to make sure that you have a very pleasant dining experience. The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers an intimate ambiance. Exotic dishes , such as Kudu ,Crocodile, Ostrich are to be found on the menu.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food in relaxing surroundings”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good menu spanning local (e.g. trout), traditional South African(e.g. potjie) and staples (e.g. steak/pizza). Specials board is great and usually provides a twist on these.

Friendly hosts and good service. Pleasant surroundings, particularly on the balcony.

Very handy if you're staying in one of the guest houses nearby.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    138
    37
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
360 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent and varied menu at this very pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stopped for a cup of coffee and were so tempted by the blackboard menu that we ended up having a delicious lunch. Warthog Carpaccio, Ostrich Medallions, Milk Tart and Malva Pudding with an Amarulla sauce were just some of the local dishes on the menu, although there were also more conventional dishes. We sat outside on the veranda but there were tables inside as well as a good selection of magazines and books about the area available for guests. We noticed that there were other tourists here, but a lot of local people too. I opted for the smoked trout with avocado and a huge plate arrived with other fresh salad items along with an avocado oil dressing. My husband raved about the Malva pudding with the Amarulla sauce saying this was the nicest one he has ever had. The owner was charming and ensured that we were happy with the food and the service and we like the fact that when you order coffee you have a bottomless cup for no extra expense. Sabie is a very attractive little town near God's Window and the very touristy Pilgrim's Rest. This is an excellent eatery and we would like to have eaten there again. My husband thought that our bill was one of the most reasonable we had had during our travels in South Africa..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised!! The service was good and there was a buzzing atmosphere - felt like this was the place where everyone get together. The best pizza!! We went back for more :) Don't even go anywhere else in Sabie.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marthelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Top Nosh”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What and experience!! A wide selection of traditional and exotic South African dishes. We sampled Sprongbok carpaccio, Ostrich medallions and Crocodile kebabs!! All of which were scrummy. Also for the less adventurous among us there was beautifully grilled trout with garlic butter, trout pate, cajun spiced chicken wings and a good old fashioned rump steak cooked to perfection. Highly recommend this establishment to anyone either staying or passing through Sabie.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cait2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant meal and great service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Prompt efficient service. We took the specials for the blackboard and enjoyed. We only planned to eat there one night but came back for the second.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Fig Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing