We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean well furnished but a two ring hob does not make an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Clean well furnished but a two ring hob does not make an apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean well decorated well furnished microwave and full sized fridge let down by a two ring hob and no kettle. It took 10 minutes to barely bring a saucepan of water to the boil for a cup of tea. We did learn to put the cups in the microwave which was quicker.

Fully functional and efficient air conditioning. Room was spotless. It was close to the wide sandy beach of Vilanova virtually deserted and close to acceptable restaurants along the seafront.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    187
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
98
166
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a purely personal view but if you are thinking of coming to these apartments it may be useful to you.

Apartment pros:
Location – just one block to the beach
Clean and Tidy with daily maid service
Comfortable bed

Apartment cons:
Location – other than the hotel bar/restaurant there are no bars within 20 minutes walk, the nearest restaurant is 15 minutes walk (not 5 unless you are an athlete) and the supermarket is also 20 minutes (thank goodness there is a little bakery just behind the hotel for breakfast and to buy water).
Room facilities – two rings and very little to cook with, you can make packet soup or boil an egg (no egg cups) but anything else is out of the question. Nothing to measure with, no kettle, no toaster.
Don't get a room near the lifts if you want to sleep before 2 am and after 6 am
It has Wi-Fi as advertised but it is woeful

Vilanova pros:
Clean and tidy (some dog dirt to look out for)
Felt safe when we went out (early evening)
Mostly on the flat (no cardiac hills)
Good train service from Barcelona and cheap (less than 4 euros single)

Vilanova cons:
Although it caters for the tourists, it’s Spanish tourists primarily. Although English is spoken widely, there’s no English bars, no English sport on in the bars and so on. This may be a plus to some, but there really is nothing other than a number of similar pavement bars. Those on the Rambla being most expensive although none are cheap (Large beer around 3 to 4 Euros)
Restaurants were by and large expensive, especially on the front. There are a few places to get good quality inexpensive food such as SuperPollo on the Rambla and we found a Greek restaurant at the top of the Rambla near the church that was reasonable (30 minute walk back to the hotel from here, we enquired about taxis and the nearest rank is the Station! (about 20 minute walk))

Room Tip: Keep away from the lifts if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolbreeze99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Well, what can I say...we were over the moon with the place. It's about 5 minutes from the tourist information and just off the sea front. It was so clean and the staff very helpful. The apartment was the perfect size for 3 of us and the beds and sofa we all very comfortable.
My only criticism is that the restaurant / bar doesn't open at lunch so the only place to get a drinking is the vending machine but it wouldn't deter me from staying there again.
Yes there is no balcony, but I didn't miss it, we went out and about!
It's 5 minutes from some lovely restaurants on the seafront, ignore any comments that say they aren't any good, Pika Tapa is amazing. All the restaurants in the main strip aren't Spanish, but if you go to Spain for none Spanish food...well that's up to you!
Anyway, perfect for a week or weekend away and at the price per night it's a steal! Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited in September 2013, so it was coming to the end of season for most people. The weather however was still great.... Averaging 26 degrees Celsius and sunny. The apartments were perfect for us, clean and accommodated our child. There's a main pool and a baby pool, however it was not heated. The beach is a minutes walk. The sand is fine and clean and the water is also clean. Perfect for kids! Because it was coming to the end of season, the restaurants* along the beach front seemed a bit quiet, however the main street (Rambla de la Pau) was still bustling with activity.

*We went to about 3 of the café style restaurants along the beach front, none of which was any good. However there are some others in the town and also some near the hotel we didn't try that looked ok. The one restaurant we did try and loved was the Sushi Lounge(located at the top of Rambla de la Pau in the town). It was the best sushi I've ever had and we would highly recommend it!

The town does seem to be affected by the credit crunch and so isn't somewhere where we would stay for, say, 1 week holiday. Rather, we rented a car so used Vilanova as a base to travel to nearby towns/cities etc.(There is a train station in the town) This is the main reason we chose Vilanova I la Geltru - It's very convenient to lots of places and felt more like a Spanish town rather than a Brit resort.

The places we visited and would recommend listed below:
By car:
Barcelona = 40mins
Tarragona = 25/30mins
Reus = 25/30mins
Gerona = 1hr45mins
Montserrat = 1hr10mins

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blunham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very comfortable apartment within easy and economical reach of spacious beaches both in Vilanova and in nearby towns. Ideal for visiting Barcelona city, frequent rail service 7.60 euros return fare. Relax after a day in the city in the lovely gardens and pool. Comfortable double bed with quality linens and room cooled by effective air con. that we could hardly hear. Good restaurants and bars a stroll away, or quality on-site restaurant serves 3 courses (on the evening we dined the menu choices although limited were delicious and included steak and an almond cake to die for) with a generous wine included for 15 euros! Kitchen a bit basic, just 2 hob rings and a microwave, but spacious fridge to store lots of goodies, ie cheese and wines after all who wants to slave over a stove on holiday! Good bathroom and plenty of towels refreshed daily. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 302 was perfect for us, included enough of a sea view to see the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxvint62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Atenea for 7 nights. The location is great - 5 mins from the beach and an easy stroll into the town for shopping or eating/drinking out. The apartment was very spacious, well equipped - we cooked a few meals - and cleaned every day. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet, and the free wifi in the room was excellent. The only drawback, which we knew before booking, is that there is no balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Atenea for 4 nights. We choose this accommodation because of its situation near the beach, and its reviews. We were not disappointed. The room was very spacious (the bedroom can be seperated from the livingroom/kitchen. The beds were good. It was cleaned every day. It was only a short stroll from the wide, clean beach (very suitable for children). It has two pools which are well-kept with free sunbeds. The breakfast was very good, the only problem is the breakfast room. It is too small for the accommodation. It is also possible to have dinner there (15 euro), but we preferred to go to the old town (15 minute walk) where there are lots of nice restaurants. The only thing I missed was a balcony. I knew this when I booked, but next time it would be a reason to book something else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanova i la Geltru
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cesar
Hotel Cesar
#3 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solvi
Hotel Solvi
#4 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gatell Hotel
Gatell Hotel
#6 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ceferino
Hotel Ceferino
#2 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atenea Park Suites Apartaments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atenea Park Suites Apartaments

Property: Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
Address: Juan Sebastian Elcano no 4, 08800 Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vilanova i la Geltru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vilanova i la Geltru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atenea Park Suites Apartaments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Atenea Park is situated in the beautiful coastal village of Vilanova i la Geltru, a Spanish nautical resort. Barcelona city center is only 45 minutes away. Vilanova i la Geltru has excellent access to the motorway and the railroad that will take you to Barcelona in 45 minutes and to the airport in 30 minutes. The village is the ideal place to enjoy relaxation and the Mediterranean way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atenea Park Suites Apartaments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments Hotel Vilanova i La Geltru
Atenea Park Hotel Apartaments
Atenea Park Suites Apartments
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments Vilanova i La Geltru, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing