We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Views - Can't say the same about the food”
Review of S'Illa des Bosc

S'Illa des Bosc
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Views - Can't say the same about the food”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Spending the day on the small beaches we decided to treat ourselves to dinner at this restaurant while watching the sunset over the little islands just off Ibiza. Staff weren't very welcoming and failed to help with our question on the different dishes on their menu. I therefore opted for the fillet steak which wasnt worth the money we paid for it. thoroughly disappointed considering how much the meal costs us. certainly paying for the view and not the service nor food quality.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17ClaireBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    166
    36
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning setting”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a magnificent setting looking west from the north west point of Ibiza; it may be close to St Antoni (party central), nothing is that far away from anything else on Ibiza, but it's a million miles away in terms of remoteness, romanticism and the sheer beauty of the sunsets going down over the smaller isles.
Food is nothing too special, more "ok", so you're paying for the setting, but you won't be disappointed.
There are only two other buildings close by, both restaurants, one had a constant beat of something execrable that passes for music these days, the other was only serving drinks because of on-going work - this one is due to open in a couple of weeks.
You will go back though - with a thin sweater for evenings in early May.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat on earth...”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The first meal out "proper" in Ibiza was a stunning evening with the most amazing views I have ever seen whilst eating very very lovely food.

We arrived in a dusty car park and walked through a typical bar to find the ramp down and then back up again to the stunning setting that is S'llla des Bosc. And when I say stunning I mean take your breath away beautiful!

We were one of the first groups to be seated, half the part in the sun half in the shade, exactly as we had asked. Lovely staff, we tried hard to speak the language, much to the encouragement of the staff but we always reverted back to English to ensure that everyone understood what we were ordering.

On a staff recommendation the Sea Bass baked in sea salt was ordered, a meal for two. It was so well presented, the drama of cutting open the fish at the table was exquisite and the general feeling that this was something special was maintained throughout. A faultless "performance"!

The sun now setting into the sea the wine flowing the clap and cheer as the sun made its final dip into the ocean was a piece of drama to behold.

More wine flowed, a lovely red maintained at perfect temperature despite the heat, other members of the party had salads, the warm Scallop salad in particular got a big grin, lovely cooling deserts were offered and more wine.

By the time we went home it was quite dark, makes the trip across the beach and car park difficult but we were so full of the joys of this meal that it did not matter.

Please, anyone, go here, it’s quite amazing!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beautiful location=shame about the food!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The setting of this restaurant is wonderful-right on the edge of the beach overlooking the sea and sunet. Service was good, the pre-dinner sangria was great but oh the food was so disappointing. The half starter portions were massive e.g. the vegetable tempura could have fed 2-3 people-which if you are really, really hungry might be OK but we were all overfaced. They were much more of a sharing plate than an indivudal starter. It would be useful for this to be clear on the menu. The suckiling pig was pretty tasteless and I had to send my paella back-it was inedible-too salty to eat , rice not properly cooked and decidely substandard. What a shame because this could have been such a lovely place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience ever”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This restaurant is the just amazing and I can't believe it only has 4 reviews(maybe cause the name is difficult in English)
We got of the boat from San An and its the second restaurant before the beach at Calla Conta.
Went here 3 times during our 1 week stay. First time was a busy Sunday afternoon and we hadn't booked(which is advisable) but we got a table.
The bread with olives and garlic mayo is well worth getting, so is the house white.
Between myself and my brother we had over the three visits Steak, cod, red tuna, lamb and every dish was just as good as the last.
The staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
The setting on it's own is amazing with views of the sea and islands.
On the last day we decided not to get the ferry back but stayed in the restaurant for 2 hours just sipping the most delightful sangria and eating slowly just taking in the view and watching life go by. We then went to watch the most amazing sunset down on the beach and back to the restaurant where they kindly ordered a taxi home for us.
For the setting and the food you get this is not an overly priced restaurant.
give them your business it's well with it.
I just hope I get to go back to Ibiza in September

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joemDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S'Illa des Bosc also viewed

Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza
 
Cala Comte, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza
 
Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza
Sant Josep de Sa Talaia, Ibiza
 

Been to S'Illa des Bosc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing