We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend June'13”
Review of Misty Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Misty Mountain
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Service was excellent! All staff friendly & professional! Spectacular view. Although it's only 1 dam you can fish, the fly fishing was awesome! Food delicious. We enjoyed every moment! 5 Star not 3!**

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 214 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Misty mountain! With wonderful views, awesome fireplace in your room and excellent service! Really a nice place just to break away from the busy city life!! Will be back again next year...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My group stopped here for two nights!
Great food and service by a motivated staff.
As it was cold , I called ahead and each room had a log fire going by the time we arrived.
We walked around the lodge and had a great talk by the owner on the forestry industry .

We were sad to leave after two days. Also a good place to get to Aventura and participate in
A four hour canyon hike!
Ted

Room Tip: Breakfast from the pool deck deck is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our stay in the Farmhouse was just lovely. Beautiful, well appointed rooms, and a very comfortable house. Sitting by the fire was great when the weather was misty and cold. Fishing was fun too. Would love to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very cozy, family chalets, clean and comfortable.
Very good cuisine!
Huge play area for kids outside and inside pooltable and tabletennis
Terrace with beautifull view and pool!
If I have to find something negative it is that it is close to the highway, but this does not make the stay less plesant

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked into a 6 sleeper (we are a family of 4) as we wanted to have extra space to move around in. If we had been a family of 6 there would not have been enough space in the lounge. The 2 couches are not enough for 6 people. So I am glad that I never booked into a unit for 4.
The staff were very friendly.
A pity you can hear the busy road all day and all night!
A beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent a Friday night here. We were made to feel most welcome. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely fire in the grate. The views were magnificent! We walked in the lovely gardens and saw many beautiful , unusual to us birds! The food was delicious!! All in all, a friendly , happy experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
20.3 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 2 in Graskop
631 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
153 reviews
9.3 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#8 of 10 in White River
239 reviews
9.4 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
286 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#2 of 16 in Sabie
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain

Address: Long Tom Pass | Long Tom Pass on R37, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range: $111 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing