We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WiFi - Woe Fi more like!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vilanova Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vilanova Park
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WiFi - Woe Fi more like!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great week spent on the park, very clean, good facilities, two great pools, no slides though. Night entertainment not up to much. Well stocked supermarket with own bakery, daily newspapers and fresh bread twice a day! What more could you want? I'll tell you what I needed. Wifi that worked! 6 minutes to download a 4meg file, and that was at 4.00 a.m.! If you want to do anything more than open emails, you need to use it early morning. Tried their Internet cafe, no better. In fact the only thing slower than the internet was the "fast" food takeway team! 50% of customers walked away in disgust, the other 50%, including me, would watch and laugh and use the chefs lack of organisation as entertainment!
Would I go back? If they sort out the wifi, definitely. If not unfortunately no.
Tip - when at the pool, use the supermarket for ice cream and pop not the kiosk. £2 v £10 for the same items!

Room Tip: Any rooms near the supermarket will suffer disco noise until midnight, but are best placed for the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarky52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    395
    105
    44
    43
See reviews for
674
146
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned after two weeks staying on park with Lifestyles holidays. Can confirm that inital checking in at main reception is a nightmare (on viewing this it seemed worse at weekends,so would recommend a week day arrival if that was possible).Stayed with Lifestyles holidays and the two reps Dave and karen were amazing; couldn't do enough to make your stay special; really understood the importance of 'holiday'..thank you!

Whilst the park has excellent facilities and we did enjoy a really relaxing holiday we did miss the ability to walk into a local town or beach and a car is a must. Plus this meant lots of eating in (so not great if you wanted to sample more of the local cuisine - but can confirm that the local supermarket 'hypersimply' is brilliant and fairly priced for amazing produce)!

On site the prices are pretty fair but it can get very overcrowded with Spainish and French visitors especially at the weekends.

All in all a very good family holiday but probably won't retuned to this resort; as although the public transport links are good it is definately worth having a car and we like to do much more on foot.

Room Tip: Have a car. Arrive on a week day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank grogs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Returned on the 31st August after two weeks at Vilanova Park. Visited with two kids, aged 11 and 8. Check in at the main gate was a bit of a pain, had to queue up for over an hour in the sun before getting to the reception desk but once there things went smoothly. We had flown to Barcelona and arranged a lift with the camp site which dropped us off at the entrance. Once checked in we were transported on a golf buggy to the Lifestyle reps, Karen and Dave who welcomed us, gave us lots of advice about the camp site and the local area and showed us to our unit, No 13. The unit was clean, had air con, bedding and even a toilet roll! After unpacking we did a tour around the park. Its big! We were near one of the swimming poolsand the sports area and in a short walk from the other pool which is close to the restaurants and the shop. The shop was well stocked and had everything we needed. We didnt shop off site as there was no need but some reps will drive you to a local superstore and wait whilst you shop. Travel to and from the town of Vilanova is by L1 or L2 bus which stops outside the site entrance every 30 mins on the hour and half past. Its a tortuous route as it goes around the town when direct it would be about 5 - 10 mins. We didnt know at the time but you can buy a ticket from the boutique shop that gives you ten trips for just under 8 euros. For the first week we were paying 1.50 euros each, each way. No reduction for kids! The Town is okay, a bid run down but that reflects the Spanish economy. The Ramblas is ok with lots of cafes and bars. There are restaurants on the beach front opposite the harbour. We ate there a couple of times and the food, especially the paella was good. We also ate in the camp site. We avoided the buffet but ate in the main restaurant. Food was again good, reasonably priced and with wine at about 8 euros a bottle. The tapas was very good but the portions are huge. First night there we ordered 6 tapas dishes and a paella! Far too much for four. The meat skewer is excellent! There have been complaints about the restaurant in other reviews but we found the service good and friendly. There were no delays and the food served was hot.

We didnt hire a car and frankly didnt need one. We visited Barcelona by train on 4 occasions. We stayed quite late to watch the fountains and still had no problems with trains. The local buses back to the camp site stop around 10pm so we just took a taxi back at night. Typical cost was 11 euros. Again in Barcelona, get the T10 tickets for the Metro. We paid 2 euros each per trip initially before we found out. Much cheaper. We also visited Sitges by train, a lovely place. Its only one stop away from Vilanova. We also went to Tarragona by train. Again, a lovely town. Only complaint is about the pools. The outside pools where cold. Once in they were okay but there are cold to begin with. Also the areas around the pool are grassed. Well, sort of - a lot of grass has died and there is now just soil. This gets on your feet and towels and must also end up in the swimminmg pool. I would like to see this area tiled and with more sun beds. We did however spend most of our time on the beach. Again the L1 and L2 service takes you straight there. There are beach bars and toilets which are cleaned frequently. We visited L'U beach bar frequently. The staff were friendly and whilst choice of food limited, it was okay. Beer was okay too. You will pay 5 euros for each sun bed and 5 euros for a parasol. If you plan to go to the beach frequently I would go to the discount shop on the Ramblas and but one for about 7 or 8 euros, use it for the holiday and leave it there. Karen and Dave the Lifestyle reps may even have a spare one in their box of leftovers from other holiday makers. The beach is safe for kids, quite shallow for a long way before deepening. Whilst we were there, the water wasnt very clear and there was quite a lot of surf. The beach was however very clean apart from the huge amount of female sanitary towels in the water by the breakwater! Only visible when snorkling. At the end of the holiday, we checked out at 10 but our flight was at 6pm. The reps let us use their facility to store our cases and arranged for transport back to the airport.

We didnt have any issues of flying insects and infact thought there was hardly any around. We had just one bite between the four of us over the two weeks.

Would we go back? If there were no other sites and countries to go to, definately, but the world is too small to revisit.

Overall, great site for the kids. Accessible without a car and can get everything you need on site or in the local town. Good food in the retaurant and loads of eating options in the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diver_rat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had two brillant weeks at Vilanova Park. There website doesn't do the park half the justice as its 100% better and lots more activities. The children aged 10-8-7 all state it was the best holiday ever. Such entertainment and met lots of friends from all over the country. The place was well maintained and the Reps couldn't do enough.

Room Tip: We had the basic mobile home and had everything in it, no television which I didn't want anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned on Aug 21st 2013, two days later 2 of our kids had nits. Given we were there for 11 nights they must have got it there, and as we did not go with other kids, and ourselves and other child did not catch them. The only conclusion is that they got it from the bedroom they shared. So beware of mobile home EC15, twin bedroom on the right.

There were lots of flies around, and agree with previous review don't go to the buffet restaurant, it is awful. Also, the children's pool, one day I noticed human poo floating around, obv escaped from a nappy, the pool attendant just fished it out, they did not close the pool to clean it properly.

You need a car to get around, we days out at aqualeon, tarragona and Barcelona. The beaches were nice at Vilanova , but I find lots of people smoking near us and kids not nice.

Would not go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from 8 nights and we had a wonderful time. The children (7, 4 & 4 yrs) loved it. It was not quite as manic as I expected considering it was mid August, but that suited us. We didn't hire a car but did use the buses which were fairly easy to navigate.
We booked through Eurocamp who were great and the reps on site were helpful and friendly. The lending of games and beach gear was perfect. Would definitely book with them again although will probably try driving to a site next time. The pools were fine, clean and plenty of lifeguards on site. I suppose the only thing missing was some jets or slides for the children. The caravan was well stocked, clean and did the job even the air conditioning held up. The restaurant on site was good, would definitely recommend the tapas. Overall would recommend as we had a lovely time :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hermieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A great campsite - we travelled through Eurocamp - the reps on-site were helpful and friendly. The on-site shop is very good selling fresh bread every day and not too expensive - also the restaurant was good but wouldn't recommend the buffett restaurant as mosy of the food was cold and lots of flies buzzing around the food! Pool areas lovely although don't think the lifeguards seemed to be paying much attention to the swimmers - every time I looked at them they were all chatting to each other! Take some fly spray as lots of the little buggers flying about - we had one or two mosquito bites but not too bad.

The mobile home was very good - well equipped and nice and clean on arrival. Our kids loved the mini disco at night but it did get a bit repetitive after 10 nights although the reps certainly do their best.

Wouldn't recommend Vilanova itself - we went one night and thought it was a bit of a dump - the harbour area was nice enough but apart from that not much to see.

It would have been helpful to have a golf buggy to help you move your cases up to reception when you leave as in the heat lugging 3 cases is no fun - apparently the Eurocamp reps have been trying to get one for some time but to no avail.

A great holiday and we would definitely go back and would love to try other Eurocamp resorts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodletubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanova i la Geltru
1.7 mi away
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
#1 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gatell Hotel
Gatell Hotel
#6 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Solvi
Hotel Solvi
#4 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cesar
Hotel Cesar
#3 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hostal Termes
Hostal Termes
#24 of 41 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Park

Property: Vilanova Park
Address: Ctra. BV 2115 de l'Arboc km. 2.5, 08800 Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vilanova i la Geltru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vilanova i la Geltru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Vilanova Park 1*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilanova Park is located in Vilanova i La Geltru, 30 miles from Barcelona city center (train every 15 minutes), 3 miles from Sitges. It is instantly recognizable by its brand name and backed up by a reputation for good quality, en-suite accommodation in apartments, chalets, bungalows or caravans in a clean and comfortable environment. The services include restaurant, pizzeria, 2 pools (1000 sq. meter), spa center, golf (pitch & putt 18 hole), tennis, internet access and animation program in all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vilanova Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Park Hotel Vilanova i La Geltru
Vilanova Park Spain
Vilanova Park Vilanova i La Geltru, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing