We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4D3N comfortable and relaxing stay”
Review of 1511 Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1511 Coconut Grove
Ranked #1 of 3 Juara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4D3N comfortable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Andy the owner is very friendly :) Yana is a bit more busy and solemn but once engaged she is nice. Juara beach is paradise, one of the quietest and cleanest beaches you will find on Tioman though without white sand or very clear waters. More restaurants, wifi, and diving/snorkelling/kayak rentals are a 5 minute cycle away near the jetty, where snorkelling is better. Bring mats as there are no deck chairs at 1511. Food is nice and basic, don't get the pizza. Garlic butter fish and beef steak are much more sedap! Warning, Juara restaurants all close around 2-7pm so make sure you bring lots of snacks/cup noodles! The room and toilet are clean, everything works and pleasant decor, great sunrise view in bed from room L1. Those sensitive to sound might not like muffled bikes passing by fairly frequently in the daytime. There is no working wifi. 1511 is great for laidback unplugging and for low-maintenance and conscious guests.

Room Tip: L1! we scored a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nartlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at Coconut Grove for 3 days 2 nights. Plan to want a vacation at a place that out of urban city life. Found this chalet thru Tripadvisor and with the owner, Andy's arrangement, he had arranged me 2 rooms with sea view. The room is clean and the interior design is OK. The only cons for the room are wifi connection is very weak and no TV. The staff is friendly and nice. Basically, there are only 3 main workers in the chalet, Andy, his wife and 1 staff.

It is recommend to wash your leg before you step in the room as it may attract ants to your room. The chalet is located at another side of Tioman Island call Juara. That area is quite rural as there is a turtle sanctuary just right beside the chalet. The chalet owned a nice, long beach with crystal clear water. We just spend our vacation by rent bicycle from an auty near the chalet for about RM25 per day. Breakfast is provided in this chalet. We have our lunch and dinner at restaurants that near Kampung Juara with 10 minutes of bicycle ride.

I would recommend this chalet for those who want a peaceful vacation and stay away from urban area. This place was fabalous and private. I would suggest the owner to increase the manpower of his chalet so that there will be room service everyday. Besides, he may recruite some chef to cook better meal for his customers. I really ENJOY staying at this chalet.

Room Tip: Do not choose room number 3 & 4 as the seaview is blocked by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Absolutely grateful to Andy for arranging all the diving with Tioman Reef (Tekek) at the end because Amigo dive shop was a let down. The boatman missing and only shore dive is available. Steven (from dive shop) who had briefing with us don't seem like want to do business. Telling him how good is the diving service elsewhere in Asia. He replied Thai and Indonesians is desperate for jobs. Do make me laugh. So, Sipadan, Langkawi, Redang is not Malaysian. Basically, no diving in Juara. 1511 doesn't run diving centre anymore. Shame. Ended up spending more on taxi to Tekek daily for diving than the daily hotel rate.

1511 has the best crystal clear beach on the island but not a single duty free shop. Have to go to tekek buy wine, decent imported beer and chocolates.

Breakfast starts at 8am. Went to the bar at 8am for breakfast been told by the lady with the grumpy face (not a morning person) only can have plain toast because the kitchen still not open. What a joke! As they know taxi pick us at 8:30am for diving. Besides Andy, the rest of the people work at their own leisure.

Last day, they are 4 rooms leaving at the same time for early ferry back to Mersing, no initiative offering early breakfast takeaway for all of the customers.

There is no fridge in the room to cool our beer and wine. Just pop to the little restaurant outside hotel (the one with fish pond). Buy RM2 ice from them. Problem sorted. At night, we sat at the beach front platform with our cold beer and wine, playing light music on Bose Soundlink. Lit up tea light candle around. Chatting away. Best experience ever. We are not bother with no TV.

Had lunch at 1511 on the first day. Fantastic dishes but have to wait 2 hours for serving. Menu is same everyday. So, didn't have second meal even though we would like to. Ended having dinner at the restaurant with fish pond. Talipia cost only RM20 a kilo. Had 2 fish. Teach the old lady to steam the fish as she only know 1 cooking style. Very grumpy old lady. She won't serve fish when the day gets dark because her husband won't net the fish out the pond when he can't see it. So, have to go around 5pm the latest. lol

oh, yes. Bring your own beach towel and plastic cups for drinks and brushing teeth. We stated for 3 nights, no housekeeping at all time. Using the same towel.

If you want to go to the waterfall, ask Andy for a shorter route. The one you'll need to cross the river. Took us only 35mins easy path with sandals. Worth it. Don't follow the 2 hours route sign.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Usually when staying on a small island for a couple of days at any style of accommodation you dip your toes into a place and skim the surface of how it operates...we, on the other hand, firmly planted our feet at 1511 Coconut Grove on Tioman’s Juara Beach for three fabulous weeks and were treated like royalty, or what Andy, and his lovely wife Luz described to all the other guests we ate and drank with at their lovely bar, their ‘long staying house guests Mr Nige & Han’!

Our home away from home was a well appointed A-Frame beach chalet, 30 seconds from the Juara surf. It had air con, if you needed it, an overhead fan, a large double bed and a shower in the bathroom with hot water facility if you wanted it, and a view of the sunrise that we photographed almost every morning around 7am. Power and fresh water is not a problem on the island because of the micro climate over the mountain which provides hydro power from the almost constant flow of water down the mountain thus avoiding a guilt complex when you need to cool off quickly with the air con, or forget to turn the tap off (this still caused my wife to be mad though!). Our room was cleaned and linens refreshed every two days and there was no sign of mosquitoes as the cleanliness of all areas in and around the chalets was always maintained.

We read on other Tripadvisor reports about accommodations on the Tekek side of the island that sand flies were a problem, but not at 1511, “cleanliness is next to ‘godliness’”, as the saying goes and this is why it is not a problem on Juara Beach. Juara is definitely the quiet side of the island and we are very glad we made the right choice to stay there.

We ventured, every week day, over to the other side of the island to dive with Tioman Dive Centre at Swiss Cottage, another Andy recommendation that is run by the lovely Rosie and her excellent team of dive instructors and dive masters. The difference between the two sides of the island is quite dramatic, more hustle and bustle and a lot more traffic on the Tekek side, and with more places to eat compared with the quieter Juara side.

At 1511 Coconut Grove the cleaning staff and ground clearing staff around the chalets were constantly cheerful and laughing while they were working, and courteous to a fault, this is a true reflection of a good employer when the staff are happy in their work.

The food is cooked to order by Luz, Andy’s wife, and if you wanted anything ‘off menu’ you could request it, in fact because we were ‘long staying guests’ Luz said she preferred if we let her know what we wanted to eat so we were happy, what more could you want!

Yana, the girl who worked tirelessly at the bar, always had our coffee ready, hot and just the way we like it, when we arrived at the bar in the morning, our walk to the bar was about 20 metres and when we sat at the bar Yana was always eager to hear what we wanted for breakfast and what we had planned for our day ahead.

Andy organised everything, transport to and from the jetty upon arrival and departure. We wanted to hire a motorbike, he got us a new bike at a cheap rate, we wanted to take a taxi over the hill every day to our dive shop, he arranged for discount. A snorkelling tour around the island, magical to see sharks and a turtle on our first day, and a waterfall hike was our first excursion. Unfortunately we got a little sunburnt on the trip, so Andy got us some real aloe vera to soothe our hot skin.

Food, where do I start? Breakfast for me was two soft boiled eggs, 4 minutes of boiling with toast, cooked to perfection every time. My wife had French toast, or a banana pancake, sometimes without banana because they had no bananas, ha, ha! Lunch was a variety of dishes from seafood or chicken fried rice, meals in themselves with Luz’s portion sizing, or chicken adobo, or sweet and sour chicken or vegetable curry, to name just a few. Dinner was usually similar to lunch offerings plus additional dishes, sometimes depending on a fresh catch of mackerel, or supplies brought in from the mainland, but always fresh and cooked to order. One day a group of Singaporean school friends arrived, we originally thought they were 7 Sumo wrestlers on vacation, they were huge! What a great bunch of guys but we wondered how Luz was going to cope with their food demands...no problem, Luz took their order to be served at 7pm, the dining table next to the bar was covered with so much food at 6.58pm that I took a photograph, it was like a banquet for 14 people as each of the guys had ordered two meals each!

My wife and I highly recommend staying at 1511 Coconut Grove, it was a perfect setting, super value, clean and well appointed accommodation, a great bar to get to know fellow travellers, fantastic food, great service from both the owners and home away from home.

Room Tip: Third chalet away from the bar, quiet yet convenient with one step access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PARKY19630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have stayed 4 nights at Coconut Grove and we can only give positive feedback about our great stay. We've stayed in one of the bungalows with an amazing sea view from your own veranda.
The rooms are very clean, new and modern.

The staff is very friendly and social and Andy (the owner) is giving excellent service and has lots of great stories about the Island.

The breakfast, which was included, was fine as well. Everyday you could choose out of 4 different options. They also provide lunch and diner and almost every night we had dinner there which was very tasty. All the meals were delicious and are cooked by Andy's wife. Besides the great food all the evenings were very nice because you sit around the bar with the other guests (and Andy off course) and it was great to meet new people and to hear all the travel stories.

The beach is amazing and it was very peaceful and quite. If you like snorkeling you can just snorkel right in front of Coconut Grove were we've seen amazing fishes, turtles and a lot of rays.

Just one point for improvement, there were no umbrella's available and there is hardly any shadow at the beach, so this makes it difficult to spend a day at the beach.

Overall, we had a great stay at Coconut Grove and the service of Andy and his team is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Amsterdam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Quet place on the beautiful beach, very friendly and helpful stuff. Nice and comfortable chalets. We were here after Christmas and there was a problem with ferry /because its monsun season/, but we enjoyed our trip on speedboat from Mersing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilyusheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and everything was great. Resort is on the less developed side of the island, you have to cross it from the ferry to get there. The journey is really adventure, as the car needs to cross the mountain, really funny.
The place is new, bungalow are very nice and clean with beautiful sea view. Resort offers diving and snorkeling trips. in the bar they serve great food and you can chat with owner Andy and rest of his team. Andy and all staff are very helpful and nice guys. Close to the resort there are few restaurants on the beach, waterfalls and turtle farm.
If you don't look for luxury just relaxing holidays, this place is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juara
4.9 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
6.2 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
4.6 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
5.5 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1511 Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1511 Coconut Grove

Property: 1511 Coconut Grove
Address: Juara, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Juara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Juara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
1511 Coconut Grove Juara, Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing