We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very pleasant stay”
Review of Misty Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Misty Mountain
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel and it's staff was one of the nicest places we have ever gone to. Totally amazed that it is only a 3 star but greatfull because then it's affordable for us local people and not just the tourist. Cannot recommend anything to change or need to start doing as it was absolutely from the highest quality cannot wait to come and revisit again :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariaP102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Misty Mountain was a wonderful surprise. We took our little boy for his first birthday. The staff were wonderful, the food incredible and the setting magical! Most importantly it is a family run and family cared for venue. We ate, drank and slept like kings! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 742NadiaB742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family of ten (all adults) stayed at the cottage at the Misty Mountain Lodge and had a blast. The cottage was perfect for a family as large as ours. There was a kitchen, a living room with a fireplace, enough bedrooms and beds for us all. Great views from the restaurant and swimming pool. It was not five-star luxury but it was definitely, clean, cosy, comfortably and value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pppeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The most amazing part was the friendliness of your staff! The mattresses were not very comfortable and I would have liked to have a queen sized bed and not a double. We will definitely be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 884JanetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I visited MM after a 4 year break. I love the refurbished rooms. The service in the restaurant is great and the quality of the food is awesome. Did not enjoy the noise from the road facing rooms. Otherwise a great stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DorothyN911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The service and food were excellent, I had expected the room to be more luxurious (especially the bathroom). The swimming pool was also quite green, but we had a nice experience, will visit again and recommend to others

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TracyD132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

To whom it may concern,

The room was very clean, the view was beautiful and the location very good.

Howerver, the matrass in the main double bed was extremely worn out and extremely uncomfortable. The bed also very small.

I am not sure if I will return to Misty Mountain.

Kind regards

Henry

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrahamH968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabie hotels
9.3 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
9.4 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
273 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Villa Ticino Guest House
8.6 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#3 of 16 in Sabie
171 reviews
9.4 mi away
Dublin Guest Lodge Sabie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain

Address: Long Tom Pass | Long Tom Pass on R37, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range: $98 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Misty Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing