We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Son Julia Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Son Julia Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llucmajor
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thank you to Son Julia Hotel for making my daughter Lauren and her husband Chris' wedding the most amazing event. The hotel is incredibly beautiful, the staff were outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional and special thanks to Laura Race who handled all our wedding wishes, and thanks also to Maria, our lovely waitress who each morning greeted us with a smile and joke.

Thank you to Borja, you manage the hotel fantastically and your team are excellent.

We will never forget Son Julia!

Judy Clarke

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales95, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Son Julia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Judy, Graham, Lauren & Chris & all the family,

We are delighted that the wedding went so well and that above all you, your family & friends enjoyed yourselves over those days! All the departments are very happy to receive this praise from you.
We all send our best wishes to you and the newly weds! We hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Son Julia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    51
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
145
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a first class established set in a stunning country house with grand rooms and friendly hard working staff - watched over by Borjas the ever-present Director - who are genuinely there to please and ensure sure your time there is enjoyable.
We cannot recommend the Tempura Chicken enough. We had it both days for lunch and it is truly one of the best dishes we'd ever eaten!
It's not easy trying to find fault with hotel Son Julia, there are ample more scenic locations in Mallorca and as it was August the temperature was sweltering. Would we recommend this hotel, absolutely!

Room Tip: This is one hotel you don't really need to worry as we were led to believe they are all good, la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Im in my twenties, so spending a vacation in a 'country house hotel' was an absolute novelty, and I'm so glad to have made that decision. The five nights I spend in son Julia this August were incredible. The hotel had everything I could wish for in a relaxing holiday. The beds were super comfortable so me and my boyfriend could catch up desperately needed sleep. Sport were easily accessible with the tennis pitches in the hotel and the manager taking us out on beautiful bike riders through the country. Then some cocktails by the pool and finish the day off with the delicious food served at the outdoors restaurant. I can really recommend the buffet BBQ, especially the tuna!!! All in all a perfect getaway from the hectic life in London. We are defenetly coming back next year, hopefully for a little longer.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a balcony, spacious and very comfortable beds!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlota M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales95, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Son Julia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Carlota,

Thank you for your lovely review of Son Julia. We are happy to have been able to provide a haven for you both to relax and recuperate! We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

The Son Julia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stay in many 5* properties and this property has been symathetically restored with lots of space between you and other guests which we do like when we are paying 5* prices.
The bedrooms are large and well airconditioned, the gardens are tropical and lush, the pool is spacious, the breakfast is excellent.
They had some lovely staff when we stayed there, especially Beatrice on reception, the turn down lady, and the pool waitress/es (the blond lady who we also met 2 years ago, sorry I don't know names!) although sometimes perhaps I misunderstood the German personality as at times I felt a couple of the team were a little "abrupt".
It's the sort of place we were so relaxed in, that our plans to go elsewhere fell out of the window for the week, except for one day trip out. We were very content to just recharge our batteries and while away the hours by the pool.
If you like peace and quiet with very few children around, (we don't have any and we don't really like places that are full of them) and you want 5* luxury, then you must stay here. It's also very easy to reach Palma and you should hire a car.
Thank you for having us and see you again next year.

Room Tip: Deluxe Double and no less!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitness1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales95, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Son Julia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review and praise for Son Julia. We strive to make all our guests feel at home and taken care of. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Your Son Julia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet getaway in Mallorca, then Son Julia is the place. It is a beautifully restored country manor house with spacious, elegant rooms (303 is fantastic!), beautiful gardens and pool. The restaurant is exceptional...breakfast is always great and dinner at the restaurant is fantastic. A great fixed menu plus one that changes daily. A must is the sashimi appetizer. They also have an incredible Spanish wine list.
This is my and my partner's second visit to the hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends. The staff is exceptional: warm, friendly and accommodating. We especially wanted to thank Mano, Andrea, Maria, Fernando and Lesya for taking great care of us. We also want to thank Borja Ochoa, the general manager, for his kindness and always making us feel like family. It's rare to find a small, luxury hotel where the staff truly takes the time to get to know you and truly cares about their guests. See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales95, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Son Julia Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Mr Carr,
We would like to thank you for your lovely review of Son Julia, we are very happy that you both enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
On behalf of all the team,

Son Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I left after a week with mixed feelings.

Certainly the finca itself is a great place to be in. Superbly renovated and put up to modern standards. The pool is very nice, the gardens are in good shape and well kept up. The rooms are big and the beds are great.

The breakfast is very good and largely enough. The meals in the restaurant are very fine, quickly served and high quality. The barbeque menu on Tuesdays is a must do.

But : you pay the price for perfection and you just don't get that

1) a room which is not cleaned when you arrive
2) a young student which needs to serve clients at the pool bar. A pool bar which is always largely understaffed and not offering enough variation in the snacks. The girl was doing her absolute best, but you can't make it all alone
3) no way to get a non German newspaper in the morning.
4) a gym with enough cardio sets, but a bit more variation would have been nice
5) a maitre d'hotel in the restaurant absolutely not worth the title. No idea about wines, no idea about working and serving
6) chickens running around at the pool coming from the neighbouring farms are nice the first time you see them, but when they start leaving poo over your towels the fun is quickly over
7) you only get 13 channels on your TV and 12 of them are German. This is simply unacceptable in the year 2012 in this range of hotels
8) i did not bring my laptop and had to check my mails on a computer that took 10 minutes to start up.

My conclusion : perfect surroundings, possibilty to reach perfection but management should start playing in first league instead of letting things go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geert76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Son Julia for 4 nights in July. To say we enjoyed it is an understatement. From the moment we drove in to the Finca we were lost for words.

The staff were extremely courteous and very helpful from booking restaurants to arranging a hairdressers appointment. The breakfasts were probably as good as we have had anywhere on our travels and after an early morning session in the gym they certainly satisfied our appetites. The dinner we had there on our first evening was also outstanding. Our room, with it's superb walk in shower and a whirlpool bath, was amazing and very tastefully decorated. The swimming pool provided a welcome retreat from the hot sun with its cabanas offering that bit of privacy so often missing in other pool areas.

The location of the Finca makes it an ideal spot for touring the island and for visiting Palma which is just a short drive away on the motorway.

We cannot recommend the Son Julia enough as it offers everything you will ever need for a relaxing break. We are definitely making a reservation for next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgware77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llucmajor
4.8 mi away
Hilton Sa Torre Mallorca
Hilton Sa Torre Mallorca
#1 of 10 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marriott's Club Son Antem
Marriott's Club Son Antem
#2 of 10 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
20.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
18.3 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
23.9 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Julia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Julia Country House Hotel

Property: Son Julia Country House Hotel
Address: Crta de S'arenal a Llucmajor S/N | Son Julia Cas Hereu, 07620, Llucmajor, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Llucmajor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llucmajor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llucmajor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Son Julia Country House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Son Julia boutique hotel is the perfect hideaway to escape from your daily routine. This 15th century mansion, located in the idyllic countryside of Mallorca, has an atmosphere of elegance and tranquility. With its beautiful 300 year old rambling garden, inviting terraces and patio, this boutique hotel offers many facilities for both individual guests and families alike.With only 25 spacious rooms and suites this is the perfect environment to either unwind or to power up with sporting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Son Julia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Llucmajor
Son Julia Country House Hotel Spain/Llucmajor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing