We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillwatering Country House
Ranked #2 of 23 Sabie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The house and the room are really warm and confortable, the position is in a very good position as starting point to visit Panorama Route. The house owners are friendly and they gave us a lot of precious suggestions and advices about the most interesting points for plannig in the best way our journey. Really raccomanded!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piol80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the fact that its on the Panorama route and it advertised itself as having mountain views. Well, it didn't disappoint, the views were spectacular. An ideal base to explore the Panorama route, as well as Kruger Park, this guest house is exceptionally run by its 'new' owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmn_sprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have spend one night at the stunning Hillwatering Country House. This is a real hidden treasure close to the Krugerpark and we can only recommend this nice guest house. The views from the rooms and outside patio is very beautiful. The owners are very attentive, picked us up to guide us, organized us a table in a near by restaurant and doing a great breakfast. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarafina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the time you arrive at the guest house, during your stay until the time you leave ... throughout your stay, it feels like home. The owner run and managed bed and breakfast are always willing and able to offer assistance about what or where to look and what to look out for. Would gladly go back any day, great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Second time staying here. We stayed in the "Superior Queen Room with Mountain View" (sames as we did 5 years ago), on the second floor. Room is quite spacious with good closet room. Small kitchenette can also be found in the closet containing beverages for purchase (wine, water, etc).

Bathroom is attached and quite large. Continuing with the trend, the room has a very large balcony with views over their lovely garden.

We stayed in Autumn/Winter and weather was cool upon arrival. Room was a bit chilly and takes some time to heat. We were provided with electric blankets which were wonderful and kept us toasty warm at night.

Breakfast consists of the standard fare of meats, cheeses, bread, cereal, yogurt, fresh juice and coffee. Hot breakfast is also offered.

Home is gated with parking.

Richard and Hazel are quite helpful and know a lot about the area. They were also so kind as to provide us with some cheese and crackers at our request to enjoy with the wine we were enjoying in the common lounge area. Wifi is available until about 10pm in the common areas but we were also able to connect on some devices in our room (though not all).

Great place from which to explore the surrounding area, which is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jankabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been ther with my girlfriend in march 2012 during a 2 weeks trip.
The owners are really nice and can give a lot of good advices. The guest house is really well based to visit the Blyde River Canyon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al3x_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Thanks to Richard And Hazel we had a wondeful time.
Very nice clean and big rooms with own balcony with a beautiful view on the mountains.
Very good breakfast made by Richard and Hazel.
Close to the Krugerpark and the Panorama route.
We can really recommend to stay at Hillwatering Country House in Sabie.

Ane & Riana

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inja04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabie hotels
1.2 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
1.4 mi away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
0.9 mi away
Villa Ticino Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
1.2 mi away
Dublin Guest Lodge Sabie
2.4 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#2 of 16 in Sabie
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwatering Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwatering Country House

Address: 50 Marula Street | Mount Anderson, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sabie
Price Range: $76 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillwatering Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillwatering Country House is a stylish guesthouse in Sabie, Mpumalanga, South Africa for bed and breakfast accommodation. We offer B&B accommodation on the Panorama Route in Sabie, Mpumalanga, South Africa Riana & Ane took over Hillwatering Country House in 2013 in its present status of a 4-star Guest House and Great Comfort by the Portfolio B&B collection Set in the beautiful and peaceful residential area of Mount Anderson in the forestry town of Sabie, the guest house commands sweeping views of the Drakensburg Mountains, forest clad slopes and the Bridal Veil Falls. Supreme comfort and warm hospitality awaits you at Hillwatering Country House offering stylish accommodation with attention to detail and cleanliness in a relaxed atmosphere, secure open parking with remote control security Four of the rooms have French doors leading onto a verandah where you have spectacular views of the mountains and the famous 70 metre high Bridal Veil Falls. The verandah is a place to sit and relax, whilst you enjoy a sundowner and watch the sun set behind the mountains. This charming guest house will be your gateway to the beauty of the Panorama Route and surrounding areas and is an ideal base to explore all the major attractions. Your day at Hillwatering Country House starts with a delicious generous breakfast where both Continental and English are served, which can be enjoyed on the verandah or in the dining room next to the log fire in winter. Should you wish to have an early start to the day to visit the Kruger National Park we will be happy to supply a packed picnic breakfast. There is a comfortable guest lounge with a full bouquet of DSTV channels. Free Wi-Fi available A selection of board games and cards are available, a safety deposit box, email, fax and WiFi are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hillwatering Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing