We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing hotel and a good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cesar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cesar
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“relaxing hotel and a good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Like other reviewers, we found this a really relaxing and quiet place to stay. Its a family run place so the service is really personal and people are warm. The rooms are clean and ours had a partial view of the sea. We stayed during the summer so we have been able to eat at the restaurant outdoors and found the food homely and delicious. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a partial view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank os243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    88
    41
    22
    16
See reviews for
39
141
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spending some time in Vilanova for a meeting, our host recommended this hotel. Arriving around 4 in the afternoon, I could immediately go to my room which was on the first floor. The first impression was good, nothing special, a single bed, a tiny tv mounted to the wall and a tiny fridge. The bathroom was ok, not especially clean, some rusty pipes. The shower/bathtub was decent, although the temperature kept changing during showering, not drastically but still. The air conditioning worked and was needed since the heating was turned off during the day. Besides that, the room was very quiet I barely heard anything from the outside.
For me the worst part was the breakfast room which was separated from the main building. It's walls are mainly made out of glass which probably gives it a nice atmosphere in summer. However, in winter/spring when it is still chilly outside, this not isolated room gives one really the feeling of sitting outside at 5-10 degrees celsius, so to wear a jacket is advised. The breakfast itself consisted of a croissant, two buns, one slice of cheese, two kinds of marmalade, two slices of sausage and a glass of orange juice. Maybe during summer, they do have a real buffet but for me this was a little bit disappointing. The only things you could refill were the beverages, coffee, orange juice and milk.
One of the big advantages of this hotel is, that it is really close to the beach. You can reach the water within 3-5 min which is really nice. In addition, the main shopping street with a lot of restaurants and so, is also close by.
The last point I want to mention is the wireless network, which unfortunately only worked when I was the only one using it or it felt convenient for the network. Sometimes I could load for example youtube videos without any problems or delays and then in other cases I couldn't even load the webpage. Not really stable. I made this point already previously during other reviews, I have trouble to understand why it is so hard to get a working wifi network running for you hotel especially when you advertise with it.
If you don't consider the breakfast and the wifi, it was a decent hotel with clean enough rooms. Probably during summer, the breakfast experience will improve. In the future, I might consider this hotel again when I am coming back to Vilanova and don't have to work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naraew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have visited Vilanova many times but never stayed in this hotel before. It originally dates from the 19th Century but has a large modern block where the bedrooms are. It is a family owned and run business and the service was impeccable, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was large and airy and the bathroom was deluxe. It was extremely clean but as with all older properties, it did have some scuffs and stains and is probably due a major overhaul.

The kitchen was closed for the winter and we only saw a couple of other guests while we were there so it felt like we had the place to ourselves, There is a huge outdoor roof terrace with tables and chairs and also an enclosed sun room. We spent the afternoons up there reading our books and sipping a chilled bottle of vino blanco. Very relaxing.

The hotel is quiet, being off the main road, but perfectly situated for the long golden beach and the centre of town. There are plenty of good restaurants and bars but again, being winter, they tend not to open in the evenings, just at lunch.

All in all, it's a really relaxing place to go and unwind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottieDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanainae, Propietario at Hotel Cesar, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay so much!!
Thank you again and Happy New Year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came across this hotel by chance and were very pleased to have stayed the night. Great restaurant; very close to a nice beach; huge, clean room with free wifi and HD flatscreen TV; very friendly and helpful staff; very nicely decorated throughout. Definitely worth a stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeldenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice beach hotel, with ancient charm. Our room was quiet and it had everything we needed. Good for calm holidays. The staff was friendly and helpful, but with some people of the staff the conversation was not so easy, because they only spoke spanish or catalan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrin-lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanainae, Director General at Hotel Cesar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank your very much for your nice opinion. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards, Joanaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first visit to Spain, we had stayed in Barcelona for 4 nights and then decided to come here for 4 nights as it was only 40 minutes away from Barcelona on the train and the beaches looked nice. This hotel was the same price as the budget hotel that we had been staying in, in Barcelona (Pension 45) but here you get so much more for your money, the hotel was lovely.
We chose an executive room with a computer (same price as a normal double) but as it turned out the computer was ancient and we couldn't seem to get it connected to the internet. This didn't bother us too much as there was free wi-fi so we were able to access the internet with our phones instead.
The room itself was great, quite big and the bed and pillows were enormous, really really comfy. We also had a small fridge in the room which was handy as we were able to keep our drinks cool in it. The flatscreen TV wasn't great - we could only get a handful of channels working which were all in Spanish but again not a problem as were weren't really there to watch TV.
The bathroom was nicely decorated and seemed quite new. We had a bath with a fantastic shower above it, and the toiletries that were included were good quality, including a lovely little pot of bath salts which I used when I had a nice long soak in the bath.
On the first night I was kept awake by the aircon that was leaking and dripping on the floor. This resulted in a very large puddle of water on the bedroom floor. We mentioned this at reception and when we got back later their solution was to put the bin under it to catch the water (which didn't really work so still had a large puddle of water on the floor and were still kept awake by the dripping).
One other things that was a little annoying was the towels. As the hotel has a small pool with jacuzzi, it said at reception that you could hire towels for the pool. We decided to do this at the cost of 3 euros each as it was refundable. We ended up keeping the towels for a couple of days but when we took them back to reception to get our money back they wouldn't give us it so this meant we had no towels for the pool on our last day as we didn't want to spend another 6 euros if we weren't going to get this back.
The pool and the jacuzzi were nice, although the pool did look bigger on their website. We always had the pool to ourselves although there were only about 4 sunbeds so perhaps good that it wasn't busy when we went! There is also a sauna which I was looking forward to using but when we got there we found that it was only available from 7pm-9pm and you had to let them know an hour in advance. So in the end we never got round to having a sauna.
We didn't eat breakfast here or have a meal in the restaurant so can't comment on that. We did have a few cocktails in the evening which were good although one night the person that was on didn't know how to make a pina colada so we had to settle for a mojito instead.
Despite the problems that we had, none of them were major (although the air-con situation was a little annoying) we would gladly stay here again. The hotel was in a good location just near the beach and all of the restaurants on the seafront. This was a great place to go to, to get some peace and quiet at a much cheaper price than Barcelona. Hopefully we will come back to Vilanova again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheeparecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanainae, Propietario at Hotel Cesar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you found our hotel nice and has a good value. We consider the problems you explain and we will make the best we can to improve them.
We are already arrenging the computers in the room, also arranging the aire conditioning dripping.
We will alsoteach everyone how to make a Pinacolada.
Thank you very much and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, brilliant! The decoration throughout is well thought out, lovely, basic but lovely. Someone has an eye for art! Very homely, really relaxing. The bed and bedding was so comfy we are shopping for a new bed tomorrow ha!
We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked lovely. We ate at the spit roast chicken place, bar n grill, Mexican place all on the Rambla.
We caught the 'Mon' bus from Barcelona airport it cost 13 euro for two people. The towns are wrote on the side of the bus to guide you where to get off. One day we caught the train into Barcelona that cost 6 euros return for two, really easy.
I don't know what the town is like in summer but it was perfect for us as it was just full of Spanish people which this is what we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwestwkenders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanainae, Director General at Hotel Cesar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very nice for your nice and sweet opinion.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanova i la Geltru
0.1 mi away
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
#1 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceferino
Hotel Ceferino
#2 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gatell Hotel
Gatell Hotel
#6 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solvi
Hotel Solvi
#4 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Desitges
Hotel Desitges
#2 of 2 in Sant Pere de Ribes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cesar

Property: Hotel Cesar
Address: C/ Isaac Peral 4, 08800 Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vilanova i la Geltru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vilanova i la Geltru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cesar Vilanova i La Geltru, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing