We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special hotel”
Review of Hotel Tugu Blitar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Blitar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blitar
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had previously been in the Hotel Tugu Malang so when we arrived I was a little disappointed but this hotel, after a couple of nights we loved! It is quiet without the buzz of Tugu Malang but full of history. We had a room in the main building which was full of character with an partly outside bathroom. We felt that we were stepping back in time in this hotel. The staff were so so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel was ok but the most special night was when we had a dinner in the grounds of Panataran temple. This was an incredible experience, not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hillyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 173 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel Tugu Blitar is a bit of a poor cousin to the Hotel Tugu Malang. But WHAT a poor cousin it is! One of the best hotels for the price I have ever stayed in! Historic building. Exceptional art - sculptures, paintings, design, carvings. GREAT food and service. Yes, it's a bit run down. But so what. Look at the prices! Look at the rooms! Look at the location. This is the place to stay in Blitar.

BTW, the eruption earlier in the year closed the viewing tunnel through the crater of Mt. Kelud. So our visit to it was a dud. Great temple on the way, though.

Room Tip: Stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room is clean, has ethnic feel which is amazing, and the decoration is very conceptual.
This is the best hotel in Blitar, with quick service and also friendly staff there.
Better if you stay more than a night to feel more about the hotel atmosphere which is unique and peace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have visited this hotel three times in the past ten years and never been disappointed. It has managed to preserve its 1950s ambience without getting shabby or neglected. Try to catch the gamelan concert at the weekend. Musicians very natural, no ethnic outfits, some wear baseball caps! Also take afternoon tidbits in the little hideaway opposite the gamelan alcove. Superb selection of photographs of Bung Karno (Indonesia's first president).

Public rooms are not air-conditioned, but mosquitoes are few.

Unique entrance arcade, consisting of hanging roots, I think, and they very effectively isolate the lobby from the nearby street.

Room Tip: The main bedrooms, about 10 of them, are the piece de resistance. Be sure not to settle for other ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScreenName60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This beautiful historic hotel is a Tugu gem. Don't miss the Lost Temple Dinner. You dine (7-course meal) in an ancient temple under the stars. The service was impeccable, the wine choice superb and the experience was unforgettable. We had a lone flute player adding to the mystic and atmosphere of this most enchanting evening. The friendliness of the staff and the way the Tugu understand service really defines the hotel. If you love art and romance - this is the place for you. A "must stay" when travelling to East Java. Be sure to check out the Sukarno museum and his private residence too. Both are worth 1-2 hrs visit. See the beautifully preserved temples and take your time. I love Blitar. So glad I took the road less travelled and extended my Malang stay.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've stayed in Tugu hotel with family for vacation in Blitar, actually I read few reviews before i decide to stay in this hotel, and I thought it's very interesting to stay in a hotel which has history with Sukarno.
My family's first impression about the hotel was a bit spooky, but later on we found the hotel was very comfortable, ethnic with many art tastes (blend of china, Bali and java arts), and the staff were very kind, friendly and helpful, plus my sister and I really love their slipper, because they use bakiak (traditional sandal in java) instead of regular slipper.
And i also enjoyed the mini tour inside the President suite which in the past Sukarno often stayed in this room whenever he was visiting Blitar (based on what i remember from the tour explanation). And overall, we were impressed with the hospitality of the staff and we also thought that the foods are tasty in a modest way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_u1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early April and really loved the ambiance, the staff, and the attached restaurant. The hotel was not busy at this time and we found the staff very attentive and helpful. We loved its closeness to the train station, and to the Town Square, both very short distances. We also rented a scooter to visit the sites in the surrounding areas.
The deluxe room was spacious, the bathroom was great with lots of hot water, and the complimentary afternoon tea with sweets was awesome. Definitely the best place to stay in Blitar.
Although it is an older building, and showing its age, it's character and charm more than make up for it. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired4good_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blitar
0.6 mi away
Patria Plaza Hotel
Patria Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in Blitar
31 reviews
17.7 mi away
Crown Victoria Hotel
Crown Victoria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tulungagung
103 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grand Surya Hotel Kediri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Bukit Daun Hotel
Bukit Daun Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kediri
79 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kediri
90 reviews
21.8 mi away
Citihub Hotel @ Kediri
Citihub Hotel @ Kediri
#6 of 11 in Kediri
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Blitar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Blitar

Address: Jln. Merdeka 173, Blitar 66111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Blitar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blitar
Price Range: $26 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tugu Blitar 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tugu Blitar, unprecedentedly the best hotel and restaurant in Blitar, East Java, is housed in a colonial building that was built in the 1850s, and was previously owned by a distinguished family of Blitar. After the second World War, the hotel was called Hotel Centrum; many years after the name was changed to Hotel Sri Lestari – and later become Tugu - Sri Lestari. Being the oldest hotel in Indonesia, the hotel building appears as a beautiful East Javanese mansion from the Dutch colonial times, with giant white-washed pillars, furniture from the late 19th century and the early 20th century, nostalgic photographs and elegant chandeliers. The building was carefully renovated to its every detail in the beginning of this century, to preserve its artistic, charismatic, and historical characters but blending them with modern luxuries. To discover the real, unspoiled East Java means a visit to the town and surroundings of Blitar. Blitar is where most of the remains of Majapahit Kingdom still stand timeless, including the largest and most beautiful Hindu temple complex in East Java, Candi Penataran. This nostalgic town portrays the untouched, exotic Java, surrounded by some beautiful, unspoilt beaches, tropical landscape, beautiful rice fields and countryside sceneries. It also has a romantic flair of the early days of Indonesia; in fact Blitar is where Soekarno, Indonesia’s first president who proclaimed the independence of this country, was born and buried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tugu Blitar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing