We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wedding day - Spoilt!”
Review of Farmers Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llantwit Major
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farmers Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Wedding day - Spoilt!”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I am so disappointed. My parents booked a cottage here back in January to stay in September, and they relayed that service was pleasant and helpful. I was quite keen to get other guests to stay in the other available cottages as invitations were RSVP'd as it sounded so nice.

Fast forward to March, and the booking was cancelled by Farmers Barns as they had received a more lucrative offer of a wedding reception needing all their rooms! My parents are extremely disappointed and this below standard service has knocked back my plans for accommodation. Do not expect any booking you make to be concrete - even if you offer a deposit! You have lost out on a large booking and regular fixture, Farmers Barns!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber16ratm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Booked cottage mid February for a 3 night stay in September when our daughter is to be married in the locality. Today a 'phone call to tell us that a larger wedding party wants to book the cottages and our booking is going to be ignored. Left with a very unpleasant taste in my mouth and a very low opinion of people running this business.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siansdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Northamptonshire
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful New Year break at Farmers Barns in South Glamorgan. The perfect base for cliff top walks and deserted beaches. We travelled as two families with four young children (from 4 to 9yrs) and squeezed ourselves into a newly converted 3-double bedroom barn on a working farm. The owner, Gaynor, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful; even giving us a Chinese lantern for the children to light at midnight on New Year's Eve and accommodating 2 extra children on put-up beds. Dogs are allowed and our labrador loved the underfloor heating!

This is the ideal walking area and dogs are allowed on the beaches from September to March. A great 2 hr gentle walk from Southerndown Beach along the cliff tops to Ogmore Beach, then round to the Pelican Pub for a lovely New Year's Day lunch - dogs are welcome in one side of the bar but it's recommended that you book first to guarantee a table - huge helpings but perfect after a long walk there (and back if you're feeling energetic). Also a must on the other side of Ogmore estuary are Wales largest natural sand dunes - a great place to explore and totally unexpected.

The barn itself has been beautifullyconverted with lovely full height windows on the lounge/dining area looking out onto a small walled garden. There was enough seating to accommodate all 8 of us around a table, as well as two generous sofas. There are a couple of other smaller barns available too but we were very comfortable in ours - although 8 using just one bathroom was a little hectic at times, especially with young children! Remember this is a working farm and there are often countryside smells - but if you're prepared for this, it's all part of the charm!

An open fire or wood burning stove would have made it the perfect stay but even without that we couldn't have asked for a nicer way to welcome in 2011. Gaynor and her family have onlylbeen running the barns since July 2010 but they are doing a great job and we will certainly be back and will recommend the barns to our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claytons54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed here for four wonderful nights and can't fault the accommodation or the friendly Welsh welcome. We were aiming for a quiet, peaceful break, great surroundings with nice countryside walks and a beach and thats exactly what we got!
The Barns are fabulous and have been renovated to a very high standard. They are warm and cosy and fantastic value for money. The surrounding countryside offers some lovely walks and many trails to follow. A walk to the headland with a great view of the Bristol Channel is only 5 minutes from the Barns and the town of Llantwit Major itself is around a 15 minute walk in the other direction (to the nearest pub and shops). There are some lovely Villages and beaches within a very short, pleasant drive and we even visited the oldest pottery in Wales - Ewenny Pottery - we had seen some of this pottery in the accommodation and took a worthwhile trip to visit and shop!
We had a really chilled, relaxed short break and wished it could have been longer. Gaynor and her husband have done a great job here and its an authentic family run affair that we are looking forward to returning to.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishi2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
0.8 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
133 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
4.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
27 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheepleys
Sheepleys
#3 of 8 in Cowbridge
58 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#2 of 3 in Cowbridge
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Barns

Property: Farmers Barns
Address: Beach Road, Llantwit Major CF61 1PZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Llantwit Major
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five individual cottages refurbished to exacting standards in 2010 accommodating 2-6 people. Discounts for large groups. A Welsh speaking working farm situated on the mystical Glamorgan Heritage coast. Eco friendly renovation with biomass boiler, contemporary bespoke oak kitchens, doors and windows. Heated slate floors, lime wash finishes. Hand crafted beds, deep filled duvets and antique Welsh blankets. Five minutes to beach/town/restaurants. Ten minutes to airport and golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farmers Barns Llantwit Major, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing