We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountains..llamas..horses..great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Certificate of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mountains..llamas..horses..great staff!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We only stayed two nights, but it was very relaxing..and very busy..at the same time! Our room was not the best in the house, but just adequate(the floor boards did squeak quite a bit).The view of the garden was lovely and the room was very quiet! Enjoyed the free drink bar..coffee,tea, water just a few steps away..dinner was fine..good service and professionally done! Great cook and waiter,Gonzalo Silva. He really was the star of the show..the go-to man for everything His English is very good, having been an English teacher in a former life..now, he spends 24 hours (literally!) helping guests,with check-in, tours to Cotopaxi..he was our private guide for the WHOLE day..arranging the "llama experience" (see photos),taking my wife to the doctor, serving dinner, taking us to the airport..just a TERRIFIC guy..I would go back to PapaGayo just to see him again! The rest of the staff were all very friendly, but only the girl from Germany really spoke English, but they all go out of their way to help you experience the whole thing! Highly RECOMMENDED! This is the REAL Ecuador! GO and ENJOY!. Say HI to Gonzalo for me!

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms before deciding..if they have vacancies, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    50
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
68
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Papagayo - just one word: wonderful!
I loved it there and I would always go back, that s the truth! Although sometimes it seems to be a little mini-chaos, the people are so nice and friendly and the place is just beautiful. Although I thought in the beginning I was gonna be bored, because I usually like the city with all its noise, it was just relaxing being there, being with the nature, having good food or reading a book on the patio, the sun shining on your face...
I just went there to relax some days but if you do a climbing tour it will also be perfect to stay there the night before and after your climb because it is situated so close to all the volcanoes.
All in all, thank you very much for the pleasant stay there! You are good people!

Room Tip: The suite Corona on top of that house has a beautiful view and in the morning you can see colorful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliWellTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Love it!
Is highly recommended for its location close to some of the most beautiful volcanoes in Ecuador!
Also people there were kind with me, there are nice animals in the farm and food at the restaurant was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in PapaGayo one night in combination with a trip to Cotopaxi and Quilotoa and I loved every minute of it. Everything was perfect, the staff really make you feel at home and comfortable. We got to borrow some mountainbikes to see more of the surrounding areas and the place itself is great for taking a relaxing stroll. It was nice to see animals around the hosteleria and the staff was very informative about activities and services offered. Not to mention the food! All meals were excellent; pancakes for breakfast, potato soup and some really delicious burgers for dinner, typical Ecuadorian lunches and I cannot forget the exquisite chocolate cake they served after one of our hikes :) I would definately go back to this place as soon as I have a chance; it's definately one of my favourite experiences.

Room Tip: I had one of the smaller rooms and was told it was one of the less nice ones, but I found it great w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LailaOsterkloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms are really nice. We stayed here 4 days. And every day after the hike the staff is welcoming us with coffee and cake. We highly recommend the hotel as a basecamp for some hikes in the area. Roger and franziska

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed there last weekend and it was a blast!
On arrival we were offered some coffee and had a nice talk with the staff. The food was great (try some potato soup and the hamburgers! delicious and fresh made), the staff is really friendly and is always in for some talking.
There's living room with a small fireplace and some games, so a great place for enjoying the evening.
We stayed at the Carolina room, a small but a super beautiful room, with hot shower, and two comfy beds. Next to it is the spa for some massages or jacuzzi.
The next day we went on a tour with Gulliver Expeditions to Quilotoa which was amazing. A great guide, a very interesting visit to an indigenous family, tasty almuerzo, and afterwards some hot chocolate and a great chocolate cake at PapaGayo made it a perfect day.

PapaGayo is also a good place for acclimatization, if you plan climbing the surrounding volcanoes. I highly recommend it for spending the night there between tours or just to enjoy some great time!

Room Tip: I only know the "Carolina" which is a super cozy and beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becruised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hosteria Papagoyo in Machachi south of Quito have made a nice effort to preserve cultural aspects of historical haciendas to the benefit of its country and generously share it with us who visit.
Horseback riding tours offered on well cared horses. I will advice that you request a detailed description of the routes they offer, before buying a tour. Not only rely on pictures shown in agency Gulliver of customers riding on the planes of the Andes. Tours normally offered, starts from the hacienda in the valley. Experienced riders seeking adventure might be able to get more out of enroute,but that depends on your negotiation skills

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karihelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machachi
9.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
101 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
243 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
333 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Machachi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria-PapaGayo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria-PapaGayo South

Property: Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Address: Panamericana sur km 26 | Cotopaxi Area, Machachi 34999, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Machachi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Machachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria-PapaGayo South 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This colonial hosteria accommodation near the volcano Cotopaxi does not only offer magnificent views of the untouched countryside, but also gives you the possibility to experience the culture of the Andes local communities. Whether you just want to relax or to explore the landscape actively, our Hosteria is the best place to start. At the altitude of 3200m you can comfortably acclimatize and prepare yourself for the climbing of Cotopaxi, Ilinizas o Chimborazo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hosteria-PapaGayo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostería Papagayo Cotopaxi
Hosteria-PapaGayo South Ecuador/Machachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing