We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PortBlue Las Palmeras
Certificate of Excellence
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit......”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived home yesterday after a one week stay at Las Palmeras. The first thing to note is the short transfer time, around twenty five minutes. On entering the reception area, we noticed how spacious and clean it looks. We were greeted by Paco the manager, very professional and helpful for the entire week. We were given directions to our apartment. It was very clean and had everything we needed. As we were all inclusive,I was worried there wouldn't be a kettle,I needn't have worried. The food was varied, could have been hotter at times... The entertainment at the San Luis was very good and our all inclusive entitled us to drinks and snacks here also. Our one complaint was that the beds were so uncomfortable, we had to sleep on the sofas. All in all though,really relaxing,lovely scenery,nice people,whole resort was clean, will we return? Yes,but not to apartment14a, would want different beds!

Room Tip: Room 14a had very uncomfortable beds.The terrace was sunny from 11.00a.m until late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Diane M,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay in Las Palmeras. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays.
We will forward your review to Paco and the rest of the team.

About the beds, I will send your comments to the responsible person, so he can be aware of it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    178
    68
    14
    17
See reviews for
288
152
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Been back a week now from a 10 day All Inclusive stay at Las Palmeras (LP) which is situated at the eastern end of S'Algar with residential properties neighbouring the hotel.

We can concur with other reviews on here in that if you are looking for a piece and quiet vacation then this is ideal. We researched LP before booking and it is exactly what we expected. No problems with sun beds and space around the pool and the staff were excellent and professional. The apartment was what you would expect, basic but functional and clean.

If you want evening entertainment this is provided by their sister hotel San Luis which is about a 10 min walk away or use the free evening "train", the S'Algar Express from the hotel to the other hotels which runs from 7-10pm. Worth the ride and its great fun.

Buffet menu was ok but could be improved. LP does have its own pizzeria which locals use a lot and you get 25% disc for being a hotel resident.

There is a daily bus from outside the hotel into Mahon costing €1.65 per person each way. Timetable at the bus stop outside the hotel. Market days of Sat and Tues in Mahon are very busy with queues at the bus station for the return journey being long so expect standing room only.

One word of warning, take some insect repellent and cream for mosquito bites as there is no pharmacy in S'Algar, you will need to go to Mahon for that.

We had a late flight back to Gatwick and were lucky to get a late check out. This is not guaranteed so you will have to ask on the morning you check out if you have a late flight and dont want to hang around all day until pick up.

All in all we had a great holiday and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slipstream2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear slipstream2007,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 10 days holidays.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very pleased we found these apartments. The resort - both the apartments and the general locale - is kept immaculately clean and tidy and the staff are pleasant helpful at all times, in particular Paco, the resort manager and Juan the waiter.

The apartments are basic, but roomy, clean, tidy and have everything that you need. If you do need help, Paco is just a short walk away. The only downside of the apartments are the beds, which are very hard.

We never had to wait to be served at either the bar or the restaurant and though the food was basic it was perfectly acceptable. The lounge area near the bar is comfortable with Sky TV and Wi-Fi for those who need to catch up with what's going on elsewhere in the world.

The free land train service is a fantastic idea, but it would be nicer if the hours were a little longer, say 6-11pm, rather than 7-10pm. But it's free and saves the hassle of taxis and a long walk on a full stomach after a meal in the main commercial area of S'Algar.

No queuing for places by the lovely pool either and no towels on sun beds, which is always a bonus!

One thing missing from the apartments is a small on-site supermarket as the nearest, though just a few minutes away once you know the quick route through the houses, doesn't open before 9am, so if you want fresh bread be prepared to start late in the day.

We stayed self-catering this time but would probably go half-board to get breakfast next time rather than waiting for supermarkets to open.

We really enjoyed the peace, quiet and relaxation of our stay here and are already looking to go back again next year. Fantastic place to stay if you're genuinely looking for somewhere quiet to wind down and recharge your batteries.

We would recommend the Reina Isabelle restaurant down in the town. Service was fantastic from Pedro and Paco and we never had to wait long for the well-cooked and reasonably priced food. If you're into football, this is the bar for you and they also have live music occasionally. Beware the mozzies, though.

Mahon, the nearest large town, is well worth a visit. Nice market, plenty of shops to soend your hard-earned and a lovely place to spend the day mooching around. Expect to pay around €15 (inc. tips) each way by taxi if you don't want to take the bus.

All in all, a great find and we'd be more than happy to recommend Las Palmeras to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in B8 which is a first floor apartment with a great view over the sea from the balcony, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Grahame F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression about your stay at Las Palmeras.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We will forward your lovely comments to the staff.

We look forward to seeing you back next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely quiet resort, very clean, however, the apartments reminded me of the standard room accomodation at 'Butlins', and the all inclusive restaurant reminded me of a school canteen. The food was very repetative and unexciting. I don't know what they did to the bacon but it had a very strange texture. As in other reviews, you wouldnt go hungry, but there was definate room for improvement.
What we found to be very inconvenient was the nearest shop was a good 20 min walk, (30-45 mins if like us walking with a stick) the courtesy train only ran between 7-10 pm and according to the hotel manager, the shop is too short a distance for a taxi driver to want the business, so think carefully about this resort if you have poor mobility. We needed cigarettes and we could only buy them from a machine in the bar near the shop or in mahon at the tobacconist.
As a general sum up, if you stay at this resort, definately hire a car and go self catering The resort also says it has entertainment in the evenings, what they dont tell you is that it is in the sister hotel 'San Luis'. which again is a good 15 min walk. We wanted to see the flamenco dancing, so we got the train there but the dancing started at 9.30 pm and the train stops at 10 pm so we had to struggle walking home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racecan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear racecan1,

tahnk you for your review.
Fist of all we would like to tell you we are really sorry because we didn't met your expectations.
About the food, we normally work with a special menu rotations so we make sure we offer a special and equilibrated food selection. Anyway, I will forward the responsible person of your comments.
For next year, we are working with some changes and improvements about the animation.

S'Algar does sell tabacco at the Dinky Bar.

As you say it's recommeneded to hire a car, since the island offers lots of lovely places that you can only discover by car.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a week at Las Palmeras Apartments and we had a lovely time, the grounds are clean, the pool area is lovely and its very quiet. The food was ok not much variety and very little in the way of traditional Spanish dishes, but it was always hot and there was always plenty of it. The meal times were changed when we arrived as they said it was out of season, I don't agree with this and found it rather annoying especially as breakfast didn't start till 8.30 which is quite late if you have young ones, Im so pleased that I brought some Weetabix as we would have had one hungry little boy. We tried the pizzeria one night for a bit of a change and it was ok, I don't think I would bother if I went again and I found it odd that we didn't get at least one visit as part of our all inclusive which has been the case in all other All Inclusives I have been to before. The staff were lovely, very helpful and the waitresses were so kind to our little boy. There is no night entertainment at the apartments but you can go via the train to Hotel St Luis. We went once but found the childrens disco wasn't on that night but the Elvis impersonator was entertaining but maybe not in the way he intended.
The resort is quiet and very clean. The little centre is a little hidden but very nice with a couple of restaurant's which made a nice change of scene. We also rented a car, Mahon is worth a visit and we went to Son Bou which was a beautiful beach and would recommend going.
The apartment was very well equipped and they had the cot ready and made up for us. I wasn't too happy that the apartment was only cleaned once during the week and the only opportunity to have the towels changed, Im glad I brought some cleaning wipes, and the beds are very hard.

We had a very relaxing time and its very family friendly. Overall a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeymooners_Sept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Honeymooners_S...,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to know you and your famliy enjoyed your stay at Las Palmeras.
We will forward your comments to the staf.
About animation, there will be some improvements for next year.

Normally there is only 1 cleanning per week, but clients can request extra cleanning service (charge).

We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tyneside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

If your after a relaxing holiday then this place is ideal. If you want nice quiet nights then stop at the Las Palmeras apartments or if you prefer the entertainment then you can go to the sister hotel which is about a 10 minute walk away. The staff were all very friendly throughout the complex and the grounds kept very clean.
There was a nice selection of food and a varied choice day to day or alternatively if you wanted you could eat in the restaurant at an extra cost or even get a takeaway pizza.
Never had any problems finding a sun lounger at any time of the day. Fabulous pool that never looked overcrowded and Alex at the pool bar was very friendly.
There is a bus service that stops right outside that goes to Mahon but would advise you check the times and arrive 5 mins before it's due as sometimes it came early.
Only one warning to give and that is the sandy cove nearby, we went down only to find that this is actually a nudist area which is not signed. Alternatively there is a small beach at Alcaufar a bit of a walk along the coast about a 20 minute walk away.
Overall a very enjoyable relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Dave H,

Thank you for writing about your holidays at Las Palmeras.
We are happy to know your enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

First visit ... Arrived with a couple on their twelve years of visiting twice a year !
What better recommendation than that
Very clean and quiet
We loved it
We are not ones for entertainment but if yu wanted this it was a short walk to the St.Luis
We did this and it made us appreciate Las Palmeras even more !
Food was lovely, different every day.. No queues and always a table
No sandy beach which may put some off
But swam in sea and it was lovely
Took a busy bus to Mahon 3.30 euros for 2 one way ... We were lazy and got a cab back which was 14 euros but much easier
Manager and staff extremely helpful and pleasant
The best pool I have come across soooo much nicer than the one down the road
We will be returning next year hopefully
Thankyou for our lovely relaxing stay
Worst part ... Going home !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Las Palmeras, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear SueSouthampton,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stays, with your friends.
We will forward your lovely comments to the staff.

We really look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Algar
0.3 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,370 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
871 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
14.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
1,116 reviews
25.7 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortBlue Las Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortBlue Las Palmeras

Property: PortBlue Las Palmeras
Address: Avenida Quinta, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PortBlue Las Palmeras 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Las Palmeras Complex is situated in the upper part of the Resort, next to the wonderful Nature Area of Rafalet and 600m from the center with it's shop's, supermarket, diving center and the small bay of S'Algar. The complex has 72 apartments with 1 double bedroom. They are all very bright and have a pleasant terrace, double bedroom with 2 single beds next to each other, a living-dining area with 2 sofa beds (80 x 170 cm), kitchen and fully equipped bathroom. They are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, an equipped kitchen including a refrigerator, glass-top stove and microwave, fully equipped bathroom featuring a bathtub with shower and hairdryer, Wi-Fi (fee) and safe (upon request, for a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortBlue Las Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmeras Apartments Hotel s`Algar
Las Palmeras Apartments s Algar
PortBlue Las Palmeras Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing