We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful accommodation and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2008

If this is 3 star accommodation then its really at the top end of 3 stars. The rooms we had, Zebra and Cheetah were HUGE with beautiful views across the bushveld to the Sabie Gorge. You can walk to the gorge from the property and admire the amazing views and watch dassies (rock rabbits) and if you're lucky a black eagle. The bathroom in Zebra has a beautiful corner bath and is very luxurious (I think this is the honeymoon suite). Beds are very comfortable and generally the standards are very high. I think most rooms have their own entrance which is great for avoiding disturbing other guests (or indeed being disturbed), although this house is so enormous there is little chance of that anyway.! If you look on the website, some of the rooms are smaller but still spacious and nicely decorated.

The property is very unusual having been built in stone, but its very warm and gives a lovely ambience. Being on the edge of town its quiet but close enough to walk into town.

There are restaurants close by (walking distance and its safe to walk) or you can arrange with Irene to have a homecooked, healthy, 3 course dinner. We did this and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and ended the evening with a glass of wine by the open fire.

Irene and Murray are warm and caring hosts who ensure you are settled and comfortable and that your stay is memorable - little touches like bed turn down and chocolates all add to the experience. One little girl was delighted to come back from dinner to find all her toys lined up on the pillow with a chocolate in the hands of one!

Breakfast is a sumptuous affair with a spread of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, pancakes, muffins and then if you wish a cooked breakfast.
Murray helps with travel plans and directions and if required will take you for a day tour to the attractions in the area, such as Blyde River Canyon, Pot holes, numerous waterfalls etc. We did this and it was the most enjoyable day visiting incredibly beautiful spots like God's Window and marvelling at the force of water at the Pot Holes.
It was too cold to swim but the pool certainly looked very inviting. There are 4 delightful dogs who are generally kept away from the guests, but I did see children in the garden playing with them and they all seemed to have a great time.

This is home from home and a very delightful establishment and I will certainly be returning on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKIngwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msc119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jutta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Piero P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Globetrotteur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Binimlabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten "Giraffe", fanden wir für unser Zwecke klasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
11.6 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
1.4 mi away
Hillwatering Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Ticino Guest House
17.5 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge

Address: 27 Power Street | P.O. Box 884, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range: $76 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greg and Family offer guests a warm personal welcome to our lovely, distinctive home, constructed of river stone and local timber, peacefully situated overlooking the stunning natural beauty of the Sabie Gorge. Without exception, the many guests who have stayed with us comment on the uniqueness of our home and that photographs just do not do it justice. From the verandah you can catch a glimpse of the hyrax enjoying the early morning sunshine, watch our resident sunbirds sipping nectar from strelitzia and hibiscus flowers, hear the occasional fish eagle calling and we have even been lucky enough to have a hippo wander by! Or you may like to take a short stroll across open bushveld to sit on the rocks and admire the gorge and river below. The emphasis of our spacious rooms is to offer guests comfort and a place to relax and feel at home. All have a separate private entrance and the majority overlook the lush gardens. Children are welcome, so we have family suites available and we are the only wheel chair friendly guesthouse in Sabie. Sumptuous breakfasts are served either in the dining room or on the verandah overlooking the swimming pool. We offer warm and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing