We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 STAR HOTEL HIDDEN BEHIND A 3 STAR SIGN”
Review of Occidental Ibiza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Ibiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

FIRSTLY THIS IS MORE A FAMILY/OLDER HOTEL THAN A CLUBBERS ROWDY HOTEL. IT IS AN EXPENSIVE TAXI RIDE TO SAN ANTONIO.
This is our second visit to the Hotel and I would state that although it is officially a 3 star hotel it has 4 star standards, the manager Gabriel and Andreas are on hand throughout the day and are constantly walking around the hotel ensuring everything is running smoothly.
Our room (920) had fantastic reviews and we really felt welcomed back to the Hotel and will plan to visit again, the rooms are cleaned every day and the towels are changed every day.
The food is very good and the Managers eat in the same restaurant to ensure all is ok, if you go in a busy period it is worth checking to see when the restaurant is the busiest/quietest, I would state we felt that the breakfast was a little spoilt by the slow cooking of the eggs and bacon as it seemed as if the cook seemed to be playing catch up so as soon as 20 eggs were put out they were gone.
The bar was quite busy at night and during busy periods they turn on the wine and bier pumps (although this is hit or miss)
There are three pools and the best is to the rear of the hotel for families as it’s next to the kids club, the kids club has a well organised daily plan of which can be copied and obtained by reception.
Snacks do run which serve chips, hot dogs, burgers, toasted sandwiches although it is no always kept stocked and does not seem to be a priority, but remember this is 3 stars and you have paid 3 star prices.
Whilst we were at the Hotel a group of Scots turned up and were rowdy and acting as the hotel was a 18-30 they were asked to leave within 3 hours of their arrival by the management as the Hotle wants a friendly, safe, family hotel.
In all a hire car is worth getting AVOID BKCARS THEY DO NOT REFUND YOUR EXCESS OF 600 EURO we are currently having to go through a charge back
Say high to Jose in the bar area, Loli in the restaurant and Pablo on reception, also Maggie of whom runs the kids club.
GOOD CHOICE OF HOTEL ENJOY.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copperpot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely quiet area of Ibiza. Nothing to look at from the outside and the rooms are quite basic, although if you are on holiday you would probably bring everything you need with you. I was on a business trip so always appreciate the shower gels and shampoo's.
But this hotel does have a lovely atmosphere, probably thanks to the staff who are very pleasant and helpful. I asked for a change of room because my balcony was always in the shade. It was changed very quickly and with a smile.
The food was average, not a great deal of choice but adequate.
Several restaurants nearby if you fancy a change from hotel food.
There is a small bay and beach about 2-3 minutes walk away.
i would definately recommend this hotel for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Away from the pool if you want a quiet room. Smome rooms are always in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for 7 days with 10 other people who's ages ranged from 11 to 44. All the hotel staff where warm and friendly, and the choice of food and drink was excellent. The only 1 thing that let this hotel down was the entertainment. Only one word can describe it, SHOCKING. This is an ideal hotel for young families, but if you like a bit more fun when on holiday avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

myself and kim stayed here last week of may 2013 and we both really enjoyed our stay the hotel its grounds and room was kept clean with maids every day, all the staff was very helpful and friendly
the food was off a high standard with plenty of choice and not just English food,with wine and beer and soft drinks on tap and the bar opened fro 10.00 to 2300
can not really rate the entertainment as we was not there to watch it
the rooms was quite small but did have a fan and air con
but would be nice to have a kettle to make a brew and the only English channel on the tv was sky world news
lovely little beach 5 mins down the road that was not to busy so plently of room with shallow water for the kids and it had a life guard
couple of little gift shops and a spar outside the hotel
I would recommend this hotel to any body who wanted a nice quite hotel and its perfect if you have kids it was far better then we expected

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyboy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights for our honey moon, all i can say is dont read any bad reviews as this place is fine, yes its a walk if you want busy, but if you want busy, book somewhere in the busy part.
food very good much better than my 3 stays in Egypt, very very clean, we will go back and take the kids, just trust me its great for the price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siadaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked this as a last minute May half term break for myself and my 12 year old
What a find. Went HB, rooms small but perfectly clean and all within a minutes walk of all facilities.
Had 4 meals in the hotel, different food every evening, large fresh selection, salads, hot meats, freshly cooked fishes, pasta and large selection of fruit and deserts. Nothing that a fussy 12 year old turned his nose up at and I was more than happy.
Maintenance team constantly tidying, fixing any minor issues, spotless location, staff friendly and helpful.
Lazed by the pool for the stay, water cool, but refreshing and staff constantly engaging in activities, archery, darts, water polo
Tennis court, mini golf, volleyball, table tennis all available with pool and video games too.

Yes, a little way from the action, beach a 5 minute walk with a number of restaurants and shops on the way.

Can't think of a single complaint about the hotel, staff or food. Would recommend to anyone wanting to escape for a few days

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just got back from ibiza went with 6 granddaughters age range 4 to 10 wjo loved it here the entertainment was good for all ages especially for kids. The staff were friendly and helpful the animation team work tirelessly to keep you happy. The kids club is fun for under fives. The rooms are small and dated but thats a minor gripe. The granddaughters were sad to leave and want to ho back next year which we will do. Well done and thanks to everyone at the barcelo pueblo x

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnhamLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
1.3 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
603 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,499 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
14.8 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
964 reviews
16.2 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Ibiza

Address: Calle Valencia, 23-27, 07829, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Price Range: $128 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza*** is situated in an exclusive area, in the best location on the island for admiring the sunset. Perfectly situated, the hotel is just 300 m from the beautiful D'es Torrent beach and 10 minutes from other beaches such as Compte, Cala Tarida and Cala Bassa, considered by some, as the best beaches and coves on Ibiza. The Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza hotel combines top quality and price so you can soak up the atmosphere and scenery of this magical island. All types of visitors choose it as their destination; this is a world-wide attraction just as much for its waters as for its lively atmosphere. During the day, enjoy bathing in the open sea or relax in the hotel's swimming pools. In the evening, you can enjoy dusk and the sunset from the hotel chill-out area. Welcome to the island where everything is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza Hotel Sant Josep
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Ibiza
Pueblo Ibiza Barcelo
Occidental Ibiza Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing