We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking again and bringing our bezzies :D”
Review of Occidental Ibiza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Ibiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was our third trip to Ibiza but first stay in the Barcelo Pueblo. I travelled with my partner and son (ages 39, 41 and 11). We arrived at 7.15pm and were greeted by a friendly young man on reception who immediately welcomed us and asked if we’d had a good flight. Check in was efficient and our room was in block 5 on the ground floor. The room was spotless and spacious and the bathroom was too with nice white towels and a full bottle of shower and hair gel (although we didn’t use it). The air conditioning was fully controllable 24 hours and we had a fan, although that was a little noisy to have on in the night. The guests were very diverse with varying nationalities and ages (couples, families, and young people) but it was a friendly and lively atmosphere. The entertainment team were excellent and there was always at least one activity going on during the day either in or out of the pool and these included kids and adults and sometimes the staff too! There are three pools which are all very clean and warm. The main pool and pool near the snack bar and sports area had very comfortable sun loungers whereas the lower pool had standard plastic ones. There were plenty for everyone and yes people put towels out early morning but that’s what goes on in these places! The hotel did not enforce any restrictions around this. The food was plentiful, nice and varied. My only criticism around the food is that it wasn’t always very hot. Drinks were served in plastic cups during the day and in glasses at night and there was always a waitress walking around collecting the empties and tidying up. The drinks themselves were also good, I’m a Baileys lover and their brand was awesome (the measures were generous too!) and the beer for men was good old San Miguel. The entertainment was outside at night but there weren’t enough tables and chairs to accommodate everyone and so quite a few people sat around the main pool on loungers. The bar staff were friendly and the queue for drinks was never more than four or five people, there were always at least two serving. The hotel grounds were well kept and again very clean and tidy. The evening entertainment was fairly standard, some guest participation and some professional acts. Whatever it was, there was always a large audience. The all inclusive finishes at 11pm which seems early as other places we’ve stayed it’s been midnight. However, we found that the early finish got us to bed earlier and up earlier so we had longer days without being so tired! There are a few shops, bars and restaurants just outside of the hotel and the beach is a very short walk down the road. The beach is nice and so is the sea, there are a few reeds on the sea bed which put me off but it was very calm and safe for children. We spent a lot of the time wishing our friends were with us and are already looking to book with them for next year.

Room Tip: Block 5 or any block along the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KITTNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 2,142 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Barcelo for a week as all inclusive.Overall we were very pleased with the hotel; the rooms were clean, hotel was very well organised,food was varied and always something to eat even for fussy eaters!We stayed on the ground floor which was rather noisy but we put up with it as the hotel was very busy. We had to ask when to check out as the reception staff were not very helpful;this resulted in us not having our room on our last day.We had to use the hotel facilities which was rather annoying!!Don't expect for them to arrange you a taxi into San Antonio they just told us to walk along the street and get one, after half an hour we gave up and got the hourly ran bus which meant we missed the sunset!!Bar next door was really nice and relaxing away from the hotel entertainment! Please note that this hotel is very French and Spanish orientated which was rather annoying! I would go back here again as it was great value for money and was within a good distance to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My partner and I have visited Ibiza many times-being in our late twenties, we still love our nights in Pacha night club and Ibiza itself is a beautiful scenic Island.. We normally stay at Port De Torrent as it a fantastic resort for people who want to be close to San Antonio (the ultimate clubbers haven) but not in it 24/7. This year we opted to stay at the Barcelo Pueblo which is a 40 minute walk/15 minute bus ride/5 minute taxi ride from San Antonio. This is perfect for us-not too far away from the night clubs. If you want to be in San Antonio 24/7 then i would strongly advice you to stay in San An as you may get tired of paying 10 to 12 Euros every night to get a tai back to the Barcelo! The hotel for us was very adequate and just what we expected from a Barcelo hotel. It was extremely spotless and very tidy. The staff on reception and the maids were very friendly and always welcomed you with a lovely Ola! The morning male receptionist was particularly welcoming and helpful! The rooms are very basic although as previously stated very spotless and furnished to an acceptable standard. The first room we were put in was not very pleasing as our balcony was onlooking another balcony and there was very little spce between them. I believe there are only a handful of rooms that onlook such a near balcony. They were definately the worst rooms of th hotel. I asked the receptionist if i could move to a better room and within a day a half we got moved to a fantastic room which overlooked the sea and it was bigger then the last room. It was 100% better! Was was clear in this hotel was that they ran a very organised and brilliant restaurant. The food is the best ive tasted in an all inclusive hotel before!! The variety of food was also fantastic-lots of yummy seafood, meats and pasta dishes. The pool facilities and entertainment were also very good. The beach is only 4/5 minutes away and is honestly gorgeous! We loved it last year and even more so this year. The little cafe on the bach is serves excellent food and the waitress is nice and friendly! The 5 Euro breakfast is brilliant-good quality of food. This hotel is very much worthy of its 3 star rating. I would give the food 10/10!! Please remember though, this hotel is situated a little away from San Antonio. If your wanting peace and quiet during the day but the option to head to San An at night i would definately go for this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are okay but a little noisy. Ask for a sea view and you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouiseT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed at the barcelo pueblo for 2 weeks and prior to arriving we were a little worried about some of the reviews. We travel quite a lot and have stayed in barcelo hotels before and loved them. I will agree with a previous reviewer that the rooms seem a little basic however, we were really comfortable as they were exceptionally clean and the air conditioning was good. The location of the hotel is a little further out than I expected, this wasn't a problem for us a we had a car but if you were walking it is a long long way into san antonio and the heat would make it impossible. There were a few bars and shops located close to the hotel and the lovely beach was very close. However that is the end of the negatives. The staff at the hotel were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and any requests were dealt with immediately. The food was just fab, lots of choice at every meal and really good quality food, king prawns, poached salmon, delicious paella being my favourites. There was always a range of cheeses and lovely salads and lots of meat dishes. The entertainment staff were excellent, lots of activities going on all the time if that is what you wanted. There are three pools, and we spent most of sunbathing days by the smaller pool behind the tennis courts. It was much quieter here and more spacious. As for the comments on the drinks, the hotel was full when we were there and yes they limit drinks to 2 per person which I thought was fine. There were queues at the bar at busy times, but we never waited more than a few minutes. I have been to ibiza before but my partner hadnt. We travelled all over to all the lovely beaches and resorts. if you have a car cala tarida is not to be missed, (its prob not more than around 10 euros in a taxi from the hotel tho) and the chillout bar on a nite is fab. The hippy marked at las dahlias is lovely too it is smaller than the es cana one and more atmospheric. They have a night marked on a monday which is open till the early hours with live music, a great experience. Overall we had a lovely time and would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvitere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wow what can I say. We were so pleased we'd chosen this hotel and the all inclusive was fab as no having to carry money around day and night. The food we were a bit worried about as my partner is a vegetarian and doesn't like eggs but he found loads to eat and I tried different food every day. The fruit and the puddings were superb especially their mousses yum yum. The rooms were basic but clean and welcoming. Every day clean towels and plenty of hot water. The entertainment was top notch and the entertainment team were superb. We hadn't got the kiids with us but they were all well behaved and kept busy day and night. The staaff were all friendly and nothing was a problem to them. Roll on next year!

Room Tip: We were in block 6 which is away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WarwickshireNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

First of all this is not a criticism. There was nothing wrong with this hotel - it was just not for us. We are not big fans of all inclusive, but couldn't seem to find anything in between "resort all inclusive" and "high end (over £250 a night) agroturismo"!!
We did take a chance here and having stayed at the Barcelo in Menorca we were quietly confident.
The room was fine - nothing special, but what we expected and you don't go to sit in the room! The balcony was fine for us as it was in the shade all day but i imagine other people would be very unhappy about this. It is a big hotel and your room will be the luck of the draw. We requested the top floor and got it (the 3rd floor) but the rooms in the blocks were really close together. You could almost reach out and touch the balcony across the way. There was no privacy at all - we had to keep the curtains closed all the time when dressing etc.
There was no room by the pools (there are 3) after 7.30am! Even though they have the usual notices about not leaving towels, people take no notice and the staff do nothing about it.
The noise level was horrendous - I am really glad our room didn't overlook the pool
We only had dinner once in the restaurant - there was nothing wrong with the quality of the food for mass catering - but we just didn't enjoy the atmosphere.
Breakfast was manageable and there was a great choice
The staff were all lovely, and full credit to the entertainment staff dealing with hundreds of hyperactive kids all day and night!
The beach is approx 5 minutes walk away - quite small but not crowded and there is a good pizza restaurant overlooking the bay where we spent a very pleasant evening surrounded by predominantly Spanish speakers.
If you are coming by hire car get clear directions - it is really difficult to find the hotel and we had to call them up twice before we eventually found it! There a few parking spaces outside the hotel but if they are taken you have to park on one of the side streets.
The Budan Bar is quite nice - it is part of the hotel but you have to pay for your drinks in there - consequently it was always quite empty - which was a shame - but it was peaceful and we enjoyed having drinks there away from the hullah balloo in the main hotel
All in all this was ok - it is not the hotels fault that it was not for us - you can't please all the people all the time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked this holiday after reading the reviews and most of them were good. Mixed reviews on the food, but we took a chance.

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of san antonio bay and at least an hours walk into the heart of san antonio bay. There was a few bars and restaurants outside the hotel, which were reasonable, as we found out!! The food was a big let down, we were all inclusive, we did take a chance as there were mixed reviews on food, but there was not alot of variety. I am fussy with food, but my partner is NOT and even he found it hard to find something he liked. We ate out 3 nights and were only there 1 week, so i can recommend the local resturants, very nice!

If you like to sit around the pool you need to be up before 8am to get a sun lounger, as they all get taken. The beach is really nice which is a 5min walk from the hotel.

Overall we had a good holiday, a few issues with food, but hotel nice and clean. We would not go back, as too far from the heart of things.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
1.3 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 8 in Port d'es Torrent
606 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,510 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#10 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
982 reviews
17 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
1.9 mi away
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
#5 of 96 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Ibiza

Address: Calle Valencia, 23-27, 07829, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Price Range: $135 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza*** is situated in an exclusive area, in the best location on the island for admiring the sunset. Perfectly situated, the hotel is just 300 m from the beautiful D'es Torrent beach and 10 minutes from other beaches such as Compte, Cala Tarida and Cala Bassa, considered by some, as the best beaches and coves on Ibiza. The Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza hotel combines top quality and price so you can soak up the atmosphere and scenery of this magical island. All types of visitors choose it as their destination; this is a world-wide attraction just as much for its waters as for its lively atmosphere. During the day, enjoy bathing in the open sea or relax in the hotel's swimming pools. In the evening, you can enjoy dusk and the sunset from the hotel chill-out area. Welcome to the island where everything is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Ibiza Hotel Sant Josep
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Ibiza
Pueblo Ibiza Barcelo
Occidental Ibiza Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing