We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!”
Review of Oast House Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llantwit Major
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oast House Lodge
redcar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed Feb 2013 with three female friends. Put in room 3 (the haunted one!) Wow what a room! Split level mazannine fantastic!
Bedding on all beds appeared new and room although was not spotless it was perfectly fine. Bathroom was clean and the shower was to die for.

Made to feel really welcome not just by the staff but customers of the adjoining pub too. The housekeeper actually took us on a tour of Llantwit on the Friday night. She also left us a "care package" on our door handle of extra milk, tea, coffee and biscuits!!!!

We did not make it up in time for breakfast the following morning but were made scrummy bacon butties by the owner who was more than happy to accomodate us.

Even the few unexplained happenings (phone chargers been switched off in the night!) all added to a great weekend away and we will all definitely be returning.

Redcar 41

Room Tip: ask for room 3!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Booked to stay at the oast house lodge to visit family in the area. When arriving had a great welcome from the staff and were very helpfull on answering any question i asked. the oast house is a great historic building to stay in and has some great Features. i stayed here with my long-term boyfriend so was only expecting a double room but got a very large family room, so was well worth the price. Also had a great evening meal and breakfast. Will be staying here next time when come to visit my family again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Horrible uncomfortable bed that squeaked all night guaranteed to leave you with back ache. Outer appearance of the building immediately makes your heart sink, with dirty unpainted walls and cracked windows. Colleague staying at the sametime said breakfast was awful. Overcharged by a sullen and unhelpful woman. Pointless location. If you end up staying here for reasons beyond your control, would ensure you have in writing what they have previously told you their rate was.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonameleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llantwit Major hotels

Swanage
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have stayed the The Oast House twice before, in November 2008 and November 2009. So when we booked for November 2010 we were already aware of the ‘quirky’ nature of the accommodation. But in previous years it had at least been clean.
We arrived, quite late, on the night of 12th November and stayed – bedroom only – for two nights. Had we arrived in daylight or had the lighting in the room been sufficient to permit a full examination, had it not been so late and we so tired after a long drive, we would have checked out immediately. The next day, we were up with the dawn, spent all day on business in Llantwit-Major, and only returned after dark. It was only then that we fully realised the disgraceful state of the room which we were occupying (room 3)

By the side of the right-hand bed, covered over by the valance and the bedside table, was a pool of VOMIT on the carpet. The valance itself at the head end was also splashed with vomit, and also covered in cobwebs.

The carpet throughout the room was filthy. There was black mould up the tiles and in various crevices of the bathroom

The bathroom extractor fan did not work.

There was an accumulation of dust on the skirtings and parts of the furniture.

One of the two radiators in the room did not work.

The toilet bowl had not been cleaned properly with unpleasant stains beneath the rim.

The toilet seat would not stay up properly.

The fitment which held the cups and saucers had not been cleaned and was covered with ‘bits’.

The water in the kettle appeared to have a layer of scum on the top; obviously not emptied after the last guests; we could only use it after thoroughly cleaning it out.

The cobwebs above most of the windows and two feet off the floor by the side of the bed were really quite amazing as were the ones hanging off most of the wall lights. Busy spiders !

The unit between the beds appeared to have pieces of breakfast cereal on the bottom shelf.

Finally, was slightly unsure as to what to do with the pelmet curtains which were left on the bottom of the wardrobe !

Having been in the hotel trade myself I realise that even though this room was booked at least 3 weeks previously, no dusting or check had been done prior to our arrival. As the room had apparently been unoccupied for a while, a deep-cleaning could have been done which would have highlighted all these problems.

Clearly we will not be returning. You may fancy an adventure but we don't

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidHollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
0.2 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
156 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
469 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
27 reviews
3.5 mi away
Limpert Bay Guest House
Limpert Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Gileston
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oast House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oast House Lodge

Property: Oast House Lodge
Address: East Street, Llantwit Major CF61 1XY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llantwit Major
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Oast House Lodge Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing