We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Farmers Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llantwit Major
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farmers Barns
Inverness
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July for a more mature Hen Doo! We had 3 of the lodges between 16 of us. It was a great setting, lovely accommodation and scenery, and Gaynor couldn't be more helpful. All our requests were met promptly, and considering I don't know when she gets time to sleep, Gaynor was relaxed, approachable and extremely friendly.
We found the accommodation excellent for a large group, you can walk into Llantwit Major, and get the train to Cardiff. We hired a mini bus into Cowbridge which cost us all £2 each way.
Our party had a Chinese takeaway delivered on the Friday night, a BBQ in the rain on the veranda on the Saturday, and our Tesco food delivery had already arrived before we did on the Friday.
Very relaxed weekend, great time had by all with age ranges from 17 to 61.
Would highly recommend going here, in fact one of our party came home and immediately booked to go back in October.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a weeks stay here with our 7 year old and 15 month old, we normally do busy sites on the scale of Butlins but fancied a change and also been to Devon and Cornwall so many times thought we'd try Wales. Really lovely place, Gaynor is super, very laidback and very welcoming.
Stayed in a two bed lodge (beware they don't have a bath) it was spacious and clean, we didn't have any blinds in the living area which was a bit disappointing especially at night but we got used to it and it was very quiet so not a major issue. Kids made friends and had plenty of space to run about and explore, great proper BBQ with each lodge meant we could have an open fire each night and sit round toasting marshmallows - just perfect. Weather was great - we were very lucky. Hope to return to one of the 3 bed lodges at some point

Room Tip: We had a lodge at the end, very quiet and not really overlooked much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights in one of the lodges with my husband,daughter and her partner.The lodge had 2 bedrooms with en-suite wet rooms, a large kitchen/lounge area with good cooker and plenty of comfortable chairs.The beds were some of the most comfy we have slept in on holiday. There is a nice outside decked area with table,chairs and barbecue, and lovely view over the fields to Rosedew Farm. Gaynor is lovely can't do enough t help and knows all the local area. Great place for walking as walk along cliffs has lovely views and about a 15 minute walk to town.

Room Tip: I think all of the lodges have good views and are quiet except from the cows and sheep !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath7574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

attended a wedding here. cottages were lovely and area beautiful. stayed in one of the lodges--3 bedrooms and well equipped (dishwasher cooker en suite main bathroom tv). would be ideal to bring children with the beach a short walk away,(rocky beach) play areas and no roads near. The old part of llantwit major is very pretty-15 min walk. We only stayed the one night so I am not sure how expensive it would be to stay for longer-eg 7 days and if this is good value.

If considering for wedding consider that all you have to leave the place (barn) as you find it. On this occasion the previous users hadn't cleaned the toilets so this had to be done as well as after. also all decorations have to be self provided and cleared away. This was a lot of hard work for those arranging the wedding (and much appreciated by us guests! !). Around the barn the area is set with stones which was very difficult to negotiate in heels. The heels of my new shoes were ruined. I know a number of other guests also experienced this, some heels completely broke. If the area was tarmarked or paved this would have prevented this problem.
The weather was very hot which helped . Obviously this cannot be guaranteed =what it would be like in the rain i cannot comment on.

Room Tip: cottages are very pretty and close to barn. lodges 5- 15 mins walk away (depending how fast you walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've just spent nine days, on and off, in the Cowshed at the Farmers Barns. It's nestled in sheep-dotted hills, a short walk across a field from the stunning Heritage coastline. The accommodation is spacious and the beds super comfortable. There's a constant swirl of bees and swallows in the garden. The whole vibe of the place is set by Gaynor, who must be the most laidback hostess in the whole of south Wales - she simply makes you feel at home. Thank you, Gaynor!

Room Tip: The garden area of the Cowshed is the most private of all the barns. Very bright and sunny inside d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasMum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I'm slightly biased, as I chose to get married here, but really wanted to share how wonderful our stay there was.

Gaynor is a wonderful host - she had a lot to deal with having the whole place booked out by our family and friends for the whole weekend of our wedding, but took it all in her stride, with a smile on her face and bent over backwards to keep everyone happy.

The cottages themselves are beautiful and more than met our needs. As for the location - 5 minute walk through farmland to the coast path and 10 minutes walk into Llantwit - I don't think there is better self-catering accommodation anywhere in the Vale of Glamorgan.

Gaynor and her team made planning our wedding a very relaxed and happy experience, and everything went really well on the day.

In short, highly recommended for accommodation, location and wedding venue!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rosedew Farm is a beautiful wedding venue. It was stunning to see the couple say their vows with the sunlit hill behind them. Rhodri and Gaynor looked after us marvelously, with delicious food and friendly service. It couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMay149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
0.8 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Limpert Bay Guest House
Limpert Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Gileston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Barns

Property: Farmers Barns
Address: Beach Road, Llantwit Major CF61 1PZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Llantwit Major
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five individual cottages refurbished to exacting standards in 2010 accommodating 2-6 people. Discounts for large groups. A Welsh speaking working farm situated on the mystical Glamorgan Heritage coast. Eco friendly renovation with biomass boiler, contemporary bespoke oak kitchens, doors and windows. Heated slate floors, lime wash finishes. Hand crafted beds, deep filled duvets and antique Welsh blankets. Five minutes to beach/town/restaurants. Ten minutes to airport and golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farmers Barns Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing