We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, comfortable hotel we were made to feel very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The West House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llantwit Major
Norwich Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly, comfortable hotel we were made to feel very special”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Hotel was very clean ,comfortable. Staff from host and hosstess to porter to waitresses and cook and even the cleaners ALL very friendly, kind, helpful, knowledgable and they all made us feel special and wishing we could have stayed longer in this beautiful place.
We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast was yummie!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanNorwichNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    35
    21
    8
See reviews for
31
51
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Well situated in the quaint old part of nice village, but room very dated (shades of the 1970's) and looked out onto a bank at the side of the hotel so very dark. Old fashioned artex type ceiling with stains. Room smelt slightly damp. Bed not comfortable as had thinnish non-hotel type mattress! - but place very clean, nice bar and dining room, though food uninspiring, small portions and really nothing special, staff pleasant and friendly though, easy parking, hotel was disappointing really given the attractive old house and location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serdeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llantwit Major hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

I stayed here whilst on a work trip for 1 night in February.

Arriving at 7 in the evening I almost didn't see the car park but thankfully my sat nav knew where I was!

The staff were friendly and informed me that dinner was available from 7. My room was a reasonable size and had everything you would expect. Room service was available but I chose to eat downstairs.

As mentioned by others the menu is a little limited however there is something for most people and they seem willing to accommodate requests if there is nothing that appeals on the menu.

I had no problems while at the hotel and would stay here again if necessary.

  • Liked — Friendly staff!
  • Disliked — Dark car park
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

a disparate group of 8 assembled here for the world cup rugby.
we could not have been better looked after or better fed the restaurant was marvellous saltbush lamb with baby veg a highlight.The christophers made absolutely sure everything went smoothly from minibuses ;picnic lunches and champagne after the match.
the rooms are slightly eccentric with an old fashioned style the shower needed a little coaxing to perform but it did with the odd croak and groan at our age quite reassuring!!slightly dubious at first with big aussie frames and average sized beds we were soon won over by the charm and style of this unusual hotel.our stay in this charming hotel in a very attractive village was one of the highlights of our world cup rugby trip

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank suzeboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

The West House Hotel is a wonderful find for us. I have never stayed at a hotel that has been so friendly, helpful and delightful. Nothing was to much trouble.

We eat out at least three times a month at top restaurants and this is the best meal I have had in a very long time.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jones67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Just stayed at this hotel. Staff very friendly and the area is lovely and quiet. Hotel is a bit " tired" although they appear to be making improvements. The big negative - THE FOOD IS SHOCKING. Do not book the evening meal. 7 mains to chose from. Didn't have 3 and the wife and I wish they hadn't had any of the others! It really is very disappointing in a souless part of the hotel. Go for something buzzier, cheaper and nicer at the Swan Inn , about 200 yards down the road.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food, room,shower
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Hotel was ok but the room we had was over main bar and the noise went on well into the early hours
We had a child with us who never got any sleep
Little was done after we complained
Same thing in the morning after speaking to manager
very little sympathy should have been given a room at rear of hotel.
Would not advise if staying with children.
Will not be going back!.

Helpful?
Thank AndrewMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
4.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
453 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
355 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
7.2 mi away
Celtic International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West House Country Hotel

Property: The West House Country Hotel
Address: West Street, Llantwit Major CF61 1SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llantwit Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The West House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The West House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Hotel Country
The West House Country Hotel Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing