We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality & location :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country
Ranked #7 of 14 Ostia Antica B&B and Inns
Athens, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality & location :)”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

After an exhaustive search for hotels with amenities, we settled on Rodrigo De Vivar. I would stay here again. We were here for only one night, but staff was very helpful in giving advice and directions. Short walk to the train station. Breakfast was offered to us in our room, however, our flight was very early in the morning, so the staff created a basket full of snacks and drinks for us to take on our journey. I would highly recommend a stay here. It is close to the airport, but out of earshot of jet planes over head. This quaint location has a lot of charm. Next time I go to Rome, I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    14
    14
    9
See reviews for
23
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Previously we stayed at the Rodrigo De Vivar in the medieval village (not at the farmhouse) on October 16, 2008 and wrote up a review of that stay on November 12, 2008. (You might want to check that review.) Based on that generally-favorable experience, we chose to stay there again on October 20, 2011 after the end of a cruise and before flying out of Rome's Leonardo da Vinci - Fiumicino airport the next day.

This B&B is about a 10-minute taxi ride from the airport, so far more convenient than traveling to and from a hotel in Rome. We were also looking forward to again visiting the nearby ruins at Ostia Antica, which are fantastic. However we had a lot of problems calling the Rodrigo De Vivar from the airport to arrange to be picked up at the airport. Eventually they gave us the phone number (06 56 01646) for the local taxi company (taxis at the airport don't want to take you to this nearby location as they have been waiting a long time for the good fare going into Rome). The taxi driver was going to take us to the farmhouse, but we asked to be dropped off at the B&B in the town. In retrospect we learned that was a mistake as the lobby was locked up and no one was around. Eventually nearby neighbors called the farmhouse and they came and let us in to our room. We believe we were the only guests staying at the B&B in the medieval village at that time. The young man that let us into the room then gave us a ride to the farmhouse about a kilometer away so we could try to check in on their computer for our flight the next morning. For whatever reason, that was not successful and we then walked back and went to visit the nearby ruins at Ostia Antica. We were most disappointed to find that the park was closed to visitors because of the heavy rains they had early that morning. We then walked around Ostia Antica, but there isn't a lot of much interest in the town. On our previous visit, we toured inside the fortification, which was interesting, but that didn't seem to be available during this visit.

The B&B in the medieval village is part of the walled fortifications around a small courtyard, church and some homes. We stayed in the Torre del Castello I (view of tower) room, which has a view of the tower fortifications across the courtyard. The room is actually on two levels with the living room and a small narrow kitchen on the ground level and the bedroom and bathroom on the upper level. There is an extra charge for using the kitchen. The rooms were generally nice, but didn't appear to have been used for quite a while so they were a little stale.

We don't know if a continental breakfast would have been served or where, since we left very early the next morning for an early flight.

We had a nice lunch at a table outside a nearby cafe (see picture). To reach the cafe, go through the gates into the courtyard, turn left and go until you come to a tee. You will pass a nice restaurant on the left, but keep going and turn left at the tee. The cafe is a little further along on the left. It appears to just be a small bar, with a few tables outside, but has two nice dining rooms inside.

This stay at the Rodrigo De Vivar was much different than our previous stay about the same time of year in 2008. The lobby in the medieval village didn't appear to be staffed, where it was quite active before. This is a convenient place to stay to visit the ruins at Ostia Antica, but we suggest checking to determine whether they are staffing the lobby and breakfast area at the B&B in the medieval village, particularly if not visiting during the summer.

Room Tip: The Torre del Castello I (view of tower) room has a view of the tower fortifications across the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57-yr_old_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the country inn which is about a 10 minute walk from town. The manager Jacopo was extremely friendly and helpful and our room was big, charming and comfortable.
We ate at the restaurant during our one night stay (La Kuchina) and it was a fantastic meal. Jacopo waited on us and the chef came and cooked just for us since we were the only ones there.
The whole experience was really fun and it was a great way to spend our last night in Italy.

Room Tip: We loved our room number 45
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesMaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

THe day was very hot and the room didnt have air, (we were given fans) but despite that the charm of this place did capture us. At first glance of the farm and the room at the castle we thought ...not sure about this, but soon we were so happy to have chosen Rodrigo De Vivar. First the staff was excellant. Jacabo a university student working there for the summer, drove us around, helped us with money exchange, arranged our morning taxi, brought us the fans and was a great interpretor. Looking out the shuttered windows you felt immersed into the life of Italy. Then our dinner at the farm resturaunt La Kucino was fantastic and with outdoor rural charm. Also the ancient site of Ostia was a wonderful treasure. Despite it being a little too hot to be in great comfort, I would do it again. I think most tourists would be more pleased in the castle rooms, but the farm would be great for casual travelers or if you want to be in the country.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

If you book and end up at the "country" rooms, you are a mile or so away from the train. No phone at their place available by the ruins. No full time staff. You are on your own - even with your car and cell phone, as we had. We were charged $86.25 two days after we left, although the two night stay was paid for in it's entirety, without taking anything from the mini fridge. It is not worth the hassle to protest it, as they don't answer the phone and have no full time staff and have not answered my e mails. This whole place is run by a woman who shows up sometimes at the kitchen and a guy with a cell phone who lives in town. A place like this could never exist without internet bookings. By the way, if you can't sleep with dogs incessantly barking outside all night, don't stay at the country rooms (also, you really need a car if you stay there). No a/c and no screens, also.

I would avoid this place, and I'm not very picky. I just hate getting ripped off and scammed. There are other more legitimate places close by that have full time staff and no scamming.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krh2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ostia Antica hotels

San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

To call this place unconventional would be an understatement. We arrived at around 4 in the afternoon to a locked up office. There was no information or phone numbers on how to contact someone. We wandered around looking for an open office for about an hour before finding another family who was staying there who informed us you had to call them to get someone to let you in. Let me say that again, because we didn't know this before booking, THERE IS NO ONE AT THE OFFICE, YOU MUST CALL AND WAIT FOR SOMEONE TO SHOW UP TO LET YOU IN. Once we got in, the room (a suite really with two rooms) was very nice, although no air conditioning. The restaurant there in the little group of houses was amazing, though they don't speak any English. Very charming place once they let you in. Also, breakfast in the morning at La Kucina was very good and quant, but it's a small adventure trying to find it. They had free parking there, but be aware, its almost a full kilometer away from the hotel. You're much better off finding street parking nearby. If I was going to stay in Ostia Antica for a few days, it wouldn't be so bad, but the check in process was such an ordeal for just one night's stay, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanzosbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Had to look for someone to get us a room even though we had reservations. If you want to watch t.v. forget it. Had a cd player but that got tired quick. Had a room overlooking the courtyard but remember to close your window as there are people who hang their laundry out by your window. If you want the beach, your in the wrong hotel. Great location for the ostia antica site. Largest site I have ever seen. Had a band and they were hopping. Not a good thing when up in the morning for an early flight.

Room Tip: make sure their is no entertainment if you want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostia Antica
1.3 mi away
Ostia Antica Park Hotel & Spa
Ostia Antica Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ostia Antica
342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
3.6 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
3.3 mi away
Seccy Hotel
Seccy Hotel
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
689 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country

Property: Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country
Address: Via Rainaldo 18, 00119 Ostia Antica, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ostia Antica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ostia Antica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country house “Rodrigo de Vivar Resorts and Country” is in Central Italy, in Latium, at only 24 kilometres from Rome and five kilometres from the Fiumicino Airport.It is situated in the Roman Country, in the wide property of the Princes Aldobrandini, descendents of Pope Clemente II. It is close to the excavations of Ostia Antica and inside the Medieval “Borgo”, behind the old castle of Giulio II della Rovere. Some famous personages, such as the king Charles III of Borbone, Baldassarre Peruzzi, Pablo Picasso, Chagall and others stayed in some of our rooms in the Medieval “Borgo”.The country house consists of 10 rooms and 3 suites that are very comfortable and characterized by an unmistakable style: antique and refined furniture, fine chandeliers from Murano, original Persian carpets. It also has a very well stocked newspaper and periodical library, a videostore and a library.In each room you can find television, video-recorder, hairdryer, minibar and in "De luxe rooms" everything you need for you breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts And Country
Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country Hotel Ostia Antica
Rodrigo De Vivar Resorts & Country Ostia Antica, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing