We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rafalet apartments”
Review of PortBlue Rafalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortBlue Rafalet
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“rafalet apartments”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The location is outstanding, especially if you get apartments 1-8 which look out onto the sea front (the others look at the back of the row in front), although the higher numbers are near to the hotel's Dinky bar. You can walk to everything in S'Algar within minutes and swim in the sea from a jetty 100 metres away.
The apartment is dated and the double bedrooms are small but it is sufficient. The kitchen is minimalist, tantalisingly supplied with a smart condiment set-without the condiments. No oven or microwave but 4 gas burners. The cleaners do a great job when they visit 2 or 3 times a week.There is plenty of cleaning stuff but no washing up liquid. There is an unfeasibly well stocked but slightly expensive supermarket in the resort. There are some excellent supermarkets such as Eroski about 6 miles away. I recommend renting a car from the airport if you would pay for a transfer anyway or you can rent in S'Algar and see the rest of the island. S'Algar has a good dive centre and sports complex with bike rental, tennis etc. We had bikes for a day, cycled a circuit South of S'Algar stopping for food or a swim in quiet bays when we chose, excellent.
We had had half board in the S'Algar hotel across the road which was good value. A buffet dinner which could easily see off 4 or 5 courses. Only complaint is, despite the waitress pouncing for your drink order when you walk in you'll be drinking beer with desert because they are so slow to deliver. There is plenty of salad, meat and fish, hot and cold soups, deserts, cheese board and fruit everynight, but you must pay E2.50 for a coffee. There are about 4 restaurants in the village.
The pool is good, no loud music, not too many children running about and both a pool and sea (clear, clean, turquoise-good snorkelling) swimming areas near the sun beds. Free wifi in the pleasant hotel lounges. The nearest beach is a 15 minute walk away in an idillic bay and well worth it. The resort is amazingly clean and quiet but unless you sunbathe all day every day look to get out to Mao at least. Check for festivals during your stay.

Room Tip: ask for numbers 2 to 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Rafalet, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your opinion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is the 5th time I have been to S'Algar and the 2nd time in Rafalet apartments. The resort is lovely - quiet, clean and safe. The apartments are spacious, with two twin rooms, bathroom, living room (with couch, tv with international including english channels, and dining table) kitchenette and balcony.

The apartments are cleaned regularly. The beds are soooo comfy, and it's very quiet (apart from the crickets!) so you get a good night's sleep. The resort has a pool, sun terrace, snack bar, a couple of bars/restaurants, supermarket, bakery and some souvenir shops. (NB - it's a quiet resort with a few bars, so if you're looking to bar crawl, it's probably not the place for you!)

We went half-board at the hotel S'Algar while staying in the Rafalet apartments. You also pick up your keys for the apartments in the hotel. The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly.

The hotel is right next to the apartments and the food is very good. It's a buffet-style restaurant and there's a lot of choice, it would be very difficult to go hungry here! I have a limited diet due to a health condition and had no problem finding something to eat every night. The (cold) spanish rice pudding is to die for. Good selection of local produce and specialities on the menu. Also - try the wine from the local vineyard (Binifadet), which you can buy in the restaurant - very nice.

We have previously been self-catering in the Rafalet and that is no problem, although be aware that there is only a hob and not an oven. If you are SC, I would recommend going by car or bus to one of the larger supermarkets as the minimart in the resort is limited and on the pricey side. there are larger supermarkets in Mahon (e.g. in Claustre del Carme) and one just outside Sant Lluis (Eroski) if you have a car.

The bar in the hotel is very nice, generally quite quiet although they do have live music acts on a few times a week. There is also free wifi in the foyer, bar and salon.

There is sea access in S'Algar, or you can walk 15 mins round the seafront to Alcaufar beach, which is very nice, or continue walking from Alcaufar on the "cami de cavalls" to Punta Prima (small resort with white sand beach and a few restaurants and shops) which takes about an hour from S'Algar.

Highly recommended if you want a relaxing break in a lovely resort.

Room Tip: Apartment 10 was problem-free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Rafalet, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again.

We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Before I continue I have to make a couple of statements which will help clarify some of the points I make in this review:

1. A beach holiday is not normally my kind of holiday. I burn easily, get bored easily and generally find that lying around a pool is a waste of a good week or two in foreign climes.

2. I base all my gradings on the basis that this holiday was a cheap holiday so I am not going to judge a cheap packaged holiday with the same grades as I would judge a luxury one.

About Ourselves

Two Adults and Two Children aged 14 and 16.

The Island

A very beautiful island that largely remains unspoilt by the blight of large hotel complexes. Yes they are there but they are not as in your face as you would see on other islands or tourist resorts.

Roads are in good condition and well signposted. It is easy to get about in a car and it is pretty much an hours drive from one side of the island to the other.

The people are very friendly and much more approachable than I have found in other places such as turkey and corfu.

The weather was as you would expect pretty fantastic with just enough of a sea breeze every day to keep temperatures bearable.

My only reservation I would have was that I wasnt as impressed with the food as I thought i might be. There is plenty to choose from but the menu is pretty similar no matter where you go and the place does seem to have an unhealthy amount of pizza places.

Rating 10 out of 10

The Resort

S'Algar despite allegedly being a former fishing village is pretty much a man made resort with two hotels dominating the area along with a good few appartments/studios which are all owned by the same group as the hotels.

The resort is kept immaculately clean with street cleaning, grass cutting and wall painting being carried out whether needed or not.

There is no beach at the resort but there is some bathing platforms with sunbeds (at a cost) and if you are a resident of the various appartments/hotels you can avail of the pools at the S'Algar and San Luis hotels.

Withing the resort there is a small market square area which is home to two restaurants; Il Pirata (which im afraid i never tried) and the Queen Regina (i think) which is pretty much an Italian styled restaurant which serves a relatively varied menu most of which seems to be of decent quality. There is also a small supermarket and a few small tourist shops. Nightlife wise this pretty much is confined to the San Luis hotel and the Dinky Bar which is a small bar located beside the Rafalet apartments and overlooking the sea and which opens in the evenings.

Being only 15 minutes from the airport it is an ideal location to base your holiday and is only a 10 minute car drive into Mahon and a 45 minute drive to Cuitadella if you want to venture further afield.

All in all a lovely resort despite its man made feel but only to be selected if you want a relaxing holiday.

Rating 8 Out of 10

The Apartments

The Rafelet Apartments are situated in 3 (i think) rows of 7 apartments overlooking the sea. If you get the front ones (as we did) you get a fantastic view to spend your mornings and evenings sipping your tea or something a little stronger.

The apartments are compact but more than adequate for a one or two week stay. There is the main living area with a sofa (which could probably be used as a bed, a table and four chairs and a television which only really has BBC world news and of interest to us Brits.

The kitchen is small but does unlike most med resort apartments come with a full 4 ring gas cooker. Pretty much all the implements and plates you require are provided but you dont get a kettle so you may have to resort to boiling some water in a pot if you are like us and like a cup of tea in the morning. There was ample supply of hot water so doing the dishes was never a chore.

The living room has air conditioning but to get the benefit of this in the night you will need to leave the bedroom doors open.

There are two bedrooms with two single beds which can be pushed together if needed. The are as comfortable as any bed i have slept in whilst on holiday in the med so take from that what you will.

The bathroom and toilet are very clean and more than adequate and the abundance of warm water means there is no need to fight to get in first.

Rooms where cleaned and changed twice during our 1 week holiday.

Rating 8 Out of 10

Summary

I great place for a holiday provided you are not looking for a lot of night life. If your kids are of the active variety the resort is ok but would suggest opting for the San Luis hotel which runs plenty of daily activities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paddywack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Just returned from my fourth visit and I still love the place. It is very quiet - but that is why I go! Also just around the corner is Cala Alcaufar. The most picturesque fishing cove and beach, and you walk over the rocks to get there. There is no beach at S'Algar but a beautiful pool with wonderful views over the sea. Although quiet there is plenty of sea activity to watch, especially at weekends when the Menorcans take to the water. For a purpose built resort it has character, obviously designed well, with a nice square, little bakers.
The Bungalows or Apartments have been renovated, and now include Air Conditioning as well as Fans in the bedrooms, which is a bonus. Some of the bungalows have a sea view, and yes it is right by Dinky Bar, but what could be better than to sit on your balcony and watch the world go by - makes up for a slightly noisier evening. But it is not THAT noisy. Although if the Hotel S'Algar have a private party then that can go on until 4pm in the morning.

  • Liked — The distance to the sea
  • Disliked — No sea view bar open at lunchtime
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Nice clean apartments,combine with half board at the excellent S'algar hotel next door for those like me who really dont want to be cooking while on holiday ! Great location for families and couples this self contained resort is beautifully looked after and offers many sports facilities including tennis,golf,bowls,scuba diving,football,raquetball and many other things.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Living room a little small
  • Tips/Secrets — book direct with S'Algar resort.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank troutcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Algar
1.2 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,445 reviews
12.2 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,499 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
13.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortBlue Rafalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortBlue Rafalet

Property: PortBlue Rafalet
Address: Avenida Tercera, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PortBlue Rafalet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complex has 9 bungalows with 2 double rooms, all located on the ground floor. Pleasant apartments with 2 double bedrooms, each with 2 single beds next to each other, a living area with sofa bed (80 x 170 cm), equipped kitchen, fully equipped bathroom and terrace. All the bungalows are equipped with air-conditioning in the living area and ceiling fans in the bedrooms. The apartments have satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi (fee), a fully equipped bathroom with a shower and hairdryer and an equipped kitchen including a refrigerator, gas stove (4 burners), toaster and filter coffeemaker. All the bungalows have a terrace furnished with chairs and a table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortBlue Rafalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PortBlue Rafalet Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing