We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5-star service - would stay here again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Cottage Tioman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Ranked #1 of 4 Tekek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“5-star service - would stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We missed our ferry to Tioman – got so worried and rang Stella about it. Stella was so kind & we didn’t get charge for the 1st night. In normal circumstances, we would have been charged.

On our arrival, Stella & Richard served us hot coffee & we get to enjoy the delicious roti canai. Unlike other reviews, Swiss Cottage is a place for both divers & non-divers. There are so many things to be done.

We loved everything about the place – the room, food & friendly people in Tekek! Their cats are harmless but do watch out for the monkeys as I have witnessed a monkey picking on our neighbour’s chips & cookies. Their breakfast was simple but delicious – loved their banana pancake.

We had to leave early at 6.15am & our taxi was nowhere to be seen. I got so worried & ring the bell & woke Richard up from his sleep. I felt very guilty & we got a bigger surprise when Richard got on his bike & gave us a ride to the jetty. He dropped us off with our luggage– we had a 20” luggage & a dive gear bag. It was quite an experience & a big thank you to Richard.

To Stella, Richard & other staff in Swiss Cottage, thanks so much for your great hospitality & for giving us the best holiday.

Swiss Cottage is a great place with a 5 star service & highly recommended to all.

Tips to travellers: Don't forget to check the ferry schedule & their sea view bungalow sells like a hot cake. Please book in advance. :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cycg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi cycg,
We appreciate all the positive things you have to say about us.
I agree with you that Monkeys can become vicious if they get in to a habit of being fed. We do not encourage them to come to our premises but they are very clever when it comes to finding their food.
Its wonderful to be surrounded by so much wild life but we also believe it is necessary to respect their natural habitat.The cats around our premises are all domesticated and fed twice a day. We only have two more cats to bring to the vet till we can proudly say that all our cats are
sterilized.
We hope there will be a way to organize sterilization programs for this island in future,as it is frustrating to watch sickly looking cats walking around the village.
Thanks again for writing this review! We are very happy to read you had a good time and hope you will be back for more banana pancakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    97
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
137
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong East, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 days 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves in Tioman. Stella & Richard greeted us upon arrival and ask us if were would like a drink. They were very welcoming and friendly! The place was comfy and you'll feel homely. Breakfast was nice. They served different kinds of breakfast every single day. We stayed in the Terrace non A/C room and I must say I was impressed though it was simple. It was really nice and comfortable for the two of us. There's hot shower too! But beware of mosquitoes at night, they'll bite you but not to worry as there are mosquitoes nets in the room. Cat lovers, this is the place for you. (: Swiss cottage is located at the end of kampung tekek so you either have to walk from the jetty which is quite a distance or you can take a taxi which prolly gonna take up only 5 mins, so I suggest its better to walk. There's restaurants if you would like to eat and stuffs but I would suggest you head down to Rozita's food place, its VERY nice. The food, the drinks, I would highly recommend it! There's bike for rental somewhere near swiss cottage area too so its easy for people to get around without having to spend much $$ on taxi's or renting a moped. Overall it was a nice place to stay! Highly recommend! (:

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hakim428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi Hakim,
Glad you enjoyed yourselves in Tioman, despite the impressive rain showers we had when you arrived.The mosquitoes can get nasty after the rain but we are glad the nets helped. There is also a spray called OFF that you can buy on the island which I personally find most effective. But hopefully your next stay will not involve too many mosquitoes.The Bicycles are definitely the best way to explore the village and Rosita is yummy, friendly and extremely affordable.
Thanks for this review and the good advise. We appreciate it and others will too.
Hope to welcome you here again soon.

Kind greetings
From all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

spent 3 nights in one of their clean and cozy chalets. The attention to details is really good and Richard and his wife (sorry, forgot the name) were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is included and cooked from fresh every morning which is a nice touch compare to boring stale buffets served elsewhere. The surrounding has plenty of green and nice plants all well maintained. The reception has a self service fridge always stocked up with fresh beer and soft drink. The beach is clean and there is a great diving school if you decide to get a PADI.We didn't but the snorkeling around there was good enough. The only bar in Tekek Cabana is only a few min walk down the beach which is handy for when staggering back in the evening. Good wild life too with (vicious) monkeys and massive monitor lizards not too far away. Seriously, this is your best best in Tekek don't bother look anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hey Francesco!
Thank you for this review.It was nice of you to express your appreciation when you were here.It makes us appreciate what we do and what we have here even more.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. You always know the food is good when the plates come back empty.Today we served some of the mango's that I managed to pluck before the monkeys got to them first.
Sadly we need to cut that Tree down for several reasons, but it will at least keep the monkeys away from throwing the mangos on the roof in the morning :-)
Wishing you all the best and hoping to see you again here someday.

Kind regards
from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of September and had a lovely time. Stella, Richard and Nikita were very welcoming. We stayed in a sea view chalet which was simple but clean and functional. The breakfasts were nice and sufficient to fill you up. It is a very relaxing environment at Swiss Cottage with not much to do but relax and enjoy the gorgeous sea/beach. We didn't use the diving centre facility ourselves but it seemed quite busy. The two restaurants down the road were very good and are highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for this review. It always makes us happy to read lovely things about our place and Tioman!
We are also excited to have some time during the monsoon to make the place look good for next year. Would be great to have you here again someday and we hope the both of you are still feeling relaxed from your holiday!
Warm greetings from all us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and had a great time on Tioman. The Swiss cottages are spread out over a garden and some face the sea. We stayed in a beach front chalet, which are fan only, but exude a real "Robinson Crusoe" feel. The room has ambience, but the front porch with the hammock and chairs and table allow comfort while watching the great scenery. Your room is not made up every day and there are no toiletries provided. They happily change the bed linen and towels for extended stays like ours. The breakfasts are simple with no choice, but they do change daily and they cater more for Westerners.
There are a few restaurants not far down the road from here.
The reception staff Richard and Stella are delightful as are the rest of their staff. They seem to run a happy place.
If you want a tropical paradise holiday without the crowds, and nice people running it, this place is for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for writing this review. You were great guests and it was a pleasure to have you here! We hope you have many more wonderful experiences on your future travels together.

Kind regards from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Swiss cottage for about 6 days. You can walk there by foot from the Tekek airport or the Jetty. We are non divers, so it was little boring in Tekek. In first days we walked to Juara and to Ayer Batang (ABC), but then it was not much to do here. Then we moved to Salang where it was a better place for swimming and snorkeling.
We stayed at Swiss on the beach front chalet, but there are 2 dive centres on both sides just next to the chalets and the divers and boats were noisy to the late night and then soon in the morning. And it was little bit confused that you find a flyer at the chalet that you have to be quiet and use just a little lightings at night because of the turtles. Well, there were no turtles because of the shinning light and noise from the resort on the right side (next to the chalets)...
Accomodation was not cheap, but it is normal for this island, we had a clean and nice room with mosquito net (which was small and we always found it open in the morning), bathroom was simple with hot shower but do not forget to take the soap with you, there is not any.
Breakfasts were simple, yes, it was every day different but at all it was very similar. We found that there were the most cats from all the places around the Tioman (about 20?).
About restaurants, the chinese restaurant nearest to the Swiss cottage was expensive and it was opened just during weekend? But next to it is a good indian restaurant (but opened only for dinner). For lunch it was hard to find some open restaurant - one day we went to Pizza bakery and the owner closed just at 12:30 and went somewhere for the lunch. :)
About the beach, it was empty but little bit rocky so be careful and be aware of the monkeys, they stole our camera from the plastic bag when we were in the sea :(

So this place is good for divers, for other people about 2-3 days is enough and then you can find other nice places on the island...

Room Tip: Beach chalets are nice but there should be noise from the divers and boats. Rooms has a hot shower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LailaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you LailaCZ for your review. We value your feedback, even though we can see that you did not have the best of times here in Tekek. When the monkeys took your camera while you were swimming at the end of the beach, I have to say I was just as shocked as you. Of course this has never happened before and I think its quite unfortunate that we did not manage to find it after searching through all the leaves and accessible jungle. I guess the cheeky little monkey must have taken it, thinking it was a red apple or sweet and dropped it further in to the jungle and out of our reach.

Personally I think that there is a lot of things to do in Tekek, after all we are situated in the centre of the island. The snorkelling just off the beach at Swiss Cottage is very good and we often see turtles, rays, sharks and many different kinds of fish and corals. We have a huge expanse of beautiful untouched beach which is ideal for swimming. There are paths for trekking to Juara, Salang, Paya and Genting. Boat trips out to the islands are easily arranged as well as 4x4 trips to Juara. For those who wish to be less active, we have a good selection of books and DVD's to choose from and of course we have free WIFI too! The only downside to some, would be Tekek's lack of nightlife as at night it tends to be very quite here, there is just the one bar which is about 500m from the resort. There are quite a few restaurants in Tekek and we are in the process of listing these on our website with a short description of the best dishes that they offer. If you were not sure on where to eat and what to do you should have just asked us, we are always more than willing to give our guests advice on what to do and where to eat and we can help you arrange boat trips and 4x4 taxi's as well.

In my opinion Swiss Cottage and Tekek is definitely not a diver only place, in fact most of our guests are non divers. Tioman Dive Centre is located at our resort and there is also one more dive centre located next door to us. The dive centres open at around 9am and are usually closed before nightfall, but on occasion they may be open later if there are guests that want to do a night dive. In this case they are usually closed by 9pm.

The secluded beach next to Swiss Cottage is a turtle nesting area. There was a turtle nesting there no less then 3 weeks ago. The Leaflets that we have in the Sea View rooms are provided by the Juara Turtle Project, who are trying to do a good thing by encouraging people to not use bright lights on the beach and that is the reason why we use the yellow lights on the verandas of the Sea View rooms. Of course this does not mean that you will see a turtle nesting right in front of your chalet. We advise any guests that do find a turtle nesting on the dark secluded side of the beach to not disturb them by shining a torch or using flash photography and to please notify us as soon as possible.

We used to provide soap in our chalets but stopped doing it because people were just not using it and when they did they usually just used it the once and we ended up throwing away heeps of soap everyday. You can buy soap on the island if you forget to bring your own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a sea front chalet for a few nights. The chalet was right on the beach as promised with lovely views over rest of the beach and out to sea. The balcony on the front of the chalet was the best feature - lovely and big with good furniture.

Sometimes it was quite hot with just a fan in the room - we slept with both our windows wide open to make the most of the breeze. Could be improved by at least having a bar of soap in the room. Also would be good to have staff available in reception more often as quite often it was deserted when we had questions with no way to get hold of anyone.

Excellent dive centre on site which is very convenient!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Han7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you Han7 for your good review. We are glad that you had a good time and that you liked your room and the balcony of course. And I have to say that you are right when you say it is one of the best features of the room, there is nothing more relaxing then watching the sunset from your hammock or chair and listening to the gentle sounds of the sea. I am sorry to hear though that there was nobody at the reception when you needed. The reception is open between 8am and 2pm daily. We are often there till late at night, but this is not always possible. If we are not at the reception then we can usually be found in our room which is located on site. Thank you for your valuable input we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
6.5 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.2 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
0.6 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
6.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Tioman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Property: Swiss Cottage Tioman
Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tekek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing