We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay”
Review of Misty Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Mountain
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
White River, South Africa
1 review
“Very relaxing stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our stay in the Farmhouse was just lovely. Beautiful, well appointed rooms, and a very comfortable house. Sitting by the fire was great when the weather was misty and cold. Fishing was fun too. Would love to visit again one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    78
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
60
87
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wierden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very cozy, family chalets, clean and comfortable.
Very good cuisine!
Huge play area for kids outside and inside pooltable and tabletennis
Terrace with beautifull view and pool!
If I have to find something negative it is that it is close to the highway, but this does not make the stay less plesant

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked into a 6 sleeper (we are a family of 4) as we wanted to have extra space to move around in. If we had been a family of 6 there would not have been enough space in the lounge. The 2 couches are not enough for 6 people. So I am glad that I never booked into a unit for 4.
The staff were very friendly.
A pity you can hear the busy road all day and all night!
A beautiful setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent a Friday night here. We were made to feel most welcome. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely fire in the grate. The views were magnificent! We walked in the lovely gardens and saw many beautiful , unusual to us birds! The food was delicious!! All in all, a friendly , happy experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My son (7 years old) and I spent two nights at Misty Mountain. It was great and the family will certainly visit again. We were offered a chalet with a loft and separate main bedroom and bathrooms. Very clean, neat and comfortable. Dinner in the hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly. Well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in a double room that overlooked the mountain that was absolutely breathtaking in the morning. The service was great, very friendly staff. The nature walk to the waterfall was a plus. We didn't have children with us but there are a lot of activities for kids. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydenburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Planned some alone time with my wife for the night, special dinner and a romantic evening. Great assistance from the personnel with planning to make the night unforgettable. Will stay over any time again.
They make it pleasant and personal for you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ramon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabie hotels
9.1 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
20.7 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
255 reviews
8.7 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
9.2 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
10.6 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#3 of 16 in Sabie
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain

Property: Misty Mountain
Address: Long Tom Pass | Long Tom Pass on R37, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing