We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria-PapaGayo South
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although the staff at PapaGayo did their best to ensure a comfortable stay ... the owners, Gulliver's Travels/Tours need a review of their customer service. There was no free drinking water - a small bottle cost you $1.70, which is the most I've paid in my two months travelling Ecuador. You are charged a $1.00 for each extra coffee at breakfast. I would not mind, except the coffee was weak.
Also the rooms were rather expensive for the value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a great hostel, nice warm fire, fantastic food, good wi-fi, and good hot water. I would definitely stay again, but in a private room instead of the dorm. The dorm was a lot cheaper than a private room but there were two drawbacks to the 4 person dorm we stayed in:
1. The room was very small with hardly any room to move around once there were 4 bags on the floor. The ceiling was low so sitting up on the top bunk wasnt possible.
2. The bathroom was unisex, and contained the showers and the toilets, so when you are showering there is only the shower screen between you and anyone else in the bathroom.

We also saw (but did not use) the jaccuzi which didnt look very clean.

Room Tip: for couples: choose a private rather than the (small) dorm with external facilities. otherwise ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Quiet place with very nice surroundings. I stayed in the "Sucre" room wich was very nice and comfy with a fireplace. It's a bit cold at night, but with a sweater, it's just fine! The service is very good and the chocolate cake is excellent!! The meals are good and affordable and there's many options on the menu. The living area and the dining room are good places to meet other travelers. Free Wifi available in the common areas and the rooms. The staff is really friendly, so are the dogs! I did a few tours with Gulliver wich were nice. Very good place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maril0u_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous! My partner and I stayed in 'Victoria' room an it was beautiful. Comfy double bed with duvet and llama blankets, potbelly fireplace in the corner and lovely fresh roses on the dresser. The main lodge had an inviting livin area, free wifi, chocolate cake and tea after our excursion and a super cute sausage dog called Boris. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The meals were delicious.

We loved the little farm, too.

I wish we didn't have to leave. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A friend and me stayed 5 days in Papagayo, as it was included in our tours with Gulliver Expeditions. After 2 months travelling in South America this was planned to be a time to experience the volcanoes and nature around Quito and we weren't disappointed in the least.
In Papagayo we had a awesome, calm hostel, with helpful staff and a great atmosphere.
We booked a double room and enjoyed free shampoo, soap and complimentary towels, together with the clean, comfy rooms.
Although there might not be any cooking facilities, the meals are affordable and nicely prepared, as well as sumptuos. From 3$ upwards, you'll find everything you like, including various vegeterian options and good seafood. For breakfast there are also several possibilities: pancakes, granola, english breakfast - basically all you can ask for in this price range. To drink there is a vast variety of fresh fruit juices and even good cocktails, served by the very attentive staff.
After our hiking trips we were glad to tell the staff to heat up the jacuzzi and then just hop in to relax an hour later. There is free Wifi reception in the whole house and you can also use their PC.
As the place is basically a ranch smack in the middle of the "Valley of the Volcanoes" around Quito, you can reach all the destinations like Cotopaxi, Quilotoa etc in less than an hour and afterwards experience the amazing nature around Papagayo. There are lots of animals all over the place (though not in the house ;) and you can chill out in the afternoons playing with the dogs or just having a nice cup of tea on the porch, while enjoying nature and talking to the other guests.
It does get a little bit quiet at times, but we were lucky to be around for the "Paseo de Chargas" in Machachi (a village just 10mins away), a spectacular carnival, involving lots of partying and displays of local customs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked a week with Gulliver-Expeditions.

Staying at the PapaGayo-Hosteria we did daytrips to different places. We went to the volcanoes Quilotoa, Cotopaxi, Corazon and Ruminaui. We went by bike, horses or just walking.
After travelling for some time through Southamerica we had ridden many horses and mounted many bikes-> With Gulliver we definitely had the best equipment/animals (clean, well maintained, healthy, generally good condition).

The Hosteria PapaGayo itself is a delight!! It is just outside Quito and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff is really nice and help you out. It´s a good option for leaving the stuffy city just to relax in the whirlpool and let the nature embrace you, good value!

Many animals live on the grounds of the hacienda and most of them are quite cute to look at. The rooms are big, clean, provide towels/shampoo/soap and are cleaned daily.
In the main house awaits you a nice warm oven with comfy seats around it, so you can relax while reading a book. Also you can find Internet and a big TV to watch DVDs...The Terasse is also very relaxing.
The best of all: no noise from any street or city, even though its so near to Quito!!

If your into nature-walks and want to experience some volcanoes near Quito, Gulliver is your choice and PapaGayo your Hosteria to be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are in Ecuadorc celebrating 50th Wedding Anniversary.Got room key, opened the door and... the staff had arranged roses in the shape of a heart. A fire was roaring in the fireplace and a stack of wood. We were blown away by the attention. Had a nice dinner and asked for the bill (la Quinta). The manager asked if we could wait for a few minutes. The staff brought out a dessert with 50th written on. It was some wonderful Chocolate Cake. The staff was wonderful, Chefs: Johana Iza and Mabel Chiluiza; Manager Ricardo Calispa.

I recomend PapaGayo. without any hesitation at all. ..

Room Tip: Sucre with its firplace and windows opening opening into courtyard is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubyredvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machachi
24.4 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 113 in Quito
1,238 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#6 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
111 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Los Mortinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hacienda El Sinche
Hacienda El Sinche
#7 of 12 in Machachi
1 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
Casa Sakiwa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Machachi
17 reviews
0 mi away
Casa del Montanero - Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria-PapaGayo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria-PapaGayo South

Address: Panamericana sur km 26 | Cotopaxi Area, Machachi 34999, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Machachi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Machachi
Price Range: $70 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria-PapaGayo South 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This colonial hosteria accommodation near the volcano Cotopaxi does not only offer magnificent views of the untouched countryside, but also gives you the possibility to experience the culture of the Andes local communities. Whether you just want to relax or to explore the landscape actively, our Hosteria is the best place to start. At the altitude of 3200m you can comfortably acclimatize and prepare yourself for the climbing of Cotopaxi, Ilinizas o Chimborazo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hosteria-PapaGayo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostería Papagayo Cotopaxi
Hosteria-PapaGayo South Ecuador/Machachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing