We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Son Sama Finca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Son Sama Finca
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have been to the restaurant at this location several times as we visit Mallorca every year. As the restaurant is excellent, we decided to finish our trip with a night in the accommodation. We stayed in a suite in the main finca rather than in the newly built units. We were aware that the decor was 'traditional Mallorcan' and it was certainly quaint. We had a very nice terrace overlooking the front courtyard, but there was no parasol, so we could only really use it in the evening. The pool is tiny - more of a plunge pool really, but salt not chlorine which is a nice change.
Positives: Terrace, plenty of space, lovely setting, restaurant (but not for breakfast!)
Negatives: Terrible beds (so lumpy!!); no remote for aircon, so it was unusable; bathroom was a disaster (cracked grubby tiles, stained grout, non-functioning bidet with a big crack in it, bath was black and not white like the rest of the suite and looked like it was a relic from the 1970's, showerhead squirted water everywhere except where it should,); NO toiletries, not even a bar of soap! plus we had half a roll of toilet paper and had to ask for more!; Dishes in kitchenette were grubby and there wasn't even any washing up liquid or a kettle (we have a baby, so that's why we chose the more expensive suite with a kitchen); electrical wiring was very dodgy - especially with a toddler poking around; breakfast was included, but was dreadful (shrink wrapped rolls and discount yoghurts - even the bananas were rotten).

It is clear that the owners have spent a lot of money building and fitting out the new units at Son Sama and I really wanted to like what they offered (we went to Finca Rural Es Truro in Ses Salines and loved it). It's just a shame that they haven't upgraded the rooms in main building. They are currently charging boutique hotel prices for a decidedly mediocre B&B experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main farmhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mummylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

All in all a good holiday.
The finca is set on a hill and therefore has a little colder temperatures, great for the hot summer in mallorca. There a two different parts of accommodation. Some appartments are near the restaurant, with an amazing view over the whole island (no noise from the restaurant as the parking and terrace are on the other side) , the other 3-4 appartments in the old house and near the old house, a little more downwards the hill, where the pool is.
It feels like you are staying on a farm, the owner is breeding horses for racing, ponys, chickens, dogs, fishes in the huge pond. Our kid was amazed by all the different animals and ran to feed the fishes every day.
Our appartment consisted of one sleeping room, a bath, small kitchen and living room and terrace. The kitchen was ok, it could have had more glasses, but overall ok. I didnt like that they didnt supply basic stuff like washing liquid, sppon, salt and pepper. Are they throwing it away every time somebody leaves?
We didnt get supplied with a baby chair, which is really not handy for a one-a half-year-old, he is used to eat by himself and couldnt because he had to sit on my lap. The owner Miguel said he couldnt give us the babychair from the restaurant. Afte some days with unsuccessful eating we asked the restaurant chef and he gave us one of the chairs. nice!

The only thing i really disliked were the beds:
You could feel the metal in your back. Horrible. please buy new matrasses and we come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconuts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The views from this Finca are breathtaking. It is a wonderfully quiet location, which surprised us since it is only a 20 minute drive, over an excellent highway, from the island's main airport (adjacent to the capital Palma). Renting a car at the airport is a must to get there and to get around.

The finca itself is wonderful and clean. Beds are made, and towels are changed, daily. A supermarket was a 4 minute drive away in the charming village of Llucmajor - useful, since we had to make our own breakfast. The kitchen was basic, but clean. The apartments are air-conditioned, which is a necessity in early August.

We'll definitely be back here, and would certainly recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dialstatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We just came back from our holiday on Mallorca. We booked a week at finca Son Sama, located just 4 km from Llucmajor. If you love quite and nature - it is a place for you. The apartments or rooms are clean and beautiful. The owners are great and helpful... and love animals. In fact there are chickens, dogs, ducks, frogs and horses everywhere on the 20 ht property :) and it is trully wonderful.
The finch is known also because of very good restaurant that serves elegant food with a traditional twist. Not cheep but worth to try it. ( dinner with drinks for 2 p will cost you 100 euro) especially when you do not feel like driving to the village to get food.
Finca is located on the way from Llucmajor to Porreres. Own transport is a must.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Last weekend I went to Finca Son Sama, a lovely and well cared Finca Hotel located on top of a Hill from which is possible to contemplate the Sea and Cabrera Island on the higher point. My wife and I had a superb dinner on the terrace. We took a degustation menu at only around 32 euros and tried the House Wine which was excellent. The terrace was complet as sign of the good price per value and the magic of the place.
We stayed at the Apartment "Sa Torre Est" at the old building, having the nicest views. A huge majorcan style room with separated livingroom from the sleeping room with Kingsized bed, all natural light comming through the windows and a bathroom upstairs giving access to a private terrace with sunbeds.
In the morning we walked around to see all animals, specially the horses, and relaxed by the pool. For sure we will come back at least once per year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonigarau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

This review is ONLY FOR THE RESTAURANT AND NOT FOR THE ACCOMODATION as we only went for dinner.
The location is about 20mins drive from Palma and the airport, but Majorca is best explored by car anyway so I would recommend hiring a car anyway. The views from the restauranta are beautiful, the restaurant decor is elegant, clean, with typical Spanish rustic looks.
The food was delicious- marvelous layouts on your plate, quick at bringing the food out, delicately prepared food with all home-grown ingredients (as this is an "agriturismo" which means that all the food made is home-grown). We took the "degustacion menu" and was 32€ for a 4 course dinner without wine or drinks, so so so worth it I would recommend it always.
If I ever went back to Palma, I would DEFINITELY stay in the apartments as well as if they are as clean, elegant, well kept and attention to detail as the restaurant then we'd definitely be in for a treat.
Oh, we also arrived at the restaurand over 40mins late as we got lost following the satnav (which i would suggest NOT to use! Just follow the directions that the hotel provide) but the staff were very friendly and perfectly fine with this, still served us properly and politely.
Recommend this for people who want to experience proper Spanish cuisine and environment with the waitor who still spoke a bit of english so you could communicate if you did not know the lingo.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline_and_Timmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llucmajor hotels
3.9 mi away
Son Julia Country House
Son Julia Country House
#4 of 10 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marriott's Club Son Antem
Marriott's Club Son Antem
#2 of 10 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hilton Sa Torre Mallorca
Hilton Sa Torre Mallorca
#1 of 10 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bennoc Petit Hotel
Bennoc Petit Hotel
#1 of 13 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
6.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Son Antem
4.8 mi away
Puig de Ros d'Alt
Puig de Ros d'Alt
#2 of 7 in Llucmajor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Sama Finca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Sama Finca

Property: Son Sama Finca
Address: Ctra. Llucmajor - Porreres, Km. 3,5 | c/ Pedro A.Mataró, 8,, 07620, Llucmajor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Llucmajor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Llucmajor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Son Sama Finca 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Son Sama Finca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Sama Finca Spain/Llucmajor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing