We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wishing I was there now!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Ranked #1 of 4 Tekek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Travelling with our two sons (aged 9 and 7) means we usually don't get to relax much. But Swiss Cottage Tioman was different. Even the kids got into the swing of it and managed to soak up the stress free atmosphere. As other reviews have noted, it's not fancy, but the room is not the reason you stay here. The location is beautiful and even though it is quite close to a busy part of the island, it is a total oasis. The staff are really friendly and helpful and gave great advice on everything from restaurant recommendations to the best snorkelling spots (their advice helped my kids find 'Nemo' at a beautiful spot right off the beach!). The snorkelling off the beach out the front of the cottages was excellent and safe. My husband did some diving with the Tioman Dive Centre that operates out of the site and he was thrilled with the quality of the service. Our veranda looked out over a lovely garden that attracted butterflies, lizards and monkeys. There were a lot of cats, which we loved. Breakfast was nice and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance for lunch and dinner. Do book ahead - I saw a number of disappointed people turned away because it was full.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bec73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Bec73,
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for taking the time to let us know. We are so pleased we could help your sons find "Nemo" so close to the beach- they must have been excited! Even better to hear that you got to relax together with your two boys. Hope to welcome you again in the future and wishing you all the best.

Warm greetings from the Swiss Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 307 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a very overdue review from our stay earlier this year.
Max & I had the most relaxing & peaceful time at Swiss cottage. Richard & Stella were exceptional hosts. Two weeks of unwinding in a beachfront cabin was the medicine the doctor ordered.
They made us feel welcome and part of the family. Stella's mother's b'day was an everyone's invited affair and a great night which brought all the guests together for an al fresco banquet. (Thanks Franceso for the cocktails!)
This place is special because it doesn't have all the bells & whistles of a modern resort. Put your pack near the bed and chill. Sure the taps leaked & the shower sprayed everywhere...big deal.
I first travelled in SE Asia back in the 70's and it was some adventure.
This was just like the old days. And that's no disservice by any stretch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy_Hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Jeremy,
Thank you so much for writing this nice review; it was a pleasure to have you both here - you were great company! Glad you enjoyed the birthday and the garden dinner, it's always great to see everyone come together when we've got something to celebrate. You're very right, we're not a fully decked out holiday resort, but it's precisely the open and relaxed atmosphere you're describing that we're trying to create. We did a lot of maintenance over the monsoon, so those leaky tabs should also be taken care of.

Hope to welcome you both again some day.

Warm greetings from the
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

What you get in Swiss cottage is something you can't get in 5 star hotels. The friendship and hospitality that the owner and the staff offer, provide a very friendly atmosphere.
The texture of the hotel is quite natural and makes you feel relieved from the stress of city life.
Staying in Swiss cottage was a chance to live in an international friendly community and share information about our cultures.
Rooms are clean and in good condition and perfectly worth the price you pay. Do not be looking for the kind of luxury you usually find in 5-star hotels.
Be ware of sand fly which is a part of east coast in Malaysia and don't forget your mosquito repellent. You can do lots of snorkeling and diving which is amazing. But again don't forget the sun protection cream.

Room Tip: You don't need air con in rooms, the breeze or the fan makes it more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hesamsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Hesamsem,
thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for us - it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and create a relaxed and open atmosphere and we're happy to hear that's how you've experienced your time here. We'd love to have you back in the future and wish you all the best.

Warm greetings from the Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were there for a 3D2N trip. Francesco and Richard were very much helpful. The place is relaxing. Accommodation sits perfectly with basic needs all catered for. The sea view bungalow was exceptionally cosy! We loved it! Unfortunately, I sprained my leg the first day and couldn't do much as planned. I would definitely come back! Totally an experience!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Haven03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Haven03,
Thank you for writing this review for us. Always makes our day to get positive feedback.Sorry to read about your leg. We hope you have fully recovered by now.Happy to hear you want to come back with new opportunities to explore.

Warm Greetings
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were very lucky to get the sea view chalet and it was great value for money. There is also a diving booth there so if you wanted to go diving, it is so convenient. There is a seafood restaurant if you walk out a little. To have a nice drink at a bar or just to chill out with other travellers, you could get a taxi (by asking somebody from the restaurant) to get you to a small little bar called A Peace Place or Sunset Bar. Make sure the taxi driver can drive you home as it would be too far to walk back from these bars mentioned! Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mel862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Mel 862,
thank you for your positive review; it's great to hear you enjoyed yourself at our place and also had fun meeting our other guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Until then, all the best from the Swiss Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

A must go to.

Literally 10/ 15 min walk from Tekek jety.

Little chalet, right on the beach, surrounded by 2 scuba diving shop. Rooms are just the right size (not too small, not too big) as most of the day is spent outside.

Nice, friendly, and helpfull staff, as se are the owners.

Relax and chilled out place you can easily stay couple of days, and price is ok too.

Just go to this affix place. You'll love it :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantionzot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Tantionzot,
thank you very much for your nice review- we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best from the Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Swiss cottage for three days in the garden view chalet and then later for nine days in the sea view chalets - both excellent and good value. the Sea view chalet was very spacious, a few metres from the beach with a balcony, wonderful views and a hammock to take it all in - very relaxing. Our view was that the accommodation is more than just basic compared with other accommodation on the island - well designed and furnished, very clean, hot showers, AC or fan and everything you need. Yes there are mosquitoes and sand flies but its Tioman so that's part of the package. What also makes it a great place to stay without doubt is the staff - Rob, Francesco, Rich and Stella were all extremely helpful, friendly and very happy to provide advice and assistance whenever needed. Breakfast was included and changes every day. I note a previous review complaining about size of breakfast but seemed fine to us and if you want more then just ask. Another bonus is the availability off cold filtered water on tap and beer and soft drinks from the fridge. If you don't like cats then this may not be the place for you but the cats are well looked after, clean and not overpowering with their presence. In fact they seem as chilled out as everyone else there. Also of course there are cats everywhere on the island. The appearance of a couple of rabbits while we were there was a surprise to everyone - just hope they survive the monitor lizards! The staff arranged an evening. meal for everyone one night with excellent food and a great opportunity to chill out and share experiences. The excellent dive school right next door by is great if you're looking for diving and the snorkelling straight of the beach is wonderful. Tekek has a good variety of places to eat I didn't get bored at all with the choices. All in all a great place to stay - would definitely return

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the Sea view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimBirgitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear JimBirgitte,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us - it's lovely to hear you had such a good time with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here and hope you'll be able to come back to stay here again.

All the best from the Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
0 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
538 reviews
0 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
0 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
82 reviews
0 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Tioman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tekek
Price Range: $25 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing