We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average b and b”
Review of The West House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The West House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llantwit Major
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average b and b”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and had 2 rooms in our party. We had booked 2 double rooms when we arrived we were given 1 double and 1 twin. It seemed as they knew one room was single occupancy they changed the room. There were no other double rooms available but we were given it for single rate. The rooms are small but clean with a power shower.they kept the bar open until we had had enough. Breakfast was very average. All in all average b and b in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Manager at The West House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I cannot check back to determine the reasons but appologise if you were given a twin bed room instead of a double for your single occupancy request. I trust that the lower rate we did charge you for the room, partially compensated for this. We are continually training our staff and investing in improvements to the hotel. We are also focussed on providing a high level of service to our guests, well above what would be termed average. It would appear we failed to do so in your case for you to feel we were only average. I am sorry and appologise for not meeting your expectations on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
43
66
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed one night. Room and bathroom was okay, but could do with a little money being spent on it - looking tired.
Food was excellent.
Quiet location, but handy for where I needed to be.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baztop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our restaurant. We use mainly locally supplied products and cook everything fresh. More and more people are appreciating our offering.
We are making considerable ongoing improvements to our hotel. All our carpets are new, the majority of our bathrooms have been upgraded and we continue to invest. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

cant believe the negative comments as we stayed recently and found this hotel to be near perfect.The food was great,the staff very helpfull,my wife suffers from a serious back problem but found the bed extremly comfortable, we found the location beautiful and will definatly be returning.

andrew g

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. They epitomise exactly the experience we wish our guests to have. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the West House Country Hotel during a weekend in November to get away from a busy working few months.

The room we booked was one of their newly re-furbished rooms which we were delighted with. For anybody staying here it is definitely worth requesting one.

It is a family run hotel and therefore avoids all the typical coldness and unfeeling that so many larger hotels seem to have; but what really sets the West House apart from other hotels is the staff. They were so friendly and helpful without being false or overbearing. It was the perfect location to de-stress; the lounge where we read our books and enjoyed a beautiful log fire was a favourite.

During the day we drove along the Heritage coastline and enjoyed the wonderful scenery that the area offers.

We stayed at the hotel for dinner and enjoyed exceptional food that could grace the tables of any top restaurant. The menu was varied and there was plenty to choose in the wine list.
We would recommend this hotel to people who enjoy character and want a home away from home. We will certainly be going back and hopefully when it is a bit warmer, so we can enjoy the outdoors more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break with us. I hope we do see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

When my husband recently booked a romantic weekend break, it was so lovely to go back to the same hotel that we got married in six years ago. Everything about our stay was wonderful. We had a beautiful meal in the evening and the same at breakfast the following morning. The staff were all welcoming and very helpful. It brought back lovely memories of the happiest day of our lives!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am delighted that you so enjoyed your return to our hotel for your romantic break. We are always pleased to see couples return after their weddings. Thank you for your comments. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

You could feel every spring in the bed digging into your back. The hotel had that old musty smell and the decor dated and run down. The shower simply didn't work. No one asked us upon check out if we enjoyed our stay... No need to wonder why!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Messyhair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
We did experience some storm damage to our roof which soaked our landing carpet and underlay. As our carpets are custom made this regrettably took a bit longer than we had expected. They have now been installed and the musty smell has since gone. Two of our rooms have electric showers which have to be turned on to get hot water. We generally make a point of ensuring that our guests are aware of how they work. I apologise if we were remiss in doing so. Our Hotel is old, it is a sixteenth century historic building which for many exudes a memorable ambience and charm. It’s a great shame you did not make us aware of your concerns during your stay. Had we known of your dissatisfaction, we would have addressed them and have endeavoured tp make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llantwit Major hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Mature couple/part of a 14 strong U3A walking party who were based at the hotel.

We found the hotel cosy and clean - there was a strong smell of polish - and fairly comfortable, if a little 'tired' in its decor. The springs in the bed in our room (No 3) made sleeping a little testing however the en suite facilities were first class. There was no hair dryer in the room as advertised. Oddly some of the ceilings appeared to be partly finished.

The food in the restaurant for our party was interesting; there was insufficient amount of vegetables on the first evening and the food on the plates became cold whilst we awaited the vegetables to arrive. The dining room was understaffed for the numbers involved, However by the third evening the reverse was true more vegetables and staff to match. Food was generally tasty but there seemed a high reliance on rice as the staple ingredient (two out of three dishes on two occasions). The walnut/perl las cheese in poached pears starter was delicious.
The English cooked breakfast (can I say that in Wales?) was made with good quality (local?) ingredients.

Staff were generally very helpful and friendly.
Many of our party got extremely wet on our first afternoon and arrived back with wet boots/shoes which were taken from us to a drying area however we would have benefited from having the heating switched throughout the hotel on that evening too.

Overall a fairly comfortable stay for the price. (Bed, breakfast and evening meal at £50 per person in September 2011)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHCH, Owner at The West House, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Our beds were recommended to us by our contract supplier, as that chosen by most Hotels. Most people comment on having had a good nights sleep. However we are taking your comments very seriously and have decided to test several products with the objective of finding a mattress that best suits all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
4.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
478 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
7.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
10.5 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West House

Property: The West House
Address: West Street, Llantwit Major CF61 1SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llantwit Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The West House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The West House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Hotel Country
The West House Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing