We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snapper harvey from Torquay 31-5 2013”
Review of PortBlue San Luis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PortBlue San Luis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in S'Algar
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Snapper harvey from Torquay 31-5 2013”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

very clean hotel,but the food was not very good,you could not eat the breakfast,thats a cooked one,and the lunch and dinner was not that much better,everything covered in oil.and caught the chef handling raw chicken with no gloves just bare hands then cooking it,not nice.and thats cooked in front of house,so you wonder what goes on in the kitchen behind closed doors.
as for the resort itself there is nothing to do, no beach no bars just nothing to do,not my cup a tea at all,and if you have children I would not bother at all,nothing there for them at all.Its a saga hotel for 60 plus and that the way it should be.not saying anything bad about the old.but young and old dont mix,as the comments we heard this week,and to finish glad only went for a week

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director of Sales at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. It is very important for us to get feedback from our customers so as to improve our service constantly. As for our chef manipulating raw chicken at the show cooking area in the buffet, it is because plastic gloves melt when near a hot grill. Nonetheless, our staff usually manipulates meat with cooking tools and clean hands. Hotels in Spain have strict Health and Safety standards to meet, and Hotel San Luis always gets good reports on this subject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    557
    181
    47
    35
See reviews for
467
762
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff were sullen and unhelpful, even though we were on 'all inclusive' we couldnt get a cup of tea before 11am in the morning without paying for it. Awful place. We went at the end of the season and the staff were literally packing things away for the winter as we moved from chair to chair-NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HerindoorsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Director of Sales at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear client,
we are very sorry to hear our hotel did not meet your expectations. Usually our guests remark that our staff is very helpful and kind, and we try to focus our whole attention on our customer's satisfaction.
We hope to have the opportunity in the future to give you a much better impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean, there is a lot of mature people there as Saga Holidays use it. Not that it is a problem as they are friendly. Being all inclusive, there is plenty of food and drink. Resort is quiet, some entertainment is better than some, the amination team work hard to ensure you are enjoying yourself. Staff are friendly and helpful. I would go again. My only disappointment was i lost a black shawl in the Hotel, either left in dining room or entertainment area as i didnt leave hotel when i wore it and no one handed it in. It was of a sentimental value. But thats not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: we had a sea view room which was part of the standard booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cash2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Commercial Manager at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Customer,
I would kindly ask you to contact the hotel reception, because there was a black shawl handed out there some 10 days ago. We would be happy to return it to you if it is yours!
We thank you very much for your comment and are glad you had a nice stay. We hope to accommodate you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehenge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lovely, spacious 'airy' hotel set at the "top" end of the compact resort of S'Algar. We paid the little bit extra per night for the sea view which was well worth it. Room was very comfortable and all the mod cons you could expect, although no tea/coffee making facilites, but no big deal.
Walls between rooms a bit thin so might be a little problem for light sleepers. 2 pools; the larger a decent size so you get a good swim, the smaller, heated by solar energy fine for children and less confident swimmers. A decent range of sports facilities, but the 'rifle shooting' is a joke, one worn out air weapon on a 15 foot range is akin to fairground stuff, (but you don't get either a goldfish, or a stuffed teddy....). If you like mountain biking on well graded gravel tracks, amongst fabulous scenery this is great, and the coastal paths which are shared with the walkers amongst us gives you lots of variety. Hiring a car is easy, and for us, worthwhile as we got to places not covered on the excursions. the Hire desk is opposite the Hotel's reception desk, and the tariff is all inclusive.
The food; perfectly acceptable, and with a decent variety of dishes, although as mentioned in other reviews, not necessarily lacking in seasoning but geared toward the bland/suitable for weak British tummies, and perceived by us as veering away from authentic Menorcan cuisine. We were on a Saga break so we expected this, and you adapt, don't you?
Bar: Fantastic! The team behind the bar would knock spots off most Brit bar staff, and the sheer variety of beverages available bewildering. The island Gin, Xeriguer, sweeter, and herbier than, say Gordons, makes a very different G & T; Hierbas, which we knew about from Ibiza, is worth a go; seca as an aperitif, dolce as a digestif. Also try the Pomada, as a long, cool refresher-very moreish.
The only let down we had during the week was, you've guessed, the weather, but you've got to cope. 3 days of rain, unseasonably cool, but it would usually improve toward the evening, except for one night when the wind whistled all through the night and made freaky clattering noises in the fire escape staircase.
Taken overall, since the review is on the Hotel, excellent; we'd go there again. Menorca is very different from Majorca, and our experience of the people at the hotel, and of the islanders we met extremely good. Muchas Gracias.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, any floor from 3 upward is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeHouseWilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Commercial Manager at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear customer,
we are delighted to hear you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you very much for your comment, because it encourages us to keep on improving our service day after day.
Hopefully, next time you will enjoy higher temperatures than this year. May has been an unusally cold month, even locals are wondering about the bad weather so late in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from this AI hotel. My wife and I stayed 7 nights from May 13th to 20th 2013. Have just read 'Tars 1964' review which is spot on. Not much more to add other than there is no on site shop. However, about 1 minutes walk from the rear of the hotel is a small supermarket with a good selection of the daily news papers. Biggest disappointment for us was the immediate surrounding local area. Although it was very charming and neat, there are no more tourist shops, bars and no beach. No complaints from us though as I should have checked before I booked. The local bus service seems to stop about 10am so a taxi to Mahon (Mao) is around 13.50 euros each way or a taxi to Santa Prima (spelling ?) was 10.50 euros each way. The latter location has a small market on Sundays with no more than about 15 to 20 stalls. We noticed how very quiet the local roads were and I regret not taking my driving licence as car hire was around 60 euro's for 3 days. Back at the San Luis hotel, the local beer is Estralla Damm but you are not allowed to take the drinks to your room. Having said that, I and several others were never stopped but we always returned our glasses to the bar. The balcony's only had two chairs and no table. About 80% of the hotel clientele age from mid 50's upwards with very few families as there is not much to do for children. Overall we had a very relaxing holiday and met some lovely people and had a good laugh. Shame the weather wasn't very good but we made the most of the sunshine as and when we could. Hope this helps ?

Room Tip: Seems you are allocated rooms to the front of the hotel when you arrive. You can however 'upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Commercial Manager at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear customer,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and hope next time you will find more open bars, shops and restaurants.
In Menorca, establishments usually close during the winter season, and April and May generally are months choosen to re-open. However, this year many of them seem to have delayed the opening day: this could be the reason why you did not find the usual lifeliness in our Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, and well furnished. The rooms can be noisy as the walls. Are thin.
Excellent food with plenty of choices. all common area's are open with no quiet space's. Could be a problem in the height of the season. Overall a reasonable choice for couples. The resort is very quiet

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Commercial Manager at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear customer,
we are delighted you liked our hotel, and would be very happy to accomodate you again this soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited this hotel in October 2012 and, although it was late in the season, the weather was great and the hotel full. I have stayed here before about 22 years ago and although it was quieter then I think it has improved. The room was fabulous with fantastic views from the balcony and the pool was large so you could have a real swim. There is a sports complex attached with tennis, bowling, petanque, putting and table tennis so we had a go at everything. There is a small sandwich type bar beside the sports complex but we never quite got there when it was open. The pasta/pizza bar adjacent to the pool was excellent and you didn't have to get dressed for this, just cover up. The restaurant was good but by the second week I was a bit fed up with the choices. There was a strong bias towards Saga guests and on occasions you were not allowed in certain areas for their "Grand" meal.I also suspect the high percentage of older guests was the reason the food lacked seasoning and I yearned for a "garlic Kick". However it is a great area for walking, and we did miles, so I managed to get that Kick by walking to the next town, Punta Prima, where I had Garlic Prawns for lunch!!!! Minorca is a beautiful island and very quiet. Walking is a joy and the bus service to and from Mahon from San Luis is excellent. The only thing is if you want to go anywhere else you still have to go into Mahon to go back out again so next time we will probably hire a car to go see some of the less accessible places. I would go back to Hotel San Luis but probably a week of Saga type food and entertainment is enough for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. There is little to sea on the other side of the buiding and it gets very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Comercial Manager at PortBlue San Luis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment. It is very important for us, so as to keep on constantly improving.
Thank you, and we hope to see you again this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Algar
24.9 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,194 reviews
13.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,491 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,595 reviews
26.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,172 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortBlue San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortBlue San Luis

Property: PortBlue San Luis
Address: Avenida Decima, 07713 S'Algar, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in S'Algar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PortBlue San Luis 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel of modern construction is only 400 m from the sea at S'Algar, and close to the nicest coves of the island. It has 228 bedrooms: 6 junior suites, 5 adapted rooms, and 12 connecting rooms. All of them have air conditioning, terrace/balcony, full bathroom with hair dryer and cosmetic mirror, T.V., telephone, safe, and on request a mini bar.The ground floor has a variety of rooms, T.V. & video room, conference room, Internet-Corner, bar and a buffet restaurant. There are two outdoor swimming pools -one of them heated -, and a large solarium, La Pasta Restaurant and pool bar.The hotel offers day and night entertainment, for adults and children. Access to the Hotel S’Algar’s Spa that offers jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and a massage and relax area. The hotel has a sports area close to the hotel including paddle, tennis, football 7, miniclub, gym… Our sports monitors also organize diary activities like hiking, excursions in mountain bike, archery & riffle shooting, Yoga, Aerobic, snorkelling, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your PortBlue San Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel
San Luis s Algar
PortBlue San Luis Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing