We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Portas da Amazonia
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Sao Luis
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great experience...maybe I got lucky this time, as I got a nice and spacious room for a (relative) small price directly contacting them, so try your luck (I just paid 120+5%, below rack value). the breakfast is okay, the pizzaria next door is full of mosquitos but the room is just great. If you arrive by plane just take a taxi from the airport (pre-paid, 40Rs coopertaxi) as in my case the hotel taxi never came, and yes they did try to charge me for it when I checked out. The city it self is in appaling state, falling apart , which is such a shame, so it takes you one day to see it before you get depressed....there is a nice cultural museum on carnaval and religion up in the same road, with no singage but still nice. Around the corner, at the bottom of Rua de Alfandega, before the parking lot, there is a nice foodstall where you can sample typical local food for 10 or 12 Rs from the two ladies. take it one step further and sit down (virtually next to the parkinglot) while sipping your 3,5 Rs coconut and watching life go by. No better dinner as right there.

Room Tip: higher up always better as less street noice....
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikskio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Portas da Amazonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 450 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the 3 first nights of our stay in Brazil in this Pousada and felt warmly welcome. It is located in the heart of the historic old town. The breakfast was the best we ever had since, the rooms are spacious and the entire buildings charming with a lot of corners to hang out and relax. The staff is friendly and helps you to organize your trips and further connections. Only minus: The Wi-Fi is a bit weak.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

In any of the Centro Historicos in more developed and commercialized restored colonial places in Brazil, this pousada would be an also-ran, but in Sao Luis where things are not nearly as far along as Paraty, Porto Galinhas, Morro Sao Paolo, Oro Preto and most of Minas and elsewhere, Portas da Amazonia is about as good as it gets. Old building with functional restoration and updating provides a good enough if unmemorable stay. Room furnishings basic, no artesenata or special touches, just simple. No modern things added to old windows and shutters. One huge negative point is that transom above the door consists of a wooden lattice through which mosquitos have liberal access: even with ceiling fan, cannot sleep without insect repellent here. Room for this stay in front of building facing main street, noise level what to be expected for a weekend night, besides you'll be out there in the midst of it until the fun runs out. Breakfast included as was internet (ok, but not so good for streaming), limited TV channels. Booked on agoda, paid in cash at hotel in local currency. Be sure to get and retain your receipt in case you are double-billed. Located on pedestrian street, walk to and from taxi was not far.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a rustic guesthouse right in the center of the historical district, on one of the most photographed steets in Sao Luis; very comfortable and very well furnished. It was a great base from which to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AudreyH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a very quirky hotel, in the middle of the historic centre in Sao Luis. Location is very good once you are there, but the taxi can only drop you off at the top of a hill where you have to come down some stairs and then go up half a street. This can be tricky if you have heavy bags. If you come out for a walk, it is just around the corner from where all the action is. Lots of small and bigger bars are very nearby and at least on a Friday evening there are lots of "concerts" by local artists going on in bars or sponsored by another entity. This gives the place an amazing energy, but if you are after an early night, be sure to bring earplugs (at least on Friday nights, when we stayed). Staff is courteous and helpful, breakfast plentiful, tasty and with a really relaxed feel in the internal courtyard. There is a Wi-Fi area next to reception that worked well. Rooms are large, or at least the superior are, also having a superb view over the street. The windows don't seal well, so there were a few mosquitoes in the room. Bring repellent. You are in Maranhao after all! I would still recommend this hotel even considering a couple of negative points.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koyasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were very much impressed by this old mansion that has been renovated, but kept its original charm. In that respect it really is unique. Even the spacious rooms still have the original atmosphere. Staff is friendly and professional. Breakfast was nothing special, and we got a bit annoyed by the (enormous) amount of fruit flies over the breakfast buffet. With hindsight we found the location not ideal. Considering that we stayed in Sao Luis for a couple of days and that a one day visit to the old center would have been enough. In that respect a hotel at the beach would have been more practical.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

When I booked this Inn I was interested in the experience of being in a XIX colonial house and the experience was really amazing. The building was totally renovated without missing its caractheristics and the result is a nice Inn in the middle of the historic center. My room was large (I just have some problems with the key, because it's the same since the XIX century..lolol), bed was comfortable and I feel really at home being there. The bathroom was ok, not large nor little . I think the decoration of the the whole hotel was really nice, because the use many handicraft typical of Maranhão. I loved the internal lounge where you could have access wi-fi for free . The breakfast was good and the Inn has a nice pizzaria inside. The staff was really friendly and helpfull and I'm sure I would stay on this hotel on my next trip to São Luís. The only two bad aspects of my stay here: 1- the hotel is good but the area isn't so safe( I have no problem but you should be carefull) 2- if you need absolute silence for sleep isn't a good idea stay in a room with the view of the street, because it's noisy untill late if you are staying in a weekend .

Room Tip: If you need absolute silence for sleeping,it isn't a good idea stay in a room with the view of t...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tati_Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Luis hotels
City Center
Grand Seo Luis Hotel
Grand Seo Luis Hotel
#10 of 34 in Sao Luis
661 reviews
Hotel Luzeiros Sao Luis
#1 of 34 in Sao Luis
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soft Inn Sao Luis
#16 of 34 in Sao Luis
404 reviews
Litoranea Praia Hotel
#7 of 34 in Sao Luis
241 reviews
Praia Mar Hotel
#20 of 34 in Sao Luis
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Portas da Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Portas da Amazonia

Address: Rua do Giz, N. 129 | Praia Grande, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65010-680, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Maranhao > Sao Luis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Sao Luis
Price Range: $37 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Portas da Amazonia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house was born from the architectural restoration of a colonial mansion of the eighteenth century, located in the historic city center, the Inn has a rustic decor with vines, rattan, bamboo, straw, crafts and stones, in addition to antique furniture that makes the difference in the environment . In the evening the fixtures delight the corridors of the hostel, illuminating the garden to the pizzeria, which runs all night, serving typical Italian pasta. The Inn has 36 rooms, and works with 24-hour reception.   Hostel is situated in a fallen section of the track, which is not allowed the flow of vehicles, but just five meters the traffic is normal, the street that leads to the Grand Street, City Mall which is about 75m. The beaches and the Laguna Jansen are located about 04km. Already from the airport, it is about 17km. Bus is located about 12km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Portas da Amazonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Portas Da Amazonia Sao Luis, Maranhao, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing