We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable holiday !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Occidental Ibiza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Ibiza
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable holiday !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We've just stayed one week all-inclusive here & I've got to say a big 'THANKYOU' to every employee at Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everyone was happy & willing to serve.
The rooms are typical holiday accomodation, nothing special but certainly not shabby & far from small as some reviews say !
The amenities & facilities are good and varied - 4 pools including 1 for the little ones & 2 outdoor dip pools with jacuzzi type facilities (2 euros for 15 mins). Theres a tennis court with football & basketball nets, a sandy beach volleyball area, a small kids playground & minigolf to mention just to give an idea of what's on offer.
At meal times, breakfast, lunch & dinner there's a good variety of hot & cold dishes which we found to be tasty & fresh each & every time, but the snack menu could be better ! It was very basic - burgers, hotdogs, toasties & chips. It's more of an observation than a complaint because with 3 meals a day we rarely felt the need to snack.
Overall we had an excellent holiday experience & we will definately be looking at other Barcelo hotels next time around !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    586
    272
    76
    45
See reviews for
607
590
34
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive at this hotel. We had a lovely time and it was a very average, get what you pay for, three star hotel, definitely not a four star as some of the reviews suggest. It is clean and towels are changed daily but the rooms are small and basic with twin beds rather than a double or king. The location was perfect for us, in a quiet area with a few restaurants and bars surrounding it and a 10 minute drive to San Antonio. There are also some amazing beaches very close. The food was suprisingly good in this hotel, there were different choices of fresh fish and meat every day and a large salad bar. The all inclusive bar also shuts at 11pm and you have to pay for drinks after this point.

One thing that I am suprised hasn't been mentioned in any earlier reviews is that they do not supply pool towels at the hotel. This was the first hotel I have ever visited that did not and we were not aware of this before the visit so had to go out and buy some, so make sure you pack yours!

All in all if you are looking for a cheap and basic 3 star with very helpful staff then this hotel makes an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary, we were nervous about going to ibiza but we needn't of worried. Barcelo Pueblo was the perfect hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly and made our stay one to be remembered. Beautiful location near a fantastic little bay, with a very useful hourly ferry to San Antonio as well as even more frequent buses to get round the island. We would love to go again!

Room Tip: Pool side would be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We've just returned from a week's all inclusive and had a great time. We stayed in a family room and although a bit small it was fine, very clean and not noisy at all. Maybe it depends where your room is, we stayed in the first block in a corner room. This is a Barcelo Comfort hotel, so is a 3 star not a 4 star but a great 3 star hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily and there were fresh towels every day.
The food was great, fresh fish and cooked meats every day, lots of delicious salads and puddings. They do cater for more of a European palate I would say but we and our 2 boys had no problem with the food. I imagine if you are after chicken nuggets and chips every night you will be disappointed!
The staff were very friendly and we had no problems queuing at the bar or with ordering more than one drink. They all work very hard there including the animation team who do a great job. A great Club Dance was danced a few times a day and got everyone in the holiday mood. The entertainment wasn't the best we've seen but it was OK and didn't spoil the holiday.
The pool areas are nice and it was refreshing not to have to put our towels out to reserve the sun loungers, there were always plenty free.
There's more French, German and Dutch people here than Brits and I would say mostly older people than families.
The local area is very quiet, which as a family, is what we wanted. A nice beach down the road and from there you can get a ferry to San Antonio or other beach areas. We went to Cala Bassa which was lovely with soft sand and turquoise shallow sea.
Weather was great and I would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with great food and at a great price. We paid £1200 for 1 week's all inclusive for 4 people with On the Beach. Can't quite believe the review below, this hotel is not the pits!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza. We were nervous about all inclusive and nervous about Ibiza....both proved unfounded.
Rooms, perfectly adequate, immaculate, plenty of hot water at every time of the day. Very quiet at night.
Staff friendly, helpful and efficient.
A lovely mix of Europeans, all ages and very well behaved children. No big groups of stag or hens.
Food, plenty of it whatever time we went to eat. Wonderfully efficient and pleasant staff with boundless energy cleaning and tidying up. As two vegetarians we ate perfectly well.
The swimming pools were immaculate, a huge number of sun beds (no one felt the need to reserve at 6am!).
Bus stop at the bottom of the road.
Lovely beach 5 minutes walk plus others about an hour around the coast (persevere and you will find your way around the coast, just keep the sea on the right or left!).
Linda and Jerry

Room Tip: Not sure it matters greatly, we did not have a good view but spent so little time in the room that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I find it hard to believe all these reviews as being legitimate. During our two hours there for a planned 10 night stay at least one other party complained about the disgusting rundown condition of this armpit of a hotel.

To start, the rooms are the size of tiny studios, if that. The bed and furnishings were scratched, rundown and the tiny beds had dirty mattresses that smelled like cigarettes. The construction of the walls were so thin that we could hear conversations in the adjoining rooms. The recreation areas were rundown as well.

We demanded a refund for our stay and was out of there in two hours. While we were making
alternate arrangements, I overheard a British family complaining saying, "I planned this vacation for six months with my family and was told that the rooms were nice. I booked two rooms and they are tiny and very bad....". My husband and I were out of there long before we heard the resolution of the Brits problem, but unfortunately for them, it sounded like they were staying and were going to be switched to a different room.

Don't be fooled by the good reviews. This place is the pits.

And not only that but this side of the Island is far away from any of the more interesting areas the island offers. We ended up at the Sol S'Argamassa and LOVED it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P0rcelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashton under lyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Me and my wife have just returned from a weeks stay from 28/05/2012 until 04 /06/2012,and we are both in our early 60,s this hotel is excellent value for the money that we paid,staff very friendly and the food very good plenty of variety,quiet and not plagued by hen and stag yobs rooms well kept the only complaint was that the bed was hard good tip you can catch the small ferry boat from the beach into San Antonia only a short walk from the hotel and only 3 euros ask at the hotel for boat times.
Keith and Maria Ashton under lyne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keith6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
16.2 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Club Cala Tarida
Hotel Club Cala Tarida
#1 of 4 in Cala Tarida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Ibiza

Property: Occidental Ibiza
Address: Calle Valencia, 23-27, 07829, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza*** is situated in an exclusive area, in the best location on the island for admiring the sunset. Perfectly situated, the hotel is just 300 m from the beautiful D'es Torrent beach and 10 minutes from other beaches such as Compte, Cala Tarida and Cala Bassa, considered by some, as the best beaches and coves on Ibiza. The Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza hotel combines top quality and price so you can soak up the atmosphere and scenery of this magical island. All types of visitors choose it as their destination; this is a world-wide attraction just as much for its waters as for its lively atmosphere. During the day, enjoy bathing in the open sea or relax in the hotel's swimming pools. In the evening, you can enjoy dusk and the sunset from the hotel chill-out area. Welcome to the island where everything is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza Hotel Sant Josep
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Ibiza
Pueblo Ibiza Barcelo
Occidental Ibiza Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing