We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and reasonable”
Review of La Cueva

La Cueva
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We just happened by and were very impressed with the quality and price of the food and the especially the drinks.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

Had a vegetarian pizza, which basically tasted like a sallad with cheese and bread - corn and zucchini is a horrible idea to have on a pizza. Fiancée had a chicken breast, the accompanying potato was not good and the sauce didn't taste anything - and for some reason the salad was topped off with tuna.
It didn't feel very hygienic either - the napkins were delivered to us with dirty hands, so they were already dirty, and one of the glasses had lipstick, remaining from previous guests.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank alexandert627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We were in the area and ventured here based on the reviews.

We were greeted and given a dirty table which was cleared.....eventually. The concept of customer service seems lost at times, this place was just rude. Being served drinks, no eye contact and continued a whole conversation with somebody else. We ordered pizza and fish. We were given 2 little briquette bread rolls which we never touched. To be fair, we could have gone outside and played boules with them.

The pizza arrived after 35mins with no apology or words spoken. I said to my partner to eat whilst hot, mine won’t be long. By the time she was on her last slice my fish arrived, nearly 15mins after and I had to ask for it.

The pizza was bland, cooked well but had no taste and crispy. The fish was greasy with 4 cold potatoes and mojo. No apology or even eye contact.

Asking for the bill took another 10mins so I went up to pay for it. The waiter had added on 2 rolls and aioli. We never had the rolls and the aioli wasn’t even on the table! The waiter couldn’t have cared less when I questioned it and took it off.

This place left a lot to be desired, the food was mediocre, the service was shocking. The treatment of other guests seemed fairly similar, granted the place was quite busy but not busy enough to warrant terrible service.

The waits were so long that a table of 3 had sat outside, they were given a menu and after 10mins of waiting they left.

I’m sorry we stayed in all honesty. I would not recommend this place at all.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank cozzie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch today and had a fantastic taste of Gran Canaria. Was taken to kitchen to see the local dishes and got a selection of tapas size dishes recommended by the staff and were not disappointed. Daughter not so adventurous and ordered a pizza which was beautifully cooked - all was delicious. Busy with lots of locals - always a good sign.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank rolloj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Very good, friendly staff and very behelpfull the cave is very beautiful and you can learn how the first Canarians lives.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Willieman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva also viewed

San Bartolome de Tirajana, Gran Canaria
Santa Lucia, Gran Canaria
 
San Bartolome de Tirajana, Gran Canaria
San Bartolome de Tirajana, Gran Canaria
 
San Bartolome de Tirajana, Gran Canaria
Santa Lucia, Gran Canaria
 

Been to La Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing