We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Bananien Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bananien Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The weekend of 30 August 2013 me and my fiance Cindy took a break away weekend and found Bananien Lodge. We ran into a problem due that i had to drive up to JHB to fetch her at the airport.We then had to drive back to the lodge and arrived at 02H10 in the morning at the lodge. The owners has waited for us and their service has been so good. The are friendly and considerate. We enjoyed our stay so much there. We wanted to stay longer. Thank you guys for the best weekend ever. It was great there by Bananien Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked for 7 day stay based on tripadvidor reviews. Totally inaccurate. .... the place is not anywhere near to what is promised pn their website. The facilities are substandard, one of our units don't even have a shower head in the bath. We arrived in the rain and the greeting was not welcoming. ... yet to be greeted and explained about what facities are available. Also seems that the security is a problem..... this was not disclosed upfront. The bed is so soft and uncomfortable and way past its expiry..... all in all a big disappointment. ... I cettainly will not be back and will not support this unit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienne3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabieForest, Owner at Bananien Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Trip Adviser Agent
Thank you for the oppertunity to respond to this review.
I don't want to go into a big explanation on this review but if you look at all the other reviews Bananien Lodge received I think it is not a fair review for my bussiness and it can cause doubt in potential client minds.
I think it is time to remove this review by Etienne 3260, as you can see this was his first review not as all the other guests who has made many reviews.
Kind Regards
Pieter Nortje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sabie hotels

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice stay in one of the quaint log cabins at Bananien. Its a good place for couples or families. The location is perfect, just outside sabie and close to many of the attractions in the panorama. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, it seems nothing was too much trouble. It would have been nice if there was a shower and oven, but this was not a big problem.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed for 1 night. Rooms are very very nice but basic. People are friendly but a little bit like "Bates Motel" ;-) If you expect to get a fancy hotel, forget this here. The rooms are equipped with a clean bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen. For chilly nights you have only a small heater inside. A pool is also available. Bananien Lodge is appr. 10 min by car away from Sabi. If you are not prepared to cater yourself you need to drive to Sabi. The first restaurant on the left hand site is very nice and serving good food.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabie hotels
1.2 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
0.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
0.7 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#5 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#6 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sabie River Camp
Sabie River Camp
#2 of 16 in Sabie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Porcupine Ridge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananien Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananien Lodge

Property: Bananien Lodge
Address: R536 | Sabie to Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sabie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For an experience you will never forget, visit Bananien Lodge close to Sabie for an unforgettable holiday in pristine self catering-units close to Kruger National Park. Your hosts, Pieter & Maggie welcome you to their lodge providing a sumptuous base for a unforgettable rustic African experience in self-catering thatched roof log cabins and our double story guesthouse. Nestling in scenic and indigenous bush and waterfalls it has the combined comfort and natural surroundings... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing