We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Illtud's 216

Illtud's 216
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

has to be by far the best place for Sunday dinner in South Wales IMO. Rustic feeling to the place and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

I have been visiting Iltuds for a few years now and have yet to taste a better Sunday Roast (other than my mine).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    27
    11
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We Normally Walk Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

On Saturday we tried this restaurant for the first time. We know the area quite well but have always looked through the window and walked past. It was a surprise to see how big it was once inside. The high ceiling gives the dining area a nice feel. It is well layed out with good space between tables. The staff were very friendly and the food was of a high standard.
We will definately go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've been to Illtyds a few times and always found the food and service very good. We've just had Sunday lunch there and weren't disappointed. Very good choice of dishes, leek and potato soup was excellent as was the American Crayfish starter, beef main course was excellent, meat wonderfully done and plentiful, plenty of Yorkshire Pudding and vegetables and extra vegetables.We were too full for desserts! Cofee was very good.

It is a strange old place (used to be an electrical shop years ago apparently), but was warm and the satff very welcoming and service excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank serdeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very impressive surroundings, the décor was really good helping to create a warm, good feel atmosphere. The seat were comfortable and there was plenty of room.
Service was really good and the menu choice was also varied and interesting.
The food was faultless and not badly priced.
I would definitely visit here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“relaxing and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

wonderful warm welcome in lovely quiet surroundings, we only had an appetite for a nightcap or two but received attentive proffesional service thank you

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illtud's 216 also viewed

Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan
Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan
Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan
Llantwit Major, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Illtud's 216? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing