We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gunyatoo Trout Farm & Guest Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at the self-catering Fisherman’s Cottage was wonderful.
Service and accommodation were great! If you love peace & quite I will definitely recommend Gunyatoo anytime. Gunyatoo will see us again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The lodge itself was clean and very comfortable, and the fireplace is grand! but the downsides are dust from the lumber trucks is not pleasant at all, and also DONT take any other road in or out except the main tar road unless you have a 4X4! I was told to take one of these roads by the owner the day after I arrived and it was not fun at all in my family sedan!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I had a great week end, the dams were well stocked, and we enjoyed our stay with Debbie and her friendly dogs. The gravel road, last five kilometers, is dusty off course, without a light rain shower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very relaxed and proficient welcoming set the table for a excellent weekend. The atmosphere of honesty and serenity stayed with us and enhanced the rested quality we took home. And the fishing was good too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Pure decadence from arrival to departure. There is not one thing I could nit pick and find fault with. Accommodation was great, fine dining was THE best, clean air and rest - what more can you ask for

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 days at Gunyatoo. Beautiful setting, good and clean accommodation in log cabin and some good fishing for my son. Very friendly and helpful staff. Pity about the condition of the roads leading to the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everything about Gunyatoo can be rated as excellent! Location, cabin, service, accessories and necessities were all thought of and provided. I will recommend this lodge to everyone for an awesome time

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 162Zan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabie hotels
10.3 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
10.1 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
9.4 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Sabie River Camp
Sabie River Camp
#3 of 16 in Sabie
214 reviews
10 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
275 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wayfarers Guest House
Wayfarers Guest House
#10 of 23 in Sabie
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunyatoo Trout Farm & Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunyatoo Trout Farm & Guest Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek 213 JT | Mpumalanga, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range: $107 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunyatoo Trout Farm & Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunyatoo Trout Lodge is small Fly-fishing and Mountain biking venue situated in a mountainous forestry area 25 kms from Sabie. Gunyatoo offers both Self-catering Cottages or DBB Lodge accommodations. (Guest Lodge rates include a delectable dinner and a hearty breakfast.) The thatch & stone Lodge has recently been refurbished with several suites, all with beautiful views of the surrounding pine forests. Lodge Rooms, all en-suite, have their own private patio, perfect for "feet up" early morning cuppa's. For those requiring Self-catering, we offer 2, 4, and 6 Sleeper Cottages. All fully equipped. For those that wish to "Camp in Style" we have our ECO Fisherman's Cottage - 8 sleeper. (NO electricity - solar powered Lights) This cottage is ideal for Groups wishing for something just a little different - a more rustic self-catering option. It is secluded at the edge of property, at the trout dams & raceways, and is ideal for group fishing trips. The farm is a full working "trout-farm", comprising of a processing area, hatchery, nursery, raceways and naturally, for the enthusiastic fly fisherman-two stocked dams. Limited stream fishing is also available for the more experienced fisherman. Private fly fishing lessons and group clinics can be arranged on site. After a days fishing one can enjoy a drink at the bar, have a game of pool or darts then unwind in the sauna or swimming pool. Of course should it be chilly one can warm up around roaring log fires in the lounge. The Lodge is just the place for a fishing vacation or weekend getaway, but any nature lover will find themselves in a proverbial paradise. For the sedentary tourist, relaxing on the wooden decked patio watching the abundant birdlife is a must. The Sabie area is truly a birders paradise. Not only is there a huge variety of the more common bird species, but a number of globally and nationally threatened species also occur in the area. For those in need of exercise, on farm trails and walks to the nearby waterfalls & caves are just as enjoyable but should you require additional stimulation: - Various mountain bike trials are available onsite. Arrangements can be made for Quad Bike tours, horse riding, gorge-swinging, rafting & many more activities. The aborigine word for home is "Gunya". The name of our guest lodge is Gunyatoo, embedded in our name is our philosophy and commitment to our guests - " our home is your home". Come and stay with us a while and it can be your Gunya-too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gunyatoo Trout Farm & Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing