We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out place to unwind and recharge the batteries!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortBlue Vista Faro
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've reviewed these apartments based on what they are, 2 star accommodation, and with that in mind I think they're great! I've just got back from there with my wife and 2 children (aged 4 and 18 months). We wanted a quiet apartment where we could do our own thing within a clean environment - that's exactly what we got! We had apartment 1B which was an upstairs apartment and found an open planned lounge/diner which opened up onto a good sized balcony. There was also a bathroom complete with bath, shower, bidet, toilet and sink all in good clean order. The two bedrooms were good sized twins (large enough to accommodate the cot we requested, it was a travel cot but was good enough for our needs) with built in wardrobes, plenty of storage. There is a safe in one of the rooms but we didn't take advantage of that (2 Euros a day extra). The kitchen had all we needed, fridge, hob, sink and enough utensils/pans etc for our stay. The only minor issue was a lack of cupboard space for the actual food bought (the only cupboards there stored the plates etc) but we got around that by storing stuff on top of the cupboards.
The apartments themselves are on a small complex which houses a small bar (which doubles as the reception, it opens 11am to 8pm and Christina was excellent, a credit to Vista Faro!) and a pool with a good children's section and a ramp into the deeper section, this means more confident kids can 'explore' the deeper pool in relative safety but only with adult supervision (NB: there is no lifeguard on duty and no inflatables are allowed).
The complex of Vista Faro was a good place to be based within S'Algar, good clean and comfortable accommodation, central to getting around and yet private enough for you to do your own thing. S'Algar itself is a quiet location affording walks along the coastal path, quiet meals at one of the few restaurants. Swimming and snorkelling can be done on the sea front (which is an unusual development of the volcanic rock along the shore - cemented to create a level platform to sunbath and jump into the sea!). A good option for visiting the area is to take the short walk along to Alcuafar, this a more 'natural' village developed around the original fishermen cottages surrounding the small beach and the Hotel Xuroy. The walk takes around 10/15 mins but isn't really suitable for a standard childs buggy so you'd need to think around that one. Luckily we'd heard of this rocky path and so we took our jogging buggy which had 16-18 inch wheels and suspension....it only just coped!
If your looking for a quiet relaxing holiday then this is for you, if your looking for luxury and nightlife then this isn't! We enjoyed the holiday and will happily go back next year - can't recommend it any better than that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Vista Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Derbyshire,

Thank you very much for spending your time to write a review of your holidays at Vista Faro. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have been coming to Menorca for over 40 years, know S'Algar well and as this was a special family holiday, my partner and I were delighted to be here. We had no huge expectations of Vista Faro Apartments but are very pleased with the accommodation which is no frills but comfortable, clean and well-equipped. We had an apartment on the first floor, right at the front, overlooking the pool and sea. Very relaxing site, within 30 seconds walk of bars, restaurants and shops. However, just one complaint......the toaster needs replacing!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upstairs are best and apartments 14b,15b,16b and17b are right at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Vista Faro, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Weny2809,

Thank you for your review about your stay in Vista Faro.
We are glad you had a nice and confortable stay, highlighting the cleanness and atmosphere.
We regret the toaster inconvenience. Our maintenance service, works quickly as soon as the guest reports the issue to reception.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

To start with, we got this trip about a month before we went. We done a little research, not too much, so I was a little worried about the hotel. Last couple of places I've been to have been around the 4 start mark, and I believe the Vista is a 2 star. So i knew i was stepping down, but hey the whole week set us back £300 each.

Ok, 1st warning, there are no directions on what to do on arrival. There is a pool bar, but if it's closed there is no one to help you. More importantly, no directions to go to the S'Algar hotel(they own it) to pick your key up. The pool bar doesn't open until 11, we got there at 10:45 so, we were lucky. Did have to wait until 12, but it's a short flight, they took our suit cases to storage, so it wasn't a big deal for us. We got changed in the pool toilets, had a wonder round the resort came back and was told our room was ready.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment, with two single beds. Which is the norm. The beds are reasonably comfy, the pillows were not great. Long tube type pillows, took me a couple of nights to get used to.

Living area was ok, seating comfy, a basic kitchenette is there, which has all pans etc. included. Did not use to be honest. Did have an issue with the fridge, 1st day nothing seemed to stay cold, weirdly it sorted its self out the 3rd day.

Basic TV, with nothing to watch, good job that didn't matter to us, might to others.

The rooms are cleaned once a week, so there are no clean towels given to you. It's two star, expected. Was told a maid if you caught her would give you some fresh ones though. Never saw her.

There was a see view and the balcony was nice and relaxing when the temperature was unbearable.

Pool area was good, there are only 20 buildings there, so there was only a handful of people there at a time. Plenty of sunbeds and tables because of this.

The pool area also got a lot of sun, the umbrella’s on the table were practically useless after 4pm, so use sun block. The pool also has a ramp entry, which I think deserves a mention.

S'algar is only a small resort, there are only a handful of restaurants. The closest, Pirate and Isabella. Both nice, enjoyed the mixed Paella very much. The nicest place was in the San Luis hotel, salmon was excellent. The Chinese restaurant, which name escapes me was also very good.

There is a bus to Mahon, easy to use.

You can walk along the coast to get to another beach that is sandy called Alcaufar, be warned, it’s a half hour walk on a rocky path. Not a great idea at midday when it hit 34degrees, and defiantly don't do the hour walk to Punta Prima at midday either. Would recommend that hike 1st thing in the morning though.

Overall for a budget place it was a great stay, i really thought the pool area was excellent. Would've liked the room cleaned why we were there, but I would say it was very clean before we got there. It's more a case of me liking fresh towels.

I would stay there again, for a last minute deal, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Vista Faro, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Client,

thank you for your comments about Vista Faro Apartments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
The apartments are cleaned twice a week, once before arrival and again in the middle of the week.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was there this July 09/07/2012 till 16/07/2012
The weather and appartment were brilliant
The only down side was that there was no ATM in the resort,as i booked my trip the Sunday as i flew out on the Monday morning i expected to draw Euros from a machine as i always do
One had to go to San Louis by bus /taxi as i do not drive i had Stirling and was able to change i t at the Hotel S'Algar so beware !!!

Room Tip: I had room 10B part sea view seconds from the pool and a good nights sleep will all the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomas james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAlgarHotels, Ecommerce at PortBlue Vista Faro, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments about the apartments. We are delighted to hear thet you enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have been to this hotel twice now, it is great value for money, the apartments are basic but clean, the kitchen is well equipped and all have balconies some with sea views. The pool is good, overlooks the sea and was never too crowded. You can also use facilities at the other hotels on the resort but we didn't bother. The only criticism I would make is that our sheets were never changed, towels were changed once and beds made once but no sheet change...nothing major but I would have preferred to have them changed once. staff friendly enough, there is pool bar that is opens in the day, shuts quite early.
This is a small quiet holiday resort there are 3-4 restaurants (we rate the food at Reina particularly), 1 bar, a couple of shops, and a bakery. There is no beach and little else to do in the resort if you cant hire a car you may be disappointed. I'm not sure what the bus services are like but Mahon and the slightly bigger resort of Punta Prima are near by. You can also walk to the nearby beach of Alcalfar (would take about 10-15 minutes) Alcalfar has a great beach for kids as the water is very shallow and it doesn't get too busy like some of the bigger beaches. If you do hire a car I recommend the beach at Cala Galdana and nearby Macarella/Turqueta , probably the prettiest beaches on the island. Overall this is a nice quiet relaxing place to stay and good value but not much going on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EJC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The appartments were ok for the money, spacious and reasonably clean. The pool area and gardens very nice. Problem with late arrival is that you have to walk to main hotel to get your key and there is nothing to advise you of this. Fortunately another guest was about and he told us. Resort very quiet, mostly closed in Sept. Two restaurants only in the square. Neither very good, terrible really. Holiday good though

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidayladyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The units are a little tired (peeling paint etc.) but are roomy and clean. Hot water readily available but the showerhead in our unit needed cleaning as a lot of the holes were blocked. Good sized balcony with table/chairs and a large clothes airer with pegs provided. We didn’t use the kitchen facilities, except for the fridge, but there appeared to be everything you would need to self-cater. Our apartment had a sea view but most would simply look over more units/pathways. Linen/towel change every three days when we were there. Small bar in pool area which closed the day before we left (22nd September). Full use of facilities at S’Algar Hotel and Hotel San Lluis where we also booked our taxi on day of departure – we were picked up at Vista Faro. Both hotels have free wifi and small selection of books in English, but none at Vista Faro. Also no laundry facilities as advertised, but we did find a laundry 5 minutes away with English owner. Apart from hotels mentioned above, restaurants are El Pirata and La Reina Isabel both of which are fine. The bar mentioned in other reviews was not open during our stay and we did not try the Asia Restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Algar
0.3 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,555 reviews
13.6 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,561 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,806 reviews
19.8 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#4 of 9 in Cala Galdana
527 reviews
25.2 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortBlue Vista Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortBlue Vista Faro

Address: Avenida Octava, 07713 S'Algar, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > S'Algar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in S'Algar
Price Range: $68 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PortBlue Vista Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These apartments in Menorca are beachfront with a spectacular views of the air Island that will lead to a relaxed and familiar environment. Perfect for a weekend getaway or holidays in family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortBlue Vista Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Faro Apartments Hotel s`Algar
PortBlue Vista Faro Spain/Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing