We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Ranked #9 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We enjoyed a couple of nights at Porcupine Ridge where we were made very welcome by Janet and John. Our room was a standard one, not huge but perfectly adequate and well equipped. The breakfasts were great especially the packed one we had on our last morning as our flight was very early. There is a lovely lounge if you want to be indoors, two very friendly dogs and beautiful siamese cats. The Wild Fig is certainly the place to eat. Porcupine Ridge is very well situated if you want to drive the Panorama Route.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

In 2010, when the South African World Cup had just begun, I had had the pleasure of staying with John & Janet in their lovely Porcupine Ridge guesthouse. During my 2011/2012 South Africa trip, together with my German friend Kai, I returned.

Both British, they are products of their culture, with humour, warmth and convention as their forte. Should distance between them and their guests be required, they can keep it, although, if an unconventional bunch like this Dutchman with his German friend come along, they open up easily and they turn into the most pleasant & spontaneous people one could imagine. Wish all the guesthouses on our 2011/2012 South Africa trip had such excellent hosts!

The Porcupine Ridge Guesthouse itself is a gem. At least four well appointed rooms, 'fluffy' again, impeccably clean and with a very well stocked (and not at all overpriced) fridge. Sabie, the village of the Porcupine Ridge Guesthouse, is on 900-1000 m altitude at the transition from lowveld/bushveld to highveld. There is a lot of banana and tree growing in the immediate surroundings, and the famous Panorama route with all its stunning natural beauty starts here. The village has the shops it requires and some nice restaurants, of which the Wild Fig Tree can be recommended in particular.

The Guesthouse has a beautiful lush garden surrounding, to be enjoyed by wandering around to their own on-site waterfall or from the available terraces. The Guesthouse pets, two well-trained golden retriever dogs and the siamese cat, may accompany you when exploring the garden.

Porcupine Ridge is not only the name of this excellent Guesthouse, it also is a famous South African winemaker from the (Western Cape) Franschhoek area. If at all there is a link between the two, they share their unique quality, as well as their porcupine logo.

No wonder that the wine we took on the last dinner of our South African trip was a Porcupine Ridge blend, in honour of ... And given we took a Porcupine Ridge Shiraz with us, it might be the first wine to drink back home as well. Again, in honour of ...

Thanks, Janet & John, for having us (so to speak). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ton1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for three nights, in september, and we had a wonderful holiday experience thanks to the friendly and helpful owners, Janet and John. The hosts are very friendly, relaxed and warm and really welcome you into their home and make you feel like one in the family at once!
Janet and John are very helpful when it comes to planning your holiday and to give you tips about things to do, see and visit. The location of the B&B makes it easy to reach a lot of nice places, especially the Panorama Route.
Our room was spacious, very clean and romantic. The view of the verandah while enjoying breakfast was memorable!

We can't forget to mention our favorite 'hosts' during our stay - the two dogs (golden retrievers) that really made us feel like we were coming home after each day! We will definitely be back!

If you will stay here on your journey in SA, you dont get disappointed at all. The perfect choice what you can make. So enjoy their hospitality!

Martin and Nina
The Netherlands

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninascholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Porcupine Ridge is a lovely guest house in a fantastic setting. The rooms were sophisticated and facilities excellent.

The best aspect though was the warm and friendly service from Janet and John who are extremely knowledgable about the local area and gave us lots of good tips from a place for dinner (Wild Fig restaurant in Sabie highly recommended) to wildlife spotting tips.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandanna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Porcupine Ridge was our base for visiting the Panorama Route, towards the end of our three-week tour. Janet and John, the expat English owners, could not have made us more welcome and we felt immediately at home with them and their delightful Siamese cats and golden retrievers. The room, although small, was well-furnished and clean and the breakfasts were excellent, looking out onto a large private estate that was in the not-too-distant past a gold mine and is now packed with wildlife and blessed with some beautiful jacaranda trees that had just come in to flower. It was an easy short drive into the small town of Sabie and then on to explore the picturesque Panorama Route.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The guest house is in an excellent position in a very beautiful part of the world, and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. But we were a little disappointed by the quality of fixtures and fittings – broken window catches, an extractor fan in the bathroom that did not work (despite askiing for it to be fixed), a shower door that somehow managed to pour water on the bathroom floor, a bath mat that was left soaking wet in the bathroom. In other words, signs of gentle neglect. Our next port of call was infinitely superior, in tip top condition, and cost about 20% less than Porcupine Ridge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Porcupine Ridge is a magnificent spot a few minutes out of the town of Sabie, and the house is pristine and the rooms comfortable and immaculate. The breakfasts were wonderful and the proprietors helpful. The dogs will even take you for a walk up the mountain!! I had no access to any sitting area besides my room, and was sorely disappointed when, needing to leave one day earlier than planned, despite having provided 5 bed nights to an otherwise empty establishment, the proprietor in a very stern way demanded the payment for the sixth night, which she was entitled to as it was "in the contract". I duly paid but recommend all potential guests ensure they are willing to lose their money, regardless of what clientele they might provide, if their plans have to slightly change as there is no flexibility!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicethedog, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
It is unfortunate when a guest leaves Porcupine Ridge without feeling we tried 110% to make their stay memorable.
We make no apology for having a Cancellation Policy however, which is explained in detail in our Booking Confirmation e-mail, our Check-in Form and our Room File. Regarding this comment, we have a lovely guest lounge and two large covered verandahs for the use of guests.
We hope our other reviews speak for themselves.
Best regards
Janet & John Wills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
11.6 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
566 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
2.0 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
2.9 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#3 of 16 in Sabie
158 reviews
9.8 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Ridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Property: Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Address: 5 Vanaxe Estate | Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Ridge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet & peaceful four star country house, tucked away in the mountains at the heart of the scenic Panorama Route, yet only 5 minutes from Sabie village and 40 minutes from Kruger National Park. The friendly ambiance invites you to relax and unwind, surrounded by rambling gardens and glorious mountain scenery. Porcupine Ridge has five luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms, a cosy guest lounge, free WiFi and plenty of free safe parking. A delicious English breakfast is served in the dining room or on the large covered view verandas. Hiking, birding and waterfall on the Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porcupine Ridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing